Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Co-habitants:are you happy to automatically cede property rights to the other half?

Quote Originally Posted by Question R24U View Post
    At a guess, I would be certain that this Act is not going affect you in any way.
    "Guess" and "I would be certain". Hmmmmm, so you're guessing and certain in the same sentence. Not confused at all are you? And my marital status is none of your business.

Quote Originally Posted by jimmyjames View Post
    "Guess" and "I would be certain". Hmmmmm, so you're guessing and certain in the same sentence. Not confused at all are you? And my marital status is none of your business.
    Nor anyone else's - bar the census collector.
    If the banks are out for a bail,
    and Lenny's efforts end up as a fail,
    when the Somer does come,
    to the Country they'll run,
    And leave a Fine mess for the Gael.

Endinf the one Party (FF) state:

Nor anyone else's - bar the census collector.
    Thank you.

Quote Originally Posted by cHeal View Post
    @OP

OMG that is the most stupid fecking thing I've ever heard. This government is dense.
    So why has this fallen so low below the political radar? - anyone (male) I mentioned it to has been horrified by it.

Quote Originally Posted by constitutionus View Post
    well looks like if this gets through im going to have to start getting the moth to sign a "visitors book" when she stays over from now on !

one of the reasons i DONT want to get married is quite frankly ive too much to lose and plenty of evidence of how blokes get shafted in the courts.

of all the guys i know whove got married literally 80% of them are now seperated/divorced and has lost their gaffs.

What a shame! Well, I've got a good news story for all the fearful and disconsolate men here - my ex-husband got to keep the gaff
    after our separation. Having lost my job, there was no way I could keep up mortgage repayments. (Well, you do hear that the State steps in to help in such cases but that wouldn't appeal to me.)

So why has this fallen so low below the political radar? - anyone (male) I mentioned it to has been horrified by it.
    I mentioned it to 3 more lads night - only the single one was not bothered by it, one was re-thinking whether to move his girlfriend in with him and another is thinking moving his girlfriend out (its ok, now he knows this is in still draft form and might be in breach of the constitutional property rights).

Quote Originally Posted by Wendy View Post
    What a shame! Well, I've got a good news story for all the fearful and disconsolate men here - my ex-husband got to keep the gaff
    after our separation. Having lost my job, there was no way I could keep up mortgage repayments. (Well, you do hear that the State steps in to help in such cases but that wouldn't appeal to me.)
    Great-the negative equity is his.

Because there aren't big men's groups like the National Women's Council. And then often men keep their observations on gender/sex politics/injustices to themselves.

bump
    It is amazing that this has not become a political issue. The State imposing obligations on those who have deliberately augme them which relates to their privacy.
    This is legislation by committees- law reform commission and colley. It is madness that will end relationships.

If a couple had lived together for 10 years for instance I can see some equity sharing or if at any time they had openly declared themselves married (common Law) likewise division of equity is fair.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast