Thread: Garda pleads guilty to disclosing confidential information.

Garda pleads guilty to disclosing confidential information.

For those to take an interest in matters justice and media, the following might be an indication as to how Gardai operate occasionally.

A Garda sergeant pleaded guilty today to leaking information contained in a draft report into the Dean Lyons case.

Garda admits to disclosing confidential information | BreakingNews.ie

I am open to correction but my understanding is that the Garda in question actually assisted in the exoneration of Mr. Lyons

so, it would appear that only the good ones are prosecuted?

Quote Originally Posted by cavok View Post
    I am open to correction but my understanding is that the Garda in question actually assisted in the exoneration of Mr. Lyons

Or, perhaps, he wished to exonerate himself. See below.

Garda pleads guilty in Lyons case - The Irish Times - Mon, Apr 27, 2009

Quote Originally Posted by cavok View Post
    The words 'Beef' and 'Tribunal' come to mind.

Quote Originally Posted by Mitsui View Post
    The words 'Beef' and 'Tribunal' come to mind.
    He was involved in the interview of Dean Lyons. He repeatedly said that Dean Lyons was not telling the truth. He was not listened to.

Dean Lyons was wrongly convicted and served time in jail while the murderer walked free.

An Inquiry was held after the real murderer gave himself up. Very similar to the gentleman in Galway falsely convicted of sexual assault.

The Sergeant was afraid that the report would be supressed as was the Bermingham report into the Rossitter affair so he divulged the true facts.

Fair play to him, he sacrificed his career to see that the true facts would come out.

Politics.ie Regular BodyofEvidence's Avatar

TRuly contemptible that the DPP took this case

Quote Originally Posted by perprojustice View Post
    He was involved in the interview of Dean Lyons. He repeatedly said that Dean Lyons was not telling the truth. He was not listened to.

Dean Lyons was wrongly convicted and served time in jail while the murderer walked free.

An Inquiry was held after the real murderer gave himself up. Very similar to the gentleman in Galway falsely convicted of sexual assault.

The Sergeant was afraid that the report would be supressed as was the Bermingham report into the Rossitter affair so he divulged the true facts.

Fair play to him, he sacrificed his career to see that the true facts would come out.
    I am not familiar with the case but if what you say is true, I am very proud of this Garda.

Quote Originally Posted by perprojustice View Post

THANK YOU and based upon that I believe Corelli owes The Guard and me an apology.

He will no doubt get hammered in his sentencing and no doubt will be dismissed. This country is rotten

Quote Originally Posted by Gruffalo View Post
    I am not familiar with the case but if what you say is true, I am very proud of this Garda.
    It is true indeed as reported. I am quite sure that without the Sergeants disclosure we would have been treated to an edited version.

See the thread on galway man exonerated on sexual assault charge.
    The lady in question retracted her statement but the accused only found out about this by chance.

All of these actions by the Gardai and the DPP and indeed the judicial system are rotten to the core.

Dean Lyons
    In the Commission's view, the Garda written records of some of the interviews with Dean Lyons were incomplete, potentially misleading and could have led to a miscarriage of justice.
    Finally, the decision of the original investigation team, three months after their original recommendation, to recommend to the DPP that the existing charge of murder against Dean Lyons should proceed and that an additional charge should be laid in respect of the second fatality is described by the Commission as "difficult to understand and even harder to justify".
    McDowell said in an apparent justification of the Sergeants attempts to have a rethought on the decision to charge Dean

The Group will be reporting to me, I expect before the end of the year, on the adequacy of Garda training, protocols, regulations and procedures, in assessing the fitness of persons to be interviewed and on the recording of any bona fide reservations of an individual member of a Garda investigation team as to the truthfulness or accuracy of self - incriminating statements. I have already stated publicly that I will publish their report."
    Irish Law Updates: Dean Lyons report