Like Tree1Likes

Thread: The murder of Joseph Rafferty

The murder of Joseph Rafferty

Joseph Rafferty was murdered by a guy who was disrespecting Josephs sister. This had nothing to do with any political affiliations of the perpetrator - it was about a decent guy (Joseph Rafferty) defending his sisters honour. I completely sympathise with the Rafferty family but I fail to see how they hope to attain justice by relating this killing to the alleged and accepted fact (out the window goes the innocent until proven guilty myth) that the perpetrator was/is Sinn Fein member.

If every person who committed a non-political murder in this country had to have their political affiliations' party leader held to task, there would be no government.

When Catherine Nevin organised the murder of her husband, why wasn't the leader of her preferred party called to task? McCann, who murdered his wife and child by setting fire to their home...why was his political party leader not asked to come forward? And countless others. And what use would such an admission have when the courts still require evidence other than membership of a political party? I ask this sincerely.

I think the Rafferty family are being misguided by a few politicians to make this a political issue when it is clearly not. Actions like these diminish more politically genuine cases like the McCartney family in Belfast.

I hope the Raffertys get justice but not by being used by the media and by political parties opposed to Sinn Fein.
    A P.ie moderator stated this on June 25th 2010: P.ie tolerates very broad free speech, and thus allows sectarian bigotry etc

I have nothing against Joseph, I wish he wasn't killed and may god punish those who killed him, but I wish his family wouldn't try and use our National Day of St Patricks in Washington to politicise the whole occassion and make it into a feeling sorry for victims of the IRA day.

I believe the family are not trying to politicise the issue. I believe their advisors are. Josephs death has nothing to do with politics. It was a classic Dublin row that went too far when some gob************************e shot the person he openly threatened to shoot. It has nothing to do with any political party.

It is still a police investigation and without forensic evidence there is nothing anyone can do.
    A P.ie moderator stated this on June 25th 2010: P.ie tolerates very broad free speech, and thus allows sectarian bigotry etc

Re: The murder of Joseph Rafferty.

There is also, of course, the fact that the alleged killer is NOT a Sinn Féin member. At all.

Quote Originally Posted by Wednesday
    There is also, of course, the fact that the alleged killer is NOT a Sinn Féin member. At all.
    The facts will come out if this person is taken to court ... And the person who shot Joe didn't threaten to do it in public ... his Girlfriends kids told Joe that they where going to get the "Ra" after him.

Which they did ... except it wasn't a sanctioned hit. And the person who shot Joe was a campaign work for SF. And is still a member of the IRA.
    The word 'politics' is derived from the word 'poly', meaning 'many', and the word 'ticks', meaning 'blood sucking parasites

Quote Originally Posted by Jim84
    And the person who shot Joe was a campaign work for SF. And is still a member of the IRA.
    Cain1798 would have a better idea than I would if he was ever a "campaign worker" for SF, although if he was, it was a long time ago and most likely amounted to no more than giving out a few leaflets. I've no reason to believe he is currently a member of the IRA and a lot of reasons to believe he isn't.

Which they did ... except it wasn't a sanctioned hit. And the person who shot Joe was a campaign work for SF. And is still a member of the IRA.
    Any idea why they would keep him in the IRA when the reaction to the case this is getting compared was expulsion and an offer to shoot the individual?

The facts will come out if this person is taken to court ... And the person who shot Joe didn't threaten to do it in public ... his Girlfriends kids told Joe that they where going to get the "Ra" after him.
    Ahhh that one again...

For the 50th time I'll post this. Just because someone says they'll get the IRA doesn't mean they are telling the truth. Now, lets say you were out at a club some night and annoyed some drunken eejit and he said "I'll get the IRA to you" and when you left the club you got beaten up. Does that mean that it was the IRA who beat you up?

Criminals, hoods and lowlife scum have a habit of using the armies name to suit their own ends. They believe it gives them a cloak to get up to their activities. When caught doing this, the consequences are normally quite sevre.
    RepublicOfLuas likes this.

I fail to see how the Gallagher or McCartney families gain anything but publicity by heading to the White House and meeting the biggest mass murderer around. They all lost a family member but I wonder will they spare a thought for all those innocents murdered by Bush and his boys since the invasion of Iraq, not to mention elsewhere.

I suppose they'll be too busy supping tea and being interviewed by the Sindo.

Politics.ie Regular rockofcashel's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Wednesday

I'm more interested in the argument Jim, that even of the person who killed Joe Rafferty was a member of SF (and I don't believe he is, or ever was), that why do you think the investigation into his murder has anything to do with SF.

I too am a member of Sinn Fein, and if I were to commit a crime, do you think Gerry Adams should be expected to make a statement about it.

Its true that in this particular case, the family made representations to Daithi Doolan, and he told them to bring their concerns to the Gardai.

What do you or anyone else think Daithi should have done?
    1,197 people agree with me.. how many agree with you ?