Page 3 of 12 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Gardai to march on wednesday

To my knowledge, it is illegal for the Gardai to strike, but not to protest on their day off.
    "Who will bailout the IMF after FF is finished with them?"

Quote Originally Posted by patslatt View Post
    It would not be a great stretch from demonstrating against the government on pay to refusing to obey government orders to suppress a strike declared illegal and arrest union leaders.
    It would be a very great stretch anywhere outside your fevered imagination, Pat.
    Nothing will motivate the lazy / apathetic / Americanised / west-British types to embrace their culture and the Irish language.

Quote Originally Posted by Conor View Post
    It would be a very great stretch anywhere outside your fevered imagination, Pat.
    Under normal peace time conditions,it is hard to imagine such things.But Ireland may be entering an economic depression with nasty,unexpected consequences,for example,a huge rise in crime among the army of unemployed people, and major riots if the government is forced to cut unemployment benefits because of the huge numbers of unemployed.

Tomorrow at 1.30pm will tell all. It is believed that the Gardai will be joined by friends and family during the march.

Significant that the march will commence at Parnell Sqauare, called after a man who through the Land League showed that Irishmen were capable of ruling themselves, but who fell from grace in the eyes of the electorate by refusing to accept the advice of his friends and party colleagues

In june 1879 Parnell at a meeting in Westport stated the following

‘[COLOR="Blue"]You must show the landlords that you intend to keep a firm grip on your homesteads and lands. You must not allow yourselves to be dispossessed as you were dispossessed in 1847’. [/COLOR]

How history repeats itself.

I am sure that some will be informed of Macushla in 1961. On that occasion Gardai with three years or less service were not granted a pay rise given to the senior Gardai and they rebelled.

The then Commissioner-Costigan I think- bullied the young Gardai and the Minister for Justice one Charles J. Haughey gave assurances that they would not be disciplined and then turned around and sanctioned the sacking of 11 Gardai. Some things never change.

Two good things came out of that. Jack Marrinan, the best public representative the Gardai ever had and the Conroy Commission six or seven years later that led to a massive improvement in the working conditions and pay of the Gardai

Perhaps the Gardai are ready for change within their 'Union'. When they marched in the "Blue Flu" there was 9% on the table and when all the weary Gardai returned to their stations they got 9%. Unlike Macushla, nothing gained and some loss.

P.J. Stone cannot afford to get egg on his face again. The blue flu was a non event.
    The fight against the reserves with talk of waiting in the long grass did not do him, the GRA or the Gardai any good. The attitude and the statements to the morris tribunal of the GRA representative on the ground there came in for severe criticism and did not do the Gardai nor the GRA any good.

He cannot afford to back down this time especially as many Garda members whom I have spoken to feel that the GRA and P.J. Stone would be better employed giving more protection to their members from the Garda golden circle than looking for high profile recognition.
    Last edited by candi; 24th February 2009 at 11:24 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by candi View Post
    http://www.politics.ie/justice/47923...wednesday.html

would you not consider that this thread is a duplicate thread
    I thought mine was first

If you read the morris tribunal report in dept as I have and spoken with those affected by what happened and spoken with some of the Gardai embroiled in the affair you would see that Justice Frederick Morris placed the blame in Donegal on the higher ranking gardai, in particular on Superintendents John P. O'Connor and Fitzpatrick whom he singled out in particular, in effect stating that they were collectively responsible for the falling standards in Donegal and much of what happened there.

Apart from that are you stating that the members of Garda rank, who do their job properly in an increasing hostile environment should now be indebted to a government who have steered our country into a quagmire and who are not apparently coming clean about what happened, and refrain from protesting?

That show of indebtness can be left up to the Superintendents and Chiefs and Commissioners who after all are political appointees and who should have been brought to task for Donegal, Dean Lyons, Kerry Babies, John O,Donoghues speeding, Brendan O'Donnell and many more.

The Gardai of Garda rank have every right to protest and with the Army perhaps they will stir the civilians into realising what is really happening.
    You seem to be subconsciously hoping for a coup d'etat!

I have posted elsewhere about Gardai and the grevious wrongs they have done, however the majority of the ordinary Gardai on the street are dedicated and put their lives on the line for you and I.

Donegal and the Morris tribunal castigated the Garda Officers of Superintendent and higher rank.
    I see that every weekend- risking their lives to arrest young eejits who fall asleep in doorways etc. no sign of them if someone is getting a kicking they arrive just in time to scoop up whats left and fire them into a cell.
    That said there are some brave individuals in the gardai - usually lower ranks- who do take risks and try to genuinely help. but a lot of the force especially in the country areas rarely have to tackle really dangerous criminals. I have seen reports in my local rag of people being brought to court for 'roaring and shouting' and 'doing push-ups in the street' and similar ridiculous cases. if the guards have time to bring these cases they should not be complaining about lack of resources.

we need a fiction section for patslatt, political walter mitty, but someone who doesn't even believe what he's writing
    Last edited by lostexpectation; 25th February 2009 at 05:36 AM.
    What does the Irish President spend their time doing. Work in progress

Quote Originally Posted by patslatt View Post
    You seem to be subconsciously hoping for a coup d'etat!
    not a Coup D'etat.
    Far too messy and too time consuming.

I do believe that there is no point in demonstrating if the objective is not clearly defined and there is a resolve to achieve the objective(s).

It is a remarkable event when both the Gardai and the Army feel they are duty bound to exercise their constitutional right to a peaceful demonstration, not just for their individual financial stability but also to give a very loud warning to the government that they have reached the end of their tether .

I believe and hope that their actions will give encouragement to those who are afraid to march and will hopefully get our present government to sit up and take note that they cannot continue to ignore the citizens of this state and cannot continue to treat them as fools

Great to see Cops and Communists, Anarchists and Army in a Protest on the same sides.
    [COLOR="Red"] The sole meaning of life is to serve humanity. -Leo Tolstoy [/COLOR]
    [/COLOR]

Page 3 of 12 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast