Page 3 of 14 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast
Like Tree67Likes

Thread: Lazy civil servants won't use modern technology in Immigration Bureau

Quote Originally Posted by Eric Cartman View Post
    Taking finger prints is part of their job description now.
    Says who?
    Nothing will motivate the lazy / apathetic / Americanised / west-British types to embrace their culture and the Irish language.

Politics.ie Regular Spanner Island's Avatar

Heard this being talked about on Newstalk... union rep interviewed etc.

She wasn't very convincing and seemed to be more p!ssed off that it had been made public than anything else...

Unions hate when the sh!te they indulge in goes public because while it's probably all too easily justified in the bubble in which they exist, out here in the real world it's all too easily exposed as ludicrous self serving sh!te...
    newport2 and Brussels Sprout like this.
    The €uro is dying. Fiat money is worthless. Long live the Gold Standard!

Here's a guess.: Gardai, Nurses, Prison officers etc. are trained to deal with people physically. As the use of the finger-print technology would require a request from the clerical officer to the subject to perform a physical act ('put your hand on that scanner there, would ye?') they would be in breach of agreed work practices.

Politics.ie Regular Eric Cartman's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by antiestablishmentarian View Post
    And? It's run by the Gardaí, let them do the job of fingerprinting.

Immigration - An Garda Síochána - Ireland's National Police Service
    Eh...let the Guards do the job of fighting crime?

Quote Originally Posted by antiestablishmentarian View Post
    Have you a contract to hand that shows that taking fingerprints is now part of the duty of clerical officers working in the Immigration Bureau? Please post a copy of it to show us if you have one.
    Fúck your contract.

This is the sort of attitude that will inevitably convince the public to privatize their jobs..
    SPN, Blucher and Irish&Annoyed like this.

Quote Originally Posted by Spanner Island View Post
    Heard this being talked about on Newstalk... union rep interviewed etc.

She wasn't very convincing and seemed to be more p!ssed off that it had been made public than anything else...

Unions hate when the sh!te they indulge in goes public because while it's probably all too easily justified in the bubble in which they exist, out here in the real world it's all too easily exposed as ludicrous self serving sh!te...
    And yet the real world of the Indo has yet to expose what precisely the objection to the new technology is. I might end up thinking the Clerical officers objection is spurious but I'm suspicious of any story (particularily) that organ which makes no attempt to explain what it is. And I don't think it has anything to do with just some new technology which at any rate are changed over in the civil service all the time. There's clearly something else here
    firefly123 likes this.
    Everything that ever happened never happended until it did

Quote Originally Posted by Hugo7 View Post
    Here's a guess.: Gardai, Nurses, Prison officers etc. are trained to deal with people physically. As the use of the finger-print technology would require a request from the clerical officer to the subject to perform a physical act ('put your hand on that scanner there, would ye?') they would be in breach of agreed work practices.
    Or how about this: My employer implemented a new computer system 3 months ago. I attended at a training course prior to my working day on three occasions with no extra payment in order to prepare myself to be able to work on this system. I did not receive (nor did I ask for, nor do I expect) any extra payment for using the new computer system nor do I expect a right of refusal to avoid using the system. I owe my employer an implicit duty of fidelity which requires me to fulfil all reasonable tasks incurred by my employer in the course of the business which however vaguely relate to my role. This may include a new computer system, this may include new work practices, this may include additional obligations and this may include a change to my rostering so long as it is properly flagged in advance. I live in the real world.
    Last edited by johnfás; 3rd February 2012 at 03:31 PM.
    SPN, Eric Cartman and Greg Mooney like this.

Politics.ie Regular antiestablishmentarian's Avatar
    Popular People's Front of Judea (bolshevik-leninist)

[QUOTE=Eric Cartman;4899036]
    Eh...let the Guards do the job of fighting crime?
    Which is presumably what they're paid for, yes?

Fúck your contract.
    So in other words, your thread is based on a false premise (ie that clerical officers have a duty to fingerprint individuals who are being processed by the Immigration Bureau).
    Kev408 likes this.

'Our goal is to conquer state power for the Irish working class' Pat Rabitte, 1987

Politics.ie Regular sauntersplash's Avatar

As per usual I smell a rat.

Is it possible that it is not the task of switching on the machine they are refusing to accept, but rather the responsibility of physically obtaining information that rather a lot of immigrants might be reluctant to provide?

Lets have a think about this rationally shall we. I know it's hard when you see the words Civil, Service and Immigrant in the same sentence but nonetheless...
    "Well, while I'm here, I'll do the work - and what's the work? To ease the pain of living. Everything else, drunken dumbshow." - Allen Ginsberg Memory Gardens

Politics.ie Regular Eric Cartman's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by johnfás View Post
    Or how about this: My employer implemented a new computer system 3 months ago. I attended at a training course prior to my working day on three occasions with no extra payment in order to prepare myself to be able to work on this system. I received (nor did I ask for, nor do I expect) any extra payment for using the new computer system nor do I expect a right of refusal to avoid using the system. I owe my employer an implicit duty of fidelity which requires me to fulfil all reasonable tasks incurred by my employer in the course of the business which however vaguely relate to my role. This may include a new computer system, this may include new work practices, this may include additional obligations and this may include a change to my rostering so long as it is properly flagged in advance. I live in the real world.
    This is what this is about: extra payments. No more extra pay.

Quote Originally Posted by Eric Cartman View Post
    Use fingerprint machine or lose wages, staff told - National News - Independent.ie

This is a challenge to the odious Croke Park Agreement. Interesting to see what develops.

This isn't a challenge to the Croke Park Agreement, its the implementation of the Croke Park Agreement.

Get your facts straight
    Last edited by Kevin Doyle; 3rd February 2012 at 03:35 PM.
    Voters don't decide issues, they decide who will decide issues.

George Will

Page 3 of 14 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast