Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree26Likes

Thread: Traffic laws do not apply to the Gardai?

Politics.ie Regular Nebuchadnezzar's Avatar

Traffic laws do not apply to the Gardai?

I am suprised that this hasnt caught anybody elses eye - fair play to Anne Marie Hourihane.

No matter how considerable the Garda’s virtues, police abuse of the parking system makes this country look – and worse still, feel – like a banana republic.
    Gardaí not leading by example on parking - The Irish Times - Mon, Jan 16, 2012

The chaotic inconsiderate parking outside of the main Dublin stations(I dont know what its like elsewhere) has always annoyed me and even more so recently - maybe I am becoming a grumpy old man. Furthermore ,I often note Garda cars breaking lights and taking illegal turns(breaking pedestrian green signals) without any indication of undue haste. I accept that its difficult for the Gardai with their 24hr shift work but I dont think nurses, prison officers ,airport workers etc would ever get away with this sort of behaviour.

My car was stolen recently - The gardai I dealt with were very professional and pleasant. However, this casual disregard for the law by our law keepers is not acceptable.

Quote Originally Posted by Nebuchadnezzar View Post
    I am suprised that this hasnt caught anybody elses eye - fair play to Anne Marie Hourihane.

Gardaí not leading by example on parking - The Irish Times - Mon, Jan 16, 2012

What she didnt mention about all the cars parked (and I refer to those parked on Harcourt St specifically) is how many of them have no NCT certs (and I'm not referring to the Garda cars)

Strange that so many people with no NCT certs would park so close to a Garda station.

The chaotic inconsiderate parking outside of the main Dublin stations(I dont know what its like elsewhere) has always annoyed me and even more so recently - maybe I am becoming a grumpy old man. Furthermore ,I often note Garda cars breaking lights and taking illegal turns(breaking pedestrian green signals) without any indication of undue haste. I accept that its difficult for the Gardai with their 24hr shift work but I dont think nurses, prison officers ,airport workers etc would ever get away with this sort of behaviour.

My car was stolen recently - The gardai I dealt with were very professional and pleasant. However, this casual disregard for the law by our law keepers is not acceptable.

What she didnt mention about all the cars parked (and I refer to those parked on Harcourt St specifically) is how many of them have no NCT certs (and I'm not referring to the Garda cars)

Strange that so many people with no NCT certs would park so close to a Garda station.

Nevermind them using their phones whilst driving.
    The mods have now certified me as being a sweet and reasonable human being and Supreme Leader of the P.ie muppet alliance.

Whilst not defending the Gardaí here . . Surely it is the responsibilty of their employer to provide adequate parking.

It is appalling that they are blatantly breaking the law.

How long will it take for someone to make a post about the Garda cars not having tax disks?
    A demagogue is someone who will preach doctrines he knows to be untrue to men he knows to be idiots.

I dont begrudge the Guards the odd little perk but this blatant public disregard for the law is shameful.

Constantly breaking the speed limit on motorways too with no indication that they are in pursuit of anybody or in a hurray to get to the scene of a crime.

It just makes everyone have less respect for the rules of the road and they should lead by example/be forced to obey the same rules as everyone else when it is not an emergency.
    Aindriu likes this.

Quote Originally Posted by RobertW View Post
    Whilst not defending the Gardaí here . . Surely it is the responsibilty of their employer to provide adequate parking.

It is appalling that they are blatantly breaking the law.
    Does this responsibility apply to all other employers?

Quote Originally Posted by brim4brim View Post
    Constantly breaking the speed limit on motorways too with no indication that they are in pursuit of anybody or in a hurray to get to the scene of a crime.

It just makes everyone have less respect for the rules of the road and they should lead by example/be forced to obey the same rules as everyone else when it is not an emergency.
    If they are on the way to an incident they do not have to use lights of sirens afaik.... These are only meant to be used in built up areas where there may be pedestrians, merging traffic junctions etc. Again afaik...
    Who'd have thought???

Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast