Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Garda Video on YouTube

Quote Originally Posted by lostexpectation
    why do people post these things?
    Probably to show what goes on in Garda stations when they think no one is watching. He could have easily have said, 'Brendan, the sergeant is not here at the moment, I'll ask him to call you when he gets back, goodbye'.

Ridicule is never funny and he was being paid by the taxpayer for ridiculing that caller. The caller may have mental problems, even so, he has to be treated well by the Gardai.
    Who would want green "one of the mob" ratings? Red and proud!

First the soldiers and now this. Ridicule is demeaning, dismissive and destructive. And from the guardians of our society. Sick sense of humour.

Why did they post this at all risking the incrimination it will bring? Apparently it's a local scandal where it happened. It's outrageous but as Joe Duffy kept saying today, maybe there's a context.

Hilarious.

There is plenty wrong with the Gardaí in this state, unfortunately there will be a public furore over something like this, and a poor Garda's career may be ruined for having the misfortune to deal with what appears to be a loon.

Yer man sounds like a nutter, wasting Garda time. They shouldnt have filmed it but I feel sorry for the gardaí at the same time. I think everyone who has worked in the public sector deals with this kind of thing from time to time and it can actually be rather difficult to know how to react.
    An eye for an eye makes us all blind
    Mohandas Gandhi

Economic Left/Right: -5.88
    Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -5.13

Quote Originally Posted by jjcarroll
    Hilarious.

There is plenty wrong with the Gardaí in this state, unfortunately there will be a public furore over something like this, and a poor Garda's career may be ruined for having the misfortune to deal with what appears to be a loon.
    What poor Garda? The caller was not being paid on public time, in fact he paid for the phone-call.

The poor Garda, on the other hand, actually got paid for that 10 minutes by taxpayers.
    Who would want green "one of the mob" ratings? Red and proud!

Quote Originally Posted by unicorn
    Hilarious.

What poor Garda? The caller was not being paid on public time, in fact he paid for the phone-call.
    How do you know?

The poor Garda, on the other hand, actually got paid for that 10 minutes by taxpayers.
    My hear bleeds for PAYE workers of this country over this.

Is Kingscourt not in Tallaght? It sounds like the guy is asking for proper Garda patrols in the area. Given how these two guards seem not to have a lot of work to do, it probably isn't a lot to ask.

Quote Originally Posted by Tigrrr
    Is Kingscourt not in Tallaght?
    ????

Its in Cavan.

Quote Originally Posted by Tigrrr
    Is Kingscourt not in Tallaght?
    ????

Its in Cavan.
    Ah, I see; that would explain the accent then.

This is a load of nothing. The guards deserve disciplinary action but certainly no way should they lose their jobs. Stupid behaviour but no more. More ridiculous to have uploaded it to YouTube. To the questioner who wondered why they didn't say "the sergeant is out goodbye" - the answer is that after the 25th repeat call from the guy you do end up at the stage where you think maybe if I annoy the hole off this guy he will get tired ringing us.

hopefully nothing more serious than an internal punishment for the guards involved and maybe they'll cop on to the fact that you can't do this no matter how annoying the caller is. It would be ludicrous for the punishment to go any further than that though

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast