Page 6 of 37 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast

Thread: Dermot Ahern throws a strop - pulls out of GRA Conference address.

H

Quote Originally Posted by goosebump View Post
    Ahern is 100% right.

Its of critical importance that the Garda is apolitical.

The GRA needs to disbanded if this is what they think their role is.

The Defence Forces are not the same as nurses and teachers.
    You would also need to chuck out the various political appointees in senior (brass level) of the Gardai as well

Politics.ie Regular Half Nelson's Avatar

The PS conferences are chest-thumping exercises by union leaders anxious to portray themselves as hard men in hard times and hopefully hold on to their plush salaries.
    The act will satisfy the ordinary PS worker who won't attend union meetings for fear of missing Corrie and who isn't really tuned in.

Quote Originally Posted by Cassandra Syndrome View Post
    Ah this is where all the government apologists are hiding today. Why are youse not in the economic section, discussing how wonderful the last budget has been for our borrowing costs?
    As far as I can tell there are more FGers here defending Ahern _on_this_particular_issue_ than FFers.
    I don't think I've ever see that before.

This is some of what Ahern ran away from.
    Earlier, gardaí criticised the Minister over his remarks that the force was among the best paid and resourced in Europe. Delegates at the conference claimed they are enduring third-world conditions in stations around the country.

Garda Ultan Sherlock, based at Stepaside in the Dún Laoghaire division, said it was absolutely farcical that Mr Ahern ranked the force among the best off in Europe, earlier this year. “Our colleagues in Macroom are about to walk out of the station, because they are working in a hovel,” he said. “The Garda training centre is empty, members are leaving everyday.”

Delegates passed a motion condemning Mr Ahern as being out of touch with the reality over Garda resources.

Gda Thomas Keane, of Ennis station in the Clare division, said 160 cars in the Garda’s entire 260-strong fleet in were more than four years old. Of these, just 47 per cent passed the NCT, with 14 retested after minor work and 61 cars needing major repairs.

Gda Keane said it defied logic the force was spending €10,000 a year repairing vehicles when new cars could be bought for €20,000.
    The conference heard the Garda has not bought any new patrol cars for two years, with some of the fleet having clocked up more than 300,000km.
    Garda Ray Wims, based at Carrick-on-Shannon in the Sligo/Leitrim division, said the main patrol car in Sligo town was “grounded” because it could not be repaired.

“We have stations which are in third world conditions, we have stations where there is a majority of females and there are no facilities for changing or showers,” he added. He said the deplorable conditions are reflected around the country.
    irishtimes.com - Ahern cancels GRA appearance
    “A healthy social life is found only, when in the mirror of each soul the whole community finds its reflection, and when in the whole community the virtue of each one is living”

Politics.ie Member H.R. Haldeman's Avatar

Just because the GRA is wrong doesn't mean Ahern is right. I don't think it's acceptable for a government minister to withdraw on these grounds. If the GRA are playing politics then so is Ahern. He should have gone and listened to what they have to say. If he doesn't like it, give out about if afterwards.

Quote Originally Posted by Newsy View Post
    I already said to you that if we live in ordinary times, I would agree with you.

But this gov aren't addressing the anger in the country because of the mess that the gov watched happen.

Why should anyone be surprised at the anger at the teachers conferences or the GRA.........
    I think it was James Connolly who said something along the lines of ...Constitutional politics for ordinary times,revolutionary politics for extrordinary ones....

And i agree with the poster who said the Aherns behaviour was disgraceful during the Willie O Dea fiasco..the mask slipped and it showed the real slug underneath,he is no person to be lecturing anyone in this country on democracy...only for the Gardai and the Army the lot of them might of been dragged out onto the streets long ago...

Ex member (closed per user request)

It should never express a political opinion, full stop.

The GRA can put its concerns to the Minister about the welfare of Gardai, including what they are paid. There is a big difference in that and saying things like "Fianna Fáil had sacrificed the greater good and properity of Ireland to protect economic traitors", as well you know.

I have no problem with the GRA speaking on behalf of its members. I have a big problem with the GRA positioning itself at political loggerheads with a sitting Government.
    What do you all want ? - A ZANU FF police force beholden to political corruption and one political party ?

These are unprecedented times, with unprecedented levels of political corruption and incompetency. Enough is Enough

The GRA told the truth, and called a spade a spade.

Quote Originally Posted by devnull View Post
    As far as I can tell there are more FGers here defending Ahern _on_this_particular_issue_ than FFers.
    I don't think I've ever see that before.

Well spotted, they must think they will be in government soon, they will probably want to invoke special powers as the law and order party, signs of the Connor Criuse O Brien and Paddy Cooney days ,Dangerous times ahead when we want to stop A Garda union Official from telling the truth.

I hope the other parties don't show support for the gra action! A snippet of condemnation of ff from lab ff etc us fine but hope they show some leadership and condem the gra action !
    Progressive and fair taxation = 2012 Merc e250 elegance purchase price/value €47,910 Road Tax:- €156 2005 vw passat 1.9L diesel price/value €8000, Road Tax :- €582

Saying 'Fianna Fail/Fine Gael/Labour have destroyed the country' is political.

Cop on.
    They're all the same, aren't they?

F* off.

Page 6 of 37 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast