Not really. My question was clearly directed at the subject of discussion in this thread. No innocent person has been killed, thank god, and nobody has 'no problem' with the issues raised by this alleged plot. So other than trying to strawman and make sure you could get the word "islamofascist' into a sentence, your post is of no relevance.You asked the question. I answered it.
Paxtime, for your eyes only:
'Those in custody are originally from Morocco and Yemen, but it is understood they all have refugee status and are legally in the country.'
From RTE's website. You are throwing comments around, calling people racist pigs when they're only quoting facts. Makes you a bit of a moron now, doesn't it just???
The internet, including politics.ie, is part of the media.
I believe that many posters on this site feel that politics.ie was very influential in events leading to the resignation of Willie O'Dea and that the site owner frequently posts references to politics.ie in the mainstream media.
If politics.ie is that influential, if it has that much attention paid to it by the mainstream media, then it is incumbent on politics.ie and posters here to do nothing which could undermine the right of anyone to a fair trial.
Laugh away if you want, but I think you'll find that the law in Ireland doesn't see material posted on the internet any differently to that published or broadcast in more established media.
IT Law in Ireland: January 2010A blogger has agreed a €100,000 settlement after libelling Niall Ó Donnchú, a senior civil servant, and his girlfriend Laura Barnes. It is the first time in Ireland that defamatory material on a blog has resulted in a pay-out.
Barnes, an American book dealer, made a profit of up to €800,000 in 2005 from selling a cache of James Joyce papers to the state. One year later she began a relationship with Ó Donnchú, an assistant secretary in the Department of Arts, Sports and Tourism.
In December 1, 2006, a blogger who styles himself as Ardmayle posted a comment about the couple and the sale of the Joycean manuscripts under the headline “Barnes and Noble”. Following a legal complaint, he took down the blog and in February 2007 he posted an apology which had been supplied by Ó Donnchú’s and Barnes’ lawyer, Ivor Fitzpatrick solicitors.
“I subsequently discovered that these remarks were inaccurate,” Ardmayle said. “I unreservedly apologise to both Laura Barnes and Niall Ó Donnchú in respect of this post.”
However, the pair subsequently issued separate proceedings. It is understood that the €100,000 settlement was agreed shortly before the case was due before the High Court. A full defamation trial before a jury can cost €700,000-€800,000 in legal costs for both parties.
The blog, still active at Ardmayle, is in the form of a personal diary with observations on the arts, literature and sport. The author is not identified, and the litigants may have got his details through his internet server provider (ISP).
The settlement was subject to a confidentiality agreement, which forbids the blogger from speaking about it publicly. Neither Ó Donnchú nor Barnes responded to invitations to comment.
Like the Israelis, it's a pre-emptive strike before the terror fans appear here with their usual Islamobile.
On the subject of the thread, fair play to the Gardai and the foreign agencies. At least they are alert to the threat of Islamic terrorism and are not complacent about the dangers all of us face from these lunatics.
<Mod - delete>
Last edited by He3; 9th March 2010 at 04:47 PM.
No fan of lefties myself but I have never seen anyone being a cheerleader for Islamic terrorism. What I have seen is posters trying to equate Islamic terrorism with the actions of Western armies. I have also seen, and will see again no doubt, posters refusing to see the danger that comes from unchecked Muslim immigration. Which ones will become normal citizens who just happen to have Islam as their religion and which ones are Taliban supporting cavemen.
One further point. These individuals have obviously done something suspicious to come to the attention of the guards. They wouldn't be arresting them unless they had evidence of some. Whether that is "beyond all reasonable doubt" is for a jury to decide but it does beg the question as to what screening process is in place to weed out Islamic extremists.
"The Egyptians could run to Egypt, the Syrians into Syria. The only place we could run was into the sea, and before we did that we might as well fight.” -Golda Meir
For all we know at this point those arrested may be Paddies out for the hit-money. Or, for that matter, desperate now that Martin Cullen's gone and there's no Waterford representation in Cabinet to bring home any sweeties!
edit:Oh, I see from the RTE yoke that they are reported as being from Yemen and Morocco. Apologies.
Alleged is the key word here, sadly missed by all the Islamophobes. But even if there were some truth to it, were they going to carry out the alleged assassination in Ireland or abroad?