Register to Comment
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree10Likes

I was in favour of a history essays section, but I don't know if this forum will work. Politics and history just melt on this site and perhaps its better that we leave it like that.
    Sign in or Register Now to reply

Right I'll start.

I'v been reading up a good bit on ancient & medieval Irish History (pre 1169) recently.

There is a huge amount of original material here that was written in Irish and Latin too.

Given that Irish as it is taught in schools is a big turn off for so many students should we not think of replacing it with a broader curriculum that reflects a study of Irish History and Culture of which the Language would be an integral but not an exclusive part?

I recall when I studied Latin in school the History and Culture of Rome gained one points in the Leaving Cert.

Also in Maynooth when I took Greek and Roman in 1st Year the languages of those two civilizations were options that could be pursued further if one wanted.

So a Course on Ancient Irish History and Culture for Secondary school students anyone?

I know my Irish would be a lot better if I had an option like that in my day!

I personally would love to see some early Irish history dating back to the late 1100's carrying it to present date. Oh please someone who is a history buff do this for me. Oh please, oh please! Alot of times I get lost in a debate or do not even enter it because of my lack of knowledge on the past history. It is hard to understand the present without understanding the past!

Quote Originally Posted by Seabird
    I personally would love to see some early Irish history dating back to the late 1100's carrying it to present date. Oh please someone who is a history buff do this for me. Oh please, oh please! Alot of times I get lost in a debate or do not even enter it because of my lack of knowledge on the past history. It is hard to understand the present without understanding the past!