Page 9 of 187 FirstFirst ... 78910111959109 ... LastLast
Like Tree74Likes

Thread: Catholic Church Abuse.

Quote Originally Posted by silvernut View Post
    You know, I still can't figure out if your a troll or a clergyman. You seem to be the only cheerleader left on here with the stomach to stand up for the church not that it's dirty secrets are finally coming out. As I've pointed out before, you're more concerned with the reputation of the church than you are with the countless children that have suffered at their hands.

Why don't you go out and find a nice big millstone for yourself?
    What you write about me is completely at odds with what I've written. Just cos you have an image in your head about what I might be like, doesn't mean it's true.

I'd love if you would actually quote me as to what you find so offensive. Less of the hot-headedness please.

I'm 100% behind the Church in her attempts to rid herself of this great evil. I'm also 100% behind society in her efforts to rid this country of child rapists and murderers. That's not to say that either are inherently evil.

Quote Originally Posted by Factorem View Post
    What you write about me is completely at odds with what I've written. Just cos you have an image in your head about what I might be like, doesn't mean it's true.

I'd love if you would actually quote me as to what you find so offensive.
    Here you go:

The Christian Brothers and the Church in Ireland should be given every support in their battle against this evil.
    Do you even care about the children that were abused?

I'm 100% behind the Church in her attempts to rid herself of this great evil. I'm also 100% behind society in her efforts to rid this country of child rapists and murderers. That's not to say that either are inherently evil.
    So you think child rapists and murderers are not inherently evil? Are you for real??

Quote Originally Posted by D.Harry View Post
    I find it ironic the number of calls for the State to confiscate this or that, for the State to enforce retribution, when the State itself worked hand-in-glove with the abusers.
    The religious institutions have been largely exposed, by now - not so the Department of Education and the Department of Justice.

btw - I was disgusted to hear of the proposed memorial to the victims - the words of a former taoiseach to be inscribed, a leader of the political party, which was in power through most of the time when this abuse took place.
    Fully with you D on this - what the f**k had Bertie Ahern got to say that would mean anything to people who had their lives destroyed?

His apology was empty and meaningless. 99.9% of those who were at fault got off scott free.

If there is indeed a hell as these God botheres believe, I sincerely hope that its full of the scum who carried out these acts of evil.
    If I could mass-sterilise the planet, I would. Seriously.

Quote Originally Posted by silvernut View Post
    Here you go:

Do you even care about the children that were abused?

So you think child rapists and murderers are not inherently evil? Are you for real??
    I think you're on to something there silvernut...

Quote Originally Posted by Disabled student View Post
    [COLOR="Navy"]Yes you are correct that they were reasonably priced some years back. Again i agree with you there that GREED has got to them.[/COLOR]

See Info on interpreter's FEES:

Client Rates as of 1st April 2008
    Interpreter Category Level Duration Rate
    R2 / R2 Generic Half Day €126
    R2 / R2 Generic Full Day €252
    R2 / R2 High Skills Half Day €152
    R2 / R2 High Skills Full Day €305
    R1 / R1 Generic Half Day €152
    R1 / R1 Generic Full Day €305
    R1 / R1 High Skills Half Day €205
    R1 / R1 High Skills Full Day €410.

These do not include mileage and travel expenses etc.
    Those fees don't seem too bad. They ones you quoted before were per hour though and ridiculously high. Perhaps that was for the investigation - the milking the gravy train effect.

The really sad thing about Cabra that posters won't know is that many of these children were sent to live there from as young as 3 years of age. Imagine the lifelong suffering of those completely cut of from the outside world their entire childhood. Many didn't realise what had been done to them was wrong even after leaving school because they had no access to the media information that started coming out in the 80's.

One of the most incredible things I learned about the deaf schools was that the boys in St. Josephs and the girls in St. Mary's were taught different signs in a effort to keep them apart. I don't recall when that practice stopped but it is incredible to think it ever occurred. Holy Catholic Ireland - I for one am glad it's dead and gone.

Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    A very difficult report to read and one that shames us all.
    It doesn't shame me in the slightest.

Then again I've never been involved in child rape or its cover up nor been an apologist for those who were.

I'd love if you would actually quote me as to what you find so offensive. Less of the hot-headedness please.

Would you call for those clergy who failed to report abuse to the Gardai to be prosecuted?

Quote Originally Posted by imokyrok View Post
    Those fees don't seem too bad. They ones you quoted before were per hour though and ridiculously high. Perhaps that was for the investigation - the milking the gravy train effect.

The really sad thing about Cabra that posters won't know is that many of these children were sent to live there from as young as 3 years of age. Imagine the lifelong suffering of those completely cut of from the outside world their entire childhood. Many didn't realise what had been done to them was wrong even after leaving school because they had no access to the media information that started coming out in the 80's.

One of the most incredible things I learned about the deaf schools was that the boys in St. Josephs and the girls in St. Mary's were taught different signs in a effort to keep them apart. I don't recall when that practice stopped but it is incredible to think it ever occurred. Holy Catholic Ireland - I for one am glad it's dead and gone.
    [COLOR="Blue"]Yes there are some 'Cowboys' interpreters here in Ireland who still charge €248 to €400 per hour outside the usual hours that they are contracted to.
    Hence free lance interpreters. For instance, a wedding, a deaf guy got married and he need an interpreter. Guess what price ? 400 euros. That is outside contracted hours ie fri-sun and after hours from 5pm onwards.

Yes you are correct that most deaf children were sent to St Josephs or other near deaf school at the age of 3 years old. That practice has been discontinued since 1990's. The trauma and effects are known as i am aware of that- it has affected many deaf people who went to school there.

Yeah you are correct that there was tow seperate sign language ... one for boys and one for girls. It was ricidolous and stupid at that era. They are still trying to merge into Irish sign Language. Otherwise, it would be a communication barrier as i recall it back.[/COLOR]

Politics.ie Regular White Horse's Avatar

Response to hypocrite

Quote Originally Posted by marmurr1916 View Post
    It doesn't shame me in the slightest.

Then again I've never been involved in child rape or its cover up nor been an apologist for those who were.
    And you are not an Irish citizen whose governments declined to follow up reports of abuse or ensure that the care was adequate in the first place?

I was particularly interested in the section on Daingean:

from the Executive Summary:

Chapter 15 reports on Daingean Reformatory, Co Offaly. This was the only boys’ reformatory in the State for most of the relevant period and was managed by but not owned by the Oblates of Mary Immaculate.

The physical abuse of boys in Daingean was extreme. Floggings which were ritualised beatings should not have been tolerated in any institution and they were inflicted even for minor transgressions. Children who passed through Daingean were brutalised by the experience and some were damaged by it.

Apart from a cruel regime of punishment, Daingean was an anarchic Institution. It was run by gangs of boys who imposed their rules on the others and the supervision by the religious Brothers and Priests was minimal and ineffectual.

Serious questions were raised about two Brothers who were in the school for long periods but in general allegations of sexual abuse were concentrated on abuse by older boys. The gangland culture fostered the development of protective relationships between the boys and these relationships sometimes developed a sexual aspect. The boy seeking the protection had little option but to comply with the demands of the older boy and the authorities were dismissive of any complaints.

My interest stems from having met one (non-Oblate) elderly priest who visited Daingean on several occasions in the late 1960s. He was so horrified by what he found that he compiled a report and sent it to the then Minister for Justice. The only response from the Minister was to forward this report to the then Archbishop of Dublin, hinting that action was needed - against the priest-whistleblower!! The eventual outcome was that this man had to leave Ireland in order to continue his work as a priest.

It is a horrific, shameful and criminal period of recent Irish history. Both Church and State are implicated.

Incidentally, the priest concerned was invited to appear before the Commission, and agreed to do so on condition that the final Report would also address issues of child-abuse in present-day Ireland. Needless to say, that was the last he heard!

Hopefully, reaction to the Report will move beyond mere emotional outrage towards prosecutions and, inadequate though it may be at this stage, more appropriate financial compensation for the victims.

Hopefully, also, this Report will focus attention on the on-going problem of child abuse in Ireland. A recent thread mentioned the Dublin Rape Crisis Centre as a source of information. Child Line is another useful source. Anyone who thinks that this problem is absent from post-Catholic Ireland has their head stuck in the sand. Meanwhile long-suffering children continue to be ignored (Child Line's annual stats on unanswered calls are frightening).

Page 9 of 187 FirstFirst ... 78910111959109 ... LastLast