Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Blasphemy Legislation - Please contact your Green Party Rep and Ciaran Cuffe TD

slx

Blasphemy Legislation - Please contact your Green Party Rep and Ciaran Cuffe TD

The Government is just about to force through legislation which will make blasphemy a serious offense, punishable by very heavy fines. It makes it possible for Gardai to search private property and seize blasphemous material.

It basically sends us back to the 1950s and serves to underline the link between Church and State.

I also feel that this legislation will be used by religious extremists, from every faith background, to take spurious cases against media outlets and individuals who speak against them.

Let's not forget that some of these organisations are extremely well funded and espouse some very odd views.

Some of the very right wing Islamic groups, the Church of Scientology, various right wing Christian organizations etc all have the ability to hire serious legal fire power and to stifle our freedom of expression through legal actions taken under this legislation.

I do not believe that this is compatible with Green Party policies or that very many people who voted Green in 2007 would have supported this kind of attack on our freedom of speech.

I would ask members of the Green Party or people who voted Green to contact their local representatives and also the Party's spokesperson on Justice, Ciarán Cuffe a.s.a.p.

This is being allowed to pass by the Green Party.

If this is not compatible with your views, or if you feel this is not what you voted for, PLEASE let them know.

You can get details of how to contact your local reps here:

People / Home - Green Party / Comhaontas Glas

Their Justice Spokesperson, Ciaran Cuffe's contact details are here:

Ciarán Cuffe / People / Home - Green Party / Comhaontas Glas

For those of you in Cork :

Dan Boyle's still a senator:

Dan Boyle / People / Home - Green Party / Comhaontas Glas

At this rate it wont be long before the Greens and KKK amalgamate.

The Trust Fund babies won't be happy if the electorate start bothering them..

slx

Quote Originally Posted by DCon View Post
    The Trust Fund babies won't be happy if the electorate start bothering them..
    Well, the electorate needs to show that it is capable of holding them to account.

I suppose the trust fund might come in handy if you need to consider your career options. I don't think many of these people will be in politics in a few years time if they continue behaving like this.

One Person on this site whos so pleased this Blasphemy bill could pass

Could be guilty of Blasphemy

When we all read something we all Interpret it in different ways

This person opened a thread here

http://www.politics.ie/development-e...nist-bias.html

and said the following

Has P.ie finally shown its true colours?
    now by that question and putting in the Israeli flag

The only way i can interpret that persons post is that the person clearly Implied politics.ie is being run by Jews.

Thus that very person whos wants Blasphemy a crime,One could very well say that person has committed Blasphemy
    Gnasher/Gnash1970 The Troll That Likes to Hijack Threads And Take Them Off Topic

Well today is a proud day for the Green Party, thier blasphemy act safely passed through the Dail and another nail in ther coffin of free speech.
    What next ? Concentration camps ?

Anybody got the voting records yet?
    Every one sees what you appear to be, few really know what you are, and those few dare not oppose themselves to the opinion of the many, who have the majesty of the state to defend them.

- [SIZE=2]Niccolò Machiavelli[/SIZE]

slx

Well, I am just bitterly disappointed. As far as I am concerned the Greens ARE Fianna Fail now.

They might as well just stop pretending.

This is some of the most backward legislation that has been seen in a very long time and they have their grubby green fingers all over it.

May their party rot in the political compost heap for all eternity!

Politics.ie Member Supermanpolitician's Avatar

I am a mass going Catholic but I am tempted tosay "F**k the church" etc to see if I get thrown in jail. I am not a Green supporter but nonetheless would have never conceived that the Green Party would stand idly by while this horse manure gets put through the Dail. I don't think most in FF are in favour of it either, but they have to tow the party line.

The Greens are a disgrace. No one should be shocked by this ... just another thing to add to the list alongside Tara, health/education cuts, Rossport, etc, etc, etc, etc, etc.

Talking up the ass from FF again. Are ye enjoying it yet lads?

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast