Thread: The Green Party - an insider's view

The Green Party - an insider's view

The Green Party's dirty linen is washed in public in the interview below, reprinted from Hot Press:

http://www.patriciamckenna.eu/upload...ot%20Press.pdf

Delighted to see her go. Being green is not about tagging along with every eco-fad. Environmental policies have to be rational and scientific. Green policies promote change but where these changes are found to be mistaken, they have to be dropped. Her opposition to mass immunisation and espousal of the MMR-autism rubbish long after it was disproven were dangerous policies of the heart rather than the head.

Politics.ie Regular MsAnneThrope's Avatar

Wow, she didn't hold back there at all:

Q: What do you make of Trevor Sargent stepping down as leader of the party because of his pre-election commitment not to lead the Greens into government with Fianna Fail?

A: Trevor said he would not lead the Green Party into government with Fianna Fail – yet in the Mansion House he urged everyone to support going into government with Fianna Fail. He was instrumental in getting the members to vote in favour. And when the result came out, he said it was the proudest day of his life! I don’t understand it. I just find it schizophrenic!
    Q: I don’t want to put words into your mouth, but you are effectively saying that the Greens in the Dail are nothing but hypocrites?

A: Definitely. They are political opportunists. It’s political opportunism where you jump on the bandwagon of a campaign and support it and you promise the people that you are going to pursue their issue. And then as soon as you get into power, you say, ‘Please go away! We can’t do anything for you’.
    Q: Some cynics have suggested that the Greens are staying in government long enough to secure their Ministerial pensions.

A: I don’t know. I don’t know what else are they holding on for. You can see that they have been seduced by power and being in government and the so-called credibility that it gives you and how you’re treated by the establishment. The membership of the Green Party has changed as well. There’s a lot of new members who see a possibility of getting up the political ladder quicker in the Greens than they might in another party.
    She has definitely made the right decision to go independent in my opinion.
    We all love animals. Why do we call some 'pets' and others 'dinner'?

Spot on Girl!

With still one of the poorest environmental records and awarness levels in Europe, a toothless EPA and the contempt both FF and FG have for the issues of sustainability, proper planning, maintainance of biodiversity, promotion of ecotourism, organic farming, protection of water supples etc. this country is in bad need of a competent Green Party.

Unfortunately the actions(or more like inactions) of Messers Gormley and Ryan have set the movement back at least a decade

I'm sorry i don't live in Dublin so i could give Ms Mckenna my No.1, she is one of the best MEP's we ever had. And as she said herself "the GP left me, not the other way around"

Politics.ie Regular MrFunkyBoogaloo's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Thoreau View Post
    The Green Party's dirty linen is washed in public in the interview below, reprinted from Hot Press:

http://www.patriciamckenna.eu/upload...ot%20Press.pdf

What a pleasure to read. Like a breath of fresh air in a cowfield!

Well Done Patricia.
    "The power of accurate observation is commonly called cynicism by those who have not got it." – George Bernard Shaw

'The greatest mistake a man (or woman) can ever make is to do nothing for fear of not being able to do enough' - Winston Churchill

We live in a democracy - Patricia (and posters) needs to realise change comes incrementally from the inside and against short term vested and economic interests.

Anyone who mentions Ministerial pensions should really get off P.ie and get a hobby or an education. To think that a person togs out, crosses the white line, knock on doors, puts themselves at the whim of the voters and (may) secure a job for a period not exceeding 5 years whereby they are subject to constant nonsensical ridicule from our adversarial political system on the off chance that they might secure a ministerial pension? come on you can do better than that.

That old fashioned but insightful observer G B Shaw had a different view gav -

"The reasonable man adapts himself to the conditions that surround him... The unreasonable man adapts surrounding conditions to himself... All progress depends on the unreasonable man."
    'Personally, I find the notion of changing our constitution in exchange for a loan absolutely disgusting'. - Tin Foil Hat

Politics.ie Member Supermanpolitician's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by ForestGhetto View Post
    Delighted to see her go. Being green is not about tagging along with every eco-fad. Environmental policies have to be rational and scientific. Green policies promote change but where these changes are found to be mistaken, they have to be dropped. Her opposition to mass immunisation and espousal of the MMR-autism rubbish long after it was disproven were dangerous policies of the heart rather than the head.
    A lot of crazy notions are accepted within the Green Party. It's only when one leaves that Green Party members seem to find their voices.

Personally I believe the Greens can achieve far more in opposition by highlighting a governments short comings rather than having their voices muted by being part of a coalition.

I remeber feeling slightly terrified when I heard they were going to go in with FF but FF have really being able to stifle them so no major harm done!
    If we were all born equal we would all be white, middle-class, middle-aged men!

Quote Originally Posted by pd_phoenix View Post
    Personally I believe the Greens can achieve far more in opposition by highlighting a governments short comings rather than having their voices muted by being part of a coalition.

I remeber feeling slightly terrified when I heard they were going to go in with FF but FF have really being able to stifle them so no major harm done!

unless you are a car dealer or drive a 08+ range rover,mazda rx8 or automatic