Thread: Greens in rally call to voice Budget concerns

Politics.ie Regular Anticoalition's Avatar

Greens in rally call to voice Budget concerns

Greens in rally call to voice Budget concerns - National News, Frontpage - Independent.ie

"HUNDREDS of Green Party members are calling on the leadership to hold a special convention to address "palpable" concerns and divisions amongst grass-roots supporters in the wake of the Government's Budget."

And so the rebellion begins, and the Green saplings begin to feel the power they hold in their own roots...

Fair play to yez - give em hell

All the greens have produced so far is straw men/women. But at least that's green.

The grass roots will waffle and follow the *leader* in the end. Being in power is more important than having a little dignity.

Quote Originally Posted by greengoose View Post
    All the greens have produced so far is straw men/women. But at least that's green.

The grass roots will waffle and follow the *leader* in the end. Being in power is more important than having a little dignity.
    The Greens made the mistake of entering into partnership with FF. Ahern was only interested in staying Taoiseach and offered the Greens a deal that was very hard to turn down. They would at this stage be well advised to reconsider their position as if they get caught in government with a forced election, they will be wiped put. Harney is singlehandedly destroying FF. Her performance this past week has been extraordinary. She has completely been outed as an incompetent and must now rate as one of the most hated politicians in the history of the State. Everyone has now seen through what she is at-fearthering her own nest. I think, by and large, the Greens are a decent crowd.

Quote Originally Posted by hopi watcher View Post
    The Greens made the mistake of entering into partnership with FF. Ahern was only interested in staying Taoiseach and offered the Greens a deal that was very hard to turn down. They would at this stage be well advised to reconsider their position as if they get caught in government with a forced election, they will be wiped put. Harney is singlehandedly destroying FF. Her performance this past week has been extraordinary. She has completely been outed as an incompetent and must now rate as one of the most hated politicians in the history of the State. Everyone has now seen through what she is at-fearthering her own nest. I think, by and large, the Greens are a decent crowd.
    I don't think that the Greens are a decent crowd. I believe that they are small timers with a big agenda. Unfortunately that agenda is totally whimsical. Read up on the moo cow emissions.

Running a country PROPERLY takes guts and determination along with a lorry load of flair and commonsense. Cowen waffles about making hard decisions when he should be making hard but WISE decisions.

Harney may have been outed as an incompetent but if that wer really the case she would have been sacked with immediate effect a long time ago. It simply suits FF to have even bigger idiots to hide behind.

I don't think that the Greens are a decent crowd. I believe that they are small timers with a big agenda. Unfortunately that agenda is totally whimsical. Read up on the moo cow emissions.

Running a country PROPERLY takes guts and determination along with a lorry load of flair and commonsense. Cowen waffles about making hard decisions when he should be making hard but WISE decisions.

Harney may have been outed as an incompetent but if that wer really the case she would have been sacked with immediate effect a long time ago. It simply suits FF to have even bigger idiots to hide behind.
    FF will quake when they have to give The Health Ministry to an FFer ,no hideing place then.

As the person who put the resolution to hold a special convention together I would have to disagree!

The Leader is our representative, he does NOT crack the whip like in other party's, the greens are run on a strict one member one vote principle, anyone can run for the leadership (once they get 50 nominees), John would be the first to say that the Greens run from the lowest effective level, meaning we the members decide policy, direction etc.

the reason I and many other members want a special convention is to discuss the direction we are going in, we are in the middle of an economic crisis, we as a party need to pull together and be united in our approach to dealing with it!

As long as our Ministers legislate in accordance to agreed green policy, most of which comes from constituency groups and then through National Council there will be no dissent!We dont blindly follow our leader, he is accountable to us, and he knows this!

The Greens are the only truly democratic Party on this island, none of the main stream Party's including SF have our level of grassroots involvment.

@

David, was my reading of the body language at the get together correct in that I believe Bronwen Maher is one of those with significant misgivings about the current stance of the party and she was looking for a special conference next spring too?
    Dan Sullivan. I was back but we still couldn't all have a vote.

Politics.ie Royalty toxic avenger's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by DavidGrey View Post
    As the person who put the resolution to hold a special convention together I would have to disagree!

The Leader is our representative, he does NOT crack the whip like in other party's, the greens are run on a strict one member one vote principle, anyone can run for the leadership (once they get 50 nominees), John would be the first to say that the Greens run from the lowest effective level, meaning we the members decide policy, direction etc.

the reason I and many other members want a special convention is to discuss the direction we are going in, we are in the middle of an economic crisis, we as a party need to pull together and be united in our approach to dealing with it!

As long as our Ministers legislate in accordance to agreed green policy, most of which comes from constituency groups and then through National Council there will be no dissent!We dont blindly follow our leader, he is accountable to us, and he knows this!

The Greens are the only truly democratic Party on this island, none of the main stream Party's including SF have our level of grassroots involvment.
    Was it a democratic decision that led to the jettisoning of standards in public office as an ideal when the rat in the anorak was perjuring himself left, right, and centre?

Quote Originally Posted by KingKane View Post
    David, was my reading of the body language at the get together correct in that I believe Bronwen Maher is one of those with significant misgivings about the current stance of the party and she was looking for a special conference next spring too?
    I don't know exactly what Bronwen's view is, I haven't spoken to her!

The savage cutbacks in the budget which were meted out against pensioners the disabled and the young(education cutbacks) need a stronger response from our Party, they were against our sense of Justice and we should be seen to be publically against them.

the current Cervical Cancer Vaccine cancellation cannot be defended, John Gormley needs to start getting tough, we have to hold the balance of power on a knife edge in order to get the most concessions, the nice approach is not going to work, FF are much too cute to take any notice unless we are willing to give them ultimatums!

If we fail to stand up for the most vulrenable in society then we will be no different from the rest!

Quote Originally Posted by KingKane View Post
    You don't need to rely on body language, she released a savagely critical (and in my view unfair) statement to the media.
    Worth breaking my "no sig" rule for: