Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: How did the Cabinet travel to/from Áras an Uachtaráin ?

Politics.ie Regular cyberianpan's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Insider2007
    Quote Originally Posted by krayZpaving
    There has been a very long standing tradition of all 15 Ministers taking their own cars to the Áras, and travelling in (very high speed) convoy. Obviously someone decided to change it. I guess it wouldn't have been a good start for the Greens to have everyone travelling two to a car!
    There is a very simple reason why people go in their own cars. If there was an accident, or a terrorist attack, and all the ministers were in one vehicle the entire cabinet could be wiped out.
    Someone's been reading too much Tom Clancy.

Ireland is not a serious terrorist target.

Also not many bus accidents in Dublin's traffic would kill all occupants.

And furthermore Ireland doesn't have nukes or strategic military forces so there would be little urgency if some ministers for state had to fill in for a while.

The black mercs, armed gardai are just a status & power thing, seems a lot of people read Tom Clancy.

cYp

cYp
    "Yawn , am I alive yet ?"

Ireland/France, depending on Micheal O'Learys whim........

I heard this morning on Newstalk that Eamonn Ryan used the minibus to get back to the Dail to collect his bike and was later seen walking with it along Merrion Square while the Merc(?) drove alongside (presumably holding up the traffic...)

A texter late in the show asked why don't they use the Garda bicycle patrols to act as minders for Ministers who want to ride a bike.....

I personally hope the Green ministers make as many gestures as they can to show up the others as users of gas guzzlers and wasters of Garda time....

It strikes me that the garda bike patrol idea won't go far, being a ministerial driver is probably considered a good doss of a job in the guards....

Bye, Barry

We are not about to emulate David Cameron's example of puffing away on his bike while the Lexus SUV follows on behind, are we?? The meeja will have a field day. Fair play to them for trying though...spot of aerobic exercise wouldn't do the minders any harm!
    The floggings will continue until morale improves

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12