Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Greens - first to ditch power for principle?

HH

Greens - first to ditch power for principle?

Are the Greens the first Irish political Party to give away a chance to go into Government for the sake of principle?

Is there any place for such highmindedness in Irish Politics?

Should the Greens now quit politics and become a lobby group instead?

What's the point of government if you can't implement anything that might possibly piss off a FF vested interest (i.e. just about every single Green policy)? Like a lot of people on this site, you don't understand the Greens very well do you.

Politics.ie Regular rockofcashel's Avatar

Fair play to ye Gombeen.. if ye'd only develop a pair of cojones on the 6 counties, I might vote for ye myself

(Ps.. I've gave Bernie a very high preference.. or should that be a low preference.. low number, you know what I mean)
    1,197 people agree with me.. how many agree with you ?

RoC the greens are in the north already, waiting...

Quote Originally Posted by rockofcashel
    Fair play to ye Gombeen.. if ye'd only develop a pair of cojones on the 6 counties, I might vote for ye myself
    I dunno about that. We support the status quo for as long as the majority of people in the North want it to remain thus. Sound familiar?
    "If there is a future, it will be Green." - Petra Kelly.

Politics.ie Regular Fr. Hank Tree's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by rockofcashel

(Ps.. I've gave Bernie a very high preference.. or should that be a low preference.. low number, you know what I mean)
    In fact aren't the greens and Sf quite similar? They both want to shake the establishment up a bit. If the greens become a bit more republican, and SF a bit more environmentalist, you could have a very interesting party. The richest and the poorest of the electorate would be united.

But yes, what a breath of fresh air and inspiration the greens are and i mean that. It's about time we started talking about making hard policy decisions in this country instead of whoring and compromising ourselves for the sake of power. The greens are a party of the utmost integrity.

It reminds of the way the PDs use to be. What a pity they were corrupted. Only natural i suppose.

;
    ;

Quote Originally Posted by Fr. Hank Tree

It reminds of the way the PDs use to be. What a pity they were corrupted. Only natural i suppose.
    I used to have a lot of time for the PDs too (as I think a lot of people used to). But that was a long time ago. I miss Dessie.

Quote Originally Posted by Gombeen
    What's the point of government if you can't implement anything that might possibly piss off a FF vested interest (i.e. just about every single Green policy)? Like a lot of people on this site, you don't understand the Greens very well do you.
    Remember that it is a little wrong for a party with a small percentage of the vote to control a govt with a party with 41% of the vote, who has the mandate?? And yes, the PDs did it and I think it was completely wrong. And I agree with the Greens on co-location.

In fact aren't the greens and Sf quite similar? They both want to shake the establishment up a bit. If the greens become a bit more republican, and SF a bit more environmentalist, you could have a very interesting party. The richest and the poorest of the electorate would be united.
    This kind of talk would give a lot of folks out there an orjasm, Father.

Are the greens really a party of only the rich, though?

Quote Originally Posted by Gombeen

I used to have a lot of time for the PDs too (as I think a lot of people used to). But that was a long time ago. I miss Dessie.
    Dessie O'Hare or Dessie O'Malley?

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast