View Poll Results: Should Trevor Sargent resign?

Voters
583. You must be logged in to vote on this poll. Please login or register for free
  • Yes

447 76.67%
  • No

136 23.33%
Page 158 of 158 FirstFirst ... 58108148156157158
Results 1,571 to 1,577 of 1577

Thread: Trevor Sargent in hot water over headed notepaper letter to Garda

Quote Originally Posted by TradCat View Post
    With the Cardinal taking the Willie O'Dea approach it's worth remembering that Sargent went with dignity.
    Did he?

With the Greens Rotation plan it seems he was probably going to be gone shortly anyway, so it makes more sense to just resign, than hang on for a few weeks and then just resign anyway.
    "Give us the future, we've had enough of YOUR past, Give us back our country, to live in, to grow in and to love..."

Foreign, for my mental as well as material well-being

She's been arrested?!

And she's actually being detained?!

A Guard!

Has there been a revolution in this country since the weekend?

Quote Originally Posted by aggressivesecularist View Post
    She's been arrested?!

And she's actually being detained?!

A Guard!

Has there been a revolution in this country since the weekend?
    I'm tellin ya, they'll be arresting bankers next!

Politics.ie Regular NewGoldDream's Avatar

But so many here said it simply HAD to be Dermot Ahern?

What's the explanation now? Did he disguise himself as a Ban Garda or something?

I've said it before on this thread, the humble pie is now in the oven...

Quote Originally Posted by NewGoldDream View Post
    But so many here said it simply HAD to be Dermot Ahern?

What's the explanation now? Did he disguise himself as a Ban Garda or something?

I've said it before on this thread, the humble pie is now in the oven...
    I think you will struggle to find anyone who said it HAD to be Ahern, merely that he had the motive, the means, the opportunity, and is a hateful little bollix to boot.
    Unenthusiastic about any of the buggers.

Quote Originally Posted by TradCat View Post
    With the Cardinal taking the Willie O'Dea approach it's worth remembering that Sargent went with dignity.
    Going with dignity would have involved him leaving as soon as he realised what he did in relation to contacting the Gardai was wrong.

He didnt, nor did he resign his Dail seat, hence, he's a cheap and tawdry little man who cannot be trusted. Like the other 160 odd clowns.
    No matter what you think of yourself, the moment you try to justify the murder of an innocent with idealism, no matter what that ideal might be, you take your place on the side of evil and all your claims to virtue are as naught.

Politics.ie Regular NewGoldDream's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Chrisco View Post
    I think you will struggle to find anyone who said it HAD to be Ahern, merely that he had the motive, the means, the opportunity, and is a hateful little bollix to boot.
    Ah don't help them with the revisionism and backtracking at all! Plenty enough were saying that, for some reasons that had them jumping through logical hoops and setting reason to one side, it was obvious that Dermot Ahern wanted to bring down the Government and face the electorate to teach the Greens a lesson. I thought that would be political masochism and made absolutely no sense. I still say so.