I will be going to the convention with Mrs Cathaoirleach and the two junior Cathaoirleach’s in tow. I am also bringing three (non-member) couples with me. We are all staying in the hotel and looking forward to the craic.
i live in Newcastle, the buses ain't great at the weekend, besides which they go from the stop outside college, via eire square, round the back way, and then turn a minutes walk away, so in terms of time t'aint that different. besides, t'is a grand walk when its dry (all 4 days a yearOriginally Posted by Sidewinder
)
"Wind comes from the spring star in the East;
Fire from the summer star in the South;
Water from the autumn star in the West;
Wisdom, silence and death from the star in the North."
Originally Posted by Cathaoirleach
![]()
The Green Party Convention has arrived. Check out the party's convention blog for regular updates.
So what did everyone think? I was helping out all weekend so didn't get a feel for what it was like for 'ordinary' members. However, it seemed to have gone really, really well. Everything ran like clockwork [literally in some cases!], the staff were great and the workshops were well received by all.
My only complaint was the main hall was a tad small, made it difficult for people to get in and out.
Surprise of the weekend: Who knew Renate knew all the words to 'The fields of Athenry'?
Line of the weekend: Any sentence from John's speech
Low point: Dan putting his tie around his head during his 'gig'
Motion speaker of the weekend: Adam Douglas from Cork- one to watch!
Funniest moment: National Draw
'Oops' of the weekend: David Healy getting his bulbs all mixed up
Anything missed?
What did people make of Eddie Hobbs? I heard a bit of his talk on the radio.
Fantastic weekend, nice and busyOriginally Posted by AndrewM
Sorry we didnt get to see more of u due to ur duties, but all ye Galway ushers did a great job. And congratulations are due to AndrewM who got elected to the NEC off his own bat - now there's two of us young uns on it for the next year
We'll have the party taken over by next convention
"Politics is not the art of the possible. It consists of choosing between the disastrous and the unpalatable."
John Galbraith
Economic Left/Right:-8.38
Social Libertarian/Authoritarian:-6.97
I was up on the podium while he was speaking and thought he was very good. As I was jotting to Fnarr-fnarr while he was talking, some of his suggestions were quite left wing! He was also more than positive about the potential influence of greens in the next government - dunno if there was a certain amount of playing to his audience going on? Either way, I found it very interesting and there was some good suggestions to consider.Originally Posted by michael1965
"Politics is not the art of the possible. It consists of choosing between the disastrous and the unpalatable."
John Galbraith
Economic Left/Right:-8.38
Social Libertarian/Authoritarian:-6.97
It's funny. The pic in today's Tribune just focusses on him alone with the Green Party banner at the podium and kinda gives the impression that he was there as a party member!![]()