Page 429 of 458 FirstFirst ... 329379419427428429430431439 ... LastLast
Results 4,281 to 4,290 of 4578
Like Tree23Likes

Thread: Irish 'involved' in Bolivia 'assassination attempt'

According to Alan Kelly's press release, he has not asserted anything, besides Mike being a loving son and culturally tolerant, which is true. In fairness to Kelly he did not get into the legality of why Mike was in Bolivia - you don't have to be innocent to be 'murdered'!

Prado under house arrest

From the Latin American Herald Tribune 26th May:

Bolivian General Who Captured “Che” Put Under House Arrest

LA PAZ – A retired general best known for capturing iconic revolutionary Ernesto “Che” Guevara has been placed under house arrest for alleged ties with terrorists, local media reported Saturday.

Judge Betty Yañiquez placed Gen. Gary Prado Salmon and two other suspects under house confinement for allegedly plotting to bring about the secession of eastern Bolivia, the main bastion of opposition to socialist President Evo Morales.

“It’s almost laughable to me that a general, with the career I’ve had, would put himself at the orders of a mercenary,” Prado told prosecutor Marcelo Soza, the local press reported.

Soza accused the retired general of having secret contacts with Bolivian-born Croatian citizen Eduardo Rosza, whom authorities allege headed a terrorist and secessionist group that plotted to assassinate Morales.

Rosza and two alleged co-conspirators were killed in April 2009 in a controversial police raid on a hotel in the eastern city of Santa Cruz.

Prado was the commander of a detachment that captured Argentine-born, Cuban revolutionary Che Guevara on Oct. 8, 1967, near the southeastern Bolivian town of La Higuera, where the rebel – who had come to the Andean nation to foment revolution – was executed a day later.

One of the retired general’s sons, Gary Prado Arauz, was also recently arrested in connection with the same case.

The others placed under house arrest and prohibited from leaving the country are physician Juan Carlos Santistevan, head of the far-right Bolivian Socialist Falange; and Ronald Castedo, former president of telephone company Cotas.

Santa Cruz daily El Deber reported Saturday that Yañiquez, “a judge with the La Paz judicial district, had (issued a ruling in a case involving an) alleged crime that occurred in the jurisdiction of Santa Cruz ... more than 1,000 kilometers (620 miles) from her courthouse.”

At the time of the hearing, Santa Cruz province’s Gov. Ruben Costas was leading a massive protest against a Morales-backed bill that could result in his being suspended from his post along with another recently re-elected governor in relatively prosperous eastern Bolivia.

The bill states that regional or municipal authorities can be suspended from their posts if they are formally charged by the Attorney General’s Office.

The government accuses the governor-elects of charges ranging from corruption to conspiracy to secede.

Bolivia’s mainly white and mestizo “eastern crescent” provinces were hostile toward the central government even before Morales – the Andean nation’s first indigenous president – was elected in December 2005 with nearly 54 percent of the vote.

They have only grown more militant since the socialist took office and convened an assembly to draft a new charter – eventually approved in January 2009 – aimed at empowering the country’s long-oppressed Indian majority and narrowing the enormous gap between rich and poor.

Toward that end, Morales has vastly increased the government’s share of natural-gas revenue and sought to implement a sweeping land reform that envisions breaking up massive estates, including some bigger than the European nation of Luxembourg.

The mainly white business elites who dominate public life in eastern Bolivia accuse Morales of being a dictator and a pawn of leftist Venezuelan President Hugo Chavez.

Quote Originally Posted by Galtee View Post
    According to Alan Kelly's press release, he has not asserted anything, besides Mike being a loving son and culturally tolerant, which is true. In fairness to Kelly he did not get into the legality of why Mike was in Bolivia - you don't have to be innocent to be 'murdered'!
    of course thats code for alan kelly saying im going to say he's innocent and hadn't been engaged racist and fascist terrorist campaign. and how do you know it to be true that he was culturally tolerant?
    What does the Irish President spend their time doing. Work in progress

Quote Originally Posted by lostexpectation View Post
    of course thats code for alan kelly saying im going to say he's innocent and hadn't been engaged racist and fascist terrorist campaign. and how do you know it to be true that he was culturally tolerant?
    The EU as a body has more influence than Ireland.

An MEP raises questions in the European Parliament about the killing of an Irish national in Bolivia.

Thats doing your job

Fair play to Alan kelly

Stop squabbling over nothing

'and how do you know it to be true that he was culturally tolerant?'
    his facebook page for a start, plenty of blacks and indians in his friends list! along with him having no interest in politics and not expressing racist sentiments to his colleagues on the door in Galway.
    You can read between the lines all you like, lostexpectation, internet chatrooms are great for that sort of thing! From my perspective I want to see a full investigation into this incident, including the Irish context, and frankly I am more interested in the Szeckler Legion boys who have got away scot free from the Irish authorities than dissecting Mike's history.
    Read my article on the subject if you like:

'Who was responsible for the killing of Michael Dwyer ?' The Pipe
    Last edited by Galtee; 27th May 2010 at 12:12 AM.

Politics.ie Member FutureTaoiseach's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by jacko View Post
    The EU as a body has more influence than Ireland.

An MEP raises questions in the European Parliament about the killing of an Irish national in Bolivia.

Thats doing your job

Fair play to Alan kelly
    Hear Hear.

Website for 'The Pipe' documentary about Corrib: The Pipe
    Facebook Page: Richard O' Donnell | Facebook

The Pipe

The Pipe
    Last edited by Galtee; 27th May 2010 at 12:34 AM.

Revesz & Szekler Legion again

[quote=Galtee;2706025]Website for 'The Pipe' documentary about Corrib: The Pipe
    Facebook Page: Richard O' Donnell | Facebook

The Pipe

Thanks for those links, Galtee, especially Who was responsible for the killing of Michael Dwyer, which contains interesting new information on Tibor Revesz and his Szekler Legion cell in Ireland. Much of the article repeats material we presented here, such as Revesz's apparent recruiting role for the Bolivian misadventure, the IRMS Foireann Cahill team which developed into an international mercenary group, the triumphalist Glengad and Solitaire badges, Revesz's advertising of an IRMS course involving arms training and his continued employment by the firm after the April 16th 2009 killings, and so forth. I'd have to say that the Pipe piece undermines rather than confirms the view that Michael Dwyer was simply an innocent abroad - out of his depth maybe, but he must have known that his buddies in Bolivia had more than paint balls in their guns and a more serious agenda than simply videoing and harassing locals.

New stuff includes the following photographs stated to be of Tibor in action working for IRMS in Mayo:

[CENTER]

Quite a few of us would agree with following observations:

There is also another, more dangerous side to the private security industry in Ireland. Because it is so poorly regulated, with licensing and background checks totally inadequate, people who see themselves as ‘soldiers of fortune’ or ‘mercenaries’ could work in the private security industry in Ireland without any license or official clearance, allowing them to keep under the radar while working in their chosen field. While working in security in Ireland they are then free to train, make connections and plan for more lucrative work abroad in armed security. Revesz, from his CV, described himself as a ‘private entrepreneur’ before he began working for IRMS. Then, when in the employment of IRMS, Revesz is running armed courses and recruiting IRMS members for work in Bolivia which involves firearms. After introducing his fellow travellers to Flores in Bolivia, Revesz then returns to Ireland and resumes his employment of IRMS. Within a few weeks he is again organising armed courses in Hungary for members of ‘Charlie Team/Foireann Cahill’, a name which appears to have been borrowed from one of the IRMS security details on the Corrib gas project.
    There is also more detailed information on Tibor's activities, which presumably is based on good first-hand evidence:

One would have thought that the Private Security Authority, the Department of Justice and our police, An Garda Síochána, would have been quite concerned at these events and eager to get to the bottom of what was quite obviously a threat to democracy here and abroad. Quite quickly it became obvious that the opposite was the case – they just didn’t want to know. The Private Security Authority engaged a PR company to cover up its lack of progress on implementing its regulations on vetting and licensing, and avoided dealing with the problem altogether; An Garda Síochána, unable to admit there was something which warranted investigation, also ignored the situation. They had not acted almost a year previously on a barrage of complaints from locals in the vicinity of the Corrib pipeline landfall where Revesz was operating. Not even complaints by local people whose children were clearly filmed on Glengad beach by the compound security, nor a case where Tibor Revesz was filming people around the village of Glengad from an undercover car, were dealt with. When cases involving private security and protesters came in front of the District Court Judge, Mary Devins, it was found that the majority of security personnel who came before her were not licensed at all. One IRMS employee accused of a public order offence had a criminal record and should never have been employed as a security guard. In one case, locals spotted two men taking pictures around the village from their car, when they went down to investigate, the car took off towards the compound at high speed with the two locals in hot pursuit. The gate was opened for the arrival of the oncoming car, and in closing it behind this car, it came into contact with the chasing car. The two gatekeepers suffered injuries and the pursuer received a four year driving ban from the district court. The passenger in the car taking the photographs, which disappeared into the compound, was no less than Tibor Revesz, yet he was never even called to give evidence by An Garda Síochána.
    Meanwhile, anti-Shell 'thug' and 'bully' Pat O'Donnell is on his 107th day of imprisonment for his crimes. The video of Pat being tailed and provoked by what appear to be IRMS employees is still online: [ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=npNxpNiVaG4&feature=related"]Security harassment of Pat O'Donnell[/ame] What if any action has the Private Security Authority taken in relation to this and similar incidents?
    Last edited by El Libre; 28th May 2010 at 08:59 AM. Reason: Add comments

'I'd have to say that the Pipe piece undermines rather than confirms the view that Michael Dwyer was simply an innocent abroad - out of his depth maybe, but he must have known that his buddies in Bolivia had more than paint balls in their guns and a more serious agenda than simply videoing and harassing locals.'

I have tried to explore Michael Dwyer's acquaintances rather than making judgments on Mike, and you are quite entitled to your opinion on Mike, I neither agree nor disagree with you but present the facts as I see them. I do express the view that he was unlawfully killed, and that people who were in part responsible for him being in the situation he ultimately ended up in, have gotten off scot free from the Irish authorities, and both the Gardai and the PSA are in some way culpably also.

I very much appreciate the information I have been able to access as a result of other politics.ie posters, including yourself, who have done a fantastic job, and I hope that information I have contributed to this discussion will help to bring events in Bolivia under the spotlight. Whatever people may think about Mike's involvement in the Flores terrorist cell, the Dwyer family do deserve to know the full facts surrounding their sons murder.

Quote Originally Posted by Galtee View Post
    'I'd have to say that the Pipe piece undermines rather than confirms the view that Michael Dwyer was simply an innocent abroad - out of his depth maybe, but he must have known that his buddies in Bolivia had more than paint balls in their guns and a more serious agenda than simply videoing and harassing locals.'

I have tried to explore Michael Dwyer's acquaintances rather than making judgments on Mike, and you are quite entitled to your opinion on Mike, I neither agree nor disagree with you but present the facts as I see them. I do express the view that he was unlawfully killed, and that people who were in part responsible for him being in the situation he ultimately ended up in, have gotten off scot free from the Irish authorities, and both the Gardai and the PSA are in some way culpably also.

I very much appreciate the information I have been able to access as a result of other politics.ie posters, including yourself, who have done a fantastic job, and I hope that information I have contributed to this discussion will help to bring events in Bolivia under the spotlight. Whatever people may think about Mike's involvement in the Flores terrorist cell, the Dwyer family do deserve to know the full facts surrounding their sons murder.
    +1

The Dwyer family have suffered and will continue to mourn the loss of their son.

Unfortunately, should investigations point to extra judicial killing, it will be but one more in a long line of such; one remembers Mairead Farrell etc.

The facts at the moment appear to point to the unfettered use by IRMS of the Shell sites in rural Mayo as definitely recruiting grounds and probably training grounds for murky mercenaries.

This was allowed to continue despite many complaints from concerned people to both the cops and the PSA, it was airbrushed by the O Cuiv/Ryan 'Funny Forum' and the only people in jail today are Pat O'Donnell (111 days) and Niall Harnett (41 days).

'Tis a great little country surely ...