Page 179 of 453 FirstFirst ... 79129169177178179180181189229279 ... LastLast
Results 1,781 to 1,790 of 4527
Like Tree9Likes

Thread: Irish 'involved' in Bolivia 'assassination attempt'

Quote Originally Posted by cactusflower View Post
    To summarise, and add some more information:
    He is also a very major shareholder in the petroleum gas firm Transrede SA, which is a Shell/Enron partnership. The US government has invested heavily into Enron's activities. Shell's interests in Bolivia have recently been nationalised by the Bolivian Government.

Until otherwise clarified, the possibility that by an ironic coincidence, Michael Dwyer was in some sense of other still working for Shell when he died, can't be ruled out.
    it exactly the opposite of ironic coincidence, its as likely to happen as night follows day.

luddite culchies disrupting progress in ireland and must be forced out of the way
    luddite culchies disrupting progress in bolivia and must be forced out of the way
    What does the Irish President spend their time doing. Work in progress

Quote Originally Posted by Utopian Hermit Monk View Post
    I notice, for example, that several of the recent recruits to p.ie, who are posting almost exclusively on this thread, appear to be South American. At least one, Ih8politics (23 posts), who posted the photo of Toaso in the Buganvilla Hotel, along with a helpful comparative photo of a room from the same hotel, appears to be the author of the blog 'Okrim Opina', and has another blog entitled 'Socialist Bloggers of Venezuela'. I say this because 'Okrim Opina' posted the very same photo of Toaso and the very same link to the very same photo of the Buganvilla Hotel (from the Trip Advisor site) at the Bolivian blog, 'Aullidos de la calle'.
    I don't see odd about relying on the Bolivian blog for information, it doesn't mean that a person is in Bolivia.

There's another photo on that blog, one that's been there for a while, which shows Mike Dwyer and Elod Toaso (along with two other poeple who've been obscured) in a hotel room in the Hotel Buganville.

Politics.ie Regular merle haggard's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by toxic avenger View Post

I have it from my journalist friend in Caracas that there are Venezuelan 'advisers' in Bolivia already, and that Chavez is fully ready, at the invitation of Morales, to go in and take on these people if they do declare secession. If the Venezuelans do go in, the European Nazis are f*cked, they'll be wiped out. If such an eventuality becomes likely, Obama will be advised to let these Santa Cruz people know, through the undoubted State Department and CIA contacts that they have, that the Americans will be staying well clear. But the Venezuelans, as I have it (from a pro-Chavez journalist), are deadly serious.
    this is true and absolutely no secret . Hugo Chavez has been making this abundantly clear for the past 18 months . Bolivia has the usual latin american problem of a far right and priveleged officer class in its army . For example it transpired that immediately upon Evo Morales election as president Bolivian army officers contacted the CIA and brought them in to completely dismantle the countrys entire stock of surface to air missiles , its only system of air defence . Utter treason and treachery .
    What the venezuelan advisors are doing are creating a new cadre of officers from scratch from among the lower ranks as well as providing training and military aid . Theres also a pact which will trigger a venezuelan military response to any attempt to remove the morales governemnt or dismember Bolivia . And since Hugo has expended a serious amount of dosh on upgrading his armed forces with the most modern of russian equipment , mig fighers , attack helicopters etc it means any intervention would be extremely serious business .

Quote Originally Posted by jjcarroll View Post
    I like this bit of logic.

You think you are dealing with mercanaries who have access to the hotel CCTV. You are worried that they are monitoring it constantly, and that if they see the arrival of a shed load of cops they will react. This is all based on the theory that the mercenaries are on alert.

So, to prevent them seeing you on the CCTV, you kill it. So, instead of seeing a group of cops bailing into the hotel, the mercenaries screen goes blank. So, the mercenaries are looking at a blank screen - so they know something has happened to the CCTV. They know that it wasn't a power cut, as the reports don't refer to a power cut but rather to the CCTV exclusively being disabled. Something tells me, that that might be expected to suggest to our alert mercenaries that something is a bit amiss.

Unless of course, you think the mercenaries are particularly stupid or weren't paying attention to the CCTV. But, if you believed that, why bother fiddling with the CCTV.
    or they might just think there was something wrong with their computer and not know what was going on . When my computer starts acting up i dont assume an armed raid is aout to take place , i just curse electronic s.hit . Same when the telly , dvd or playstation acts up .

Quote Originally Posted by PetevonPete View Post
    Because if your are a Sir Anto lickarse, which dispite this article Jim most certainly is, you don't dare say anything that might upset Shell
    given that the British lord is himself involved in precisely the same business as shell - plundering Irish oil and gas resources for free due to the same arrangements shell made with bertie ahern and Joe Burke it might be worth finding out which security company the British lord is employing to look after his interests . A reputable one surely .

[quote=Utopian Hermit Monk;1600852]

Well this kind of case, involving the killing/imprisonment of citizens of four countries (Ireland, Hungary, Romania, Croatia) by another country's police force hardly arises (apart from war scenarios) very often.
    leaving aside the fact only 3 people were killed , its irrelevant . It doesnt matter whether one or 3 were killed , or 5 . Bolivian sovereignty is the issue , not the infrequency of foreign mercenary operations . To permit foreign countries the right to investigate is an absolute affront to their sovereignty . To permit these specific 4 countries with their right wing corrupt neo liberalist governemnts that pretty much the entire world would regard as puppets of the US state department to investigate a case would be stupid beyond belief . To permit the police forces of these countries to make observations which would aid the fascists of santa cruz if they made the observations the CIA and US state department would presumably want them to make , would be the dumbest move imaginable . Dumber than dumb . Simply put those 4 countries , particularly Ireland and Croatia , could not be trusted to investigate in an even handed manner . The US state departments hand would be firmly up their jaxies at every turn . And in Irelands case we have shells relationship with fianna fail also .

And Northern Ireland is supposedly part of the UK, but I'm sure some people felt 'occupied' by the British Army.
    the difference being that the 6 counties are actually in a seperate country to britain - Ireland - and not located somewhere around the lake district of england . Nobody started talking about santa cruz being a different country to Bolivia until an Indian got elected as president of Bolivia a couple of years ago and started messing with peples priveleged status . your comparison is absolute bollix .

I said that in the context of a comparison with detective movies. I am not, at this stage, accusing Mr. Morales of complicity in a crime.
    you asked who benefitted from the crime . In detective movies when they catch the bad guys they dont call that a crime .

Just want to say that this is probably the most interesting and investigative thread I've ever read on politics.ie!! While some of it is chaff... a lot of it is eye-opening and a good alternative source to the lightweight press on this particular issue.

Great thread. Excuse me while I speculate...

If Shell or wealthy interests in Santa Cruz really wanted Morales dead couldn’t they have employed more professional assassins? Flores, the leader of the group, was more Walter Mitty than Carlos the Jackal and the rest of the group were total amateurs. Why bankroll them? They were obviously not up to the job.

Is setting up someone to fail unheard of?

Blackwater manager blamed for 2004 massacre in Fallujah - Local & State - News & Observer

…if tensions are raised and the enemy made look bad then maybe the job is done and a future reprisal can be made look justified.

Or is the inept nature of this attempt a good sign as it shows certain groups are operating without expert advice that used be available.

End of speculation.

On a more local level, Shell has employed violent neo-Nazi subversives with links to armed mercenaries to protect their controversial project. Regardless of where a given person stands on the Corrib project, shouldn't it concern them that the assistance of such unsavoury and dangerous characters is being sought to handle a group of protesters, Irish citizens? The gardai and media are complicit in their acceptance of this reality, particularly with regard to the recent assault and hospitalisation of a member of the Shell to Sea group by seven men. The Irish government have also availed of the services of IRMS, the security company that acts as an agency for these subversives/mercenaries. Why is this not being spoken about more?

Sorry if I muddle up the thread but has this post on Stormfront been mentioned

White Nationalist killed trying to assasinate Bolivian president - Stormfront

It seems the poster Byzantium... knows mike, or so he claims.

In his signature he has a link to the murky IBA;

IBA Bodyguards- The Oldest & Largest Bodyguard Organisation - About IBA Bodyguards

Are there any known links between I-RMS and IBA? They both seem to have fairly extensive international contacts.

Quote Originally Posted by bwhelan View Post
    Sorry if I muddle up the thread but has this post on Stormfront been mentioned

White Nationalist killed trying to assasinate Bolivian president - Stormfront

It seems the poster Byzantium... knows mike, or so he claims.

In his signature he has a link to the murky IBA;

IBA Bodyguards- The Oldest & Largest Bodyguard Organisation - About IBA Bodyguards

Are there any known links between I-RMS and IBA? They both seem to have fairly extensive international contacts.
    we have had that link before and he definitely claims the tatoo as a nazi tatoo. But now that I read it again he seems very confident that Dwyer was a White Nationalist. It does suggest that he at least knew of him, if he did not actually know him.