Page 12 of 453 FirstFirst ... 210111213142262112 ... LastLast
Like Tree9Likes

Thread: Irish 'involved' in Bolivia 'assassination attempt'

Quote Originally Posted by mothball View Post
    All of them were in their underwear. The shootout looks to have been very one-sided.
    Whatever the case is, he was alongside some decidedly dodgy characters. Well dodgy if what is said about their past is true.

We should wait and see what comes out. Those of us old enough remember the pure lies that came out immediately after many incidents in the 6 co.s and how it took weeks and sometimes months for the truth to emerge.Personally I have little faith in the words of politicians no matter which end of the spectrum they appear from.

Politics.ie Royalty toxic avenger's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by jdaly View Post
    We should wait and see what comes out. Those of us old enough remember the pure lies that came out immediately after many incidents in the 6 co.s and how it took weeks and sometimes months for the truth to emerge.Personally I have little faith in the words of politicians no matter which end of the spectrum they appear from.
    This is true, and Morales has form in this regard. Reports into previous 'assassination' attempts have been suppressed. Those of us who remember what happened to Diarmuid O'Neill in London some years ago will know not to jump to conclusions on this one...

Politics.ie Regular Utopian Hermit Monk's Avatar

from the Times piece:

Readers of Mr Dwyer’s social networking site would, however, be forgiven for mistaking him as a bit of a misfit with Walter Mitty tendencies.

He describes himself as “travelin, workin, doin a bit a dis and a bit a dat” and lists his sports as “kickboxing, kravmaga, pistol shootin”.

He adds:”Got a new tattoo. Its hugh (sic) and sore!!!!” and says that he is scared of “god damn south American insects. There as big as freakin cats man”.

Mr Dwyer’s site says he is happiest when “cruising in my new bmw in south America” and, in answer to the question “What assassin are you?” answers “The Jackal”, a film character portrayed by Bruce Willis.

In answer to another question, “What type of gun would you use?” he answers:”9mm/silenced. Good weapon and easy to obtain being the simply finish the job guns used around the world”. He also describes himself as a sniper.

In recent days, friends and possibly family had posted messages asking him how he was and when he was coming home.

"a normal 24 yr old lad"?

I'm sorry your friend made some very bad choices, 'angry irish', but Mr. Dwyer's friends and family ought to have been doing a lot more than sending him Bebo messages asking how he was and when he was coming home!

It’s a bit confusing alright. International assassins don’t usually keep profiles on social networking sites that portray an interest in military affairs. I think the charge of “misfit” would be the worse that could be said about him.
    Possibly a bunch of eejits set up for the chop.
    Last edited by mothball; 17th April 2009 at 07:13 PM. Reason: Unnecessary idle speculation

The journalist is wrong calling him a misfit, he was clearly well loved and liked by many people including those close to him. I don't know what the hell happened out there, but from the site page he strikes me as having been neither a loner nor particularly strange (he liked guns and the like, which is inexplicable to me, but then so are people who obsess about car parts or computer-geekery). I have the impression of someone who fell in with people, as a result of his interest, that he shouldn't have, leading to this. But I doubt we'll know the full picture for some time yet, and I won't be relying solely on what the Bolivian authorities say.

Quote Originally Posted by liamfoley View Post
    The Bolivian president is Chavez without the charisma. There is a new wave of anti-democratic left wing movement in South America
    Where are these "anti-democratic left wing movements" springing up liam?

Quote Originally Posted by Utopian Hermit Monk View Post
    from the Times piece:

Readers of Mr Dwyer’s social networking site would, however, be forgiven for mistaking him as a bit of a misfit with Walter Mitty tendencies.

He describes himself as “travelin, workin, doin a bit a dis and a bit a dat” and lists his sports as “kickboxing, kravmaga, pistol shootin”.

He adds:”Got a new tattoo. Its hugh (sic) and sore!!!!” and says that he is scared of “god damn south American insects. There as big as freakin cats man”.

Mr Dwyer’s site says he is happiest when “cruising in my new bmw in south America” and, in answer to the question “What assassin are you?” answers “The Jackal”, a film character portrayed by Bruce Willis.

In answer to another question, “What type of gun would you use?” he answers:”9mm/silenced. Good weapon and easy to obtain being the simply finish the job guns used around the world”. He also describes himself as a sniper.

In recent days, friends and possibly family had posted messages asking him how he was and when he was coming home.

"a normal 24 yr old lad"?

I'm sorry your friend made some very bad choices, 'angry irish', but Mr. Dwyer's friends and family ought to have been doing a lot more than sending him Bebo messages asking how he was and when he was coming home!
    Everything here is taken out of context, also his profile never said he did "pistol shooting" it said "Airsoft"

Also the assassin and sniper applications are quite normal and allot of people have these on theirs.

I personally do not believe that Mick was involved in anything of the suggested nature.

I have also known him for a number of years, he is a good person and would not hurt anyone.

Rest in Peace Michael

Quote Originally Posted by toxic avenger View Post
    The Times' David Sharrock has filed a piece based on the bebo site:
    Irishman killed after 'plot to assassinate Bolivian president' - Times Online

If the two lads here who know the dead young fellow have a problem with any of it then they should e-mail him and (politely) correct the record before it moves into print later...
    There is one aspect of the Times story that is nuts. How could a 24 year old Irish guy have fought in the Balkan wars of the mid 90's for the Croats? He would have been only around 10 years old ffs!!! Unless he is significantly older than 24, is the age correct?

La Prensa, a Bolivian newspaper, described the Irishman, whom it named as Michael Martin Dryer, as a soldier of fortune who fought in the international brigade of the extreme right-wing Croatian Liberation Movement during one of the conflicts which followed the collapse of Yugoslavia.

Unfortunately yes, the age is correct

Quote Originally Posted by kerrynorth View Post
    There is one aspect of the Times story that is nuts. How could a 24 year old Irish guy have fought in the Balkan wars of the mid 90's for the Croats? He would have been only around 10 years old ffs!!! Unless he is significantly older than 24, is the age correct?
    Does it say that? One of the Hungarians involved in the incident apparently fought with the Croatians, I assume against both the Serbs and the Bosnians, that's probably what is meant...