Page 3 of 10 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Iraq-stockpile of nuclear weapons?

Re: Iraq-stockpile of nuclear weapons?

Quote Originally Posted by Rocky
    I think the US, Britain, France, Russia and China are enough and all trustworthy.
    Russia and China arent trustworthy, China and Pakistans regiemes in particular can only be describe as tyrannical dictatorships and both are nuclear powers.

Quote Originally Posted by watch-this-drive
    Quote Originally Posted by Rocky
    I think the US, Britain, France, Russia and China are enough and all trustworthy.
    Russia and China arent trustworthy, China and Pakistans regiemes in particular can only be describe as tyrannical dictatorships and both are nuclear powers.
    As I said in the next sentence

They all have them anyway and due to the strength of Russia and China there is feck all we can do about it.

I don't support Pakistan having them in any way.
    "Give us the future, we've had enough of YOUR past, Give us back our country, to live in, to grow in and to love..."

do you think when there is external pressure on a country democracy and accountablity becomes less important?
    so have they the right or not to develop nuclear weapons?
    Ok,allow me to repeat myself:
    Quote Originally Posted by nixmix
    No Government should have the right to develop any WMD irrespective of public opinion.
    However,I think given the sabre rattling coming from US and Israel it is understandable that they may want to have nukes. Why should the US and its allys hold all the aces?
    Therefore in this instance they have a right. And I am aware of the contradiction.

Quote Originally Posted by "watch-this-drive
    so you find sympathy for Ahmadinejad when he blames the Jews because its popular in the Muslim world and you put words in Bushs' mouth that he never said - all Arabs are terrorists - to fiind an equivalence.
    Seriously, the world knows Bush has said many many stupid things, why on earth do you have to make something up to prove anything?
    Cant you work with things he actually said? Would they make the case for you?
    Do you really think he ever said anything like all Arabs are terrorists?
    Did I say that I sypmathise with him and those views?
    And you're quite right Bush didnt say that and nor did I state that he himself said that. You really are reading too much into my comments. I am stating how I interpret certain events, is that ok? Or would you prefer if we all think the same as you?

Quote Originally Posted by "rocky
    We are the West i.e. the EU and the US and they are Iran the country I used in my example. Where was the confusion?
    I asked that because it highlights the us vs them mentality that is very common and is cetainly very dangerous. I say it is dangerous because I believe we should be looking at what we all have in common as human beings rather than what sets us apart.

And you may consider us as part of the 'West' but that does not automatically mean that everyone in the 'West' has the same belief structures.

Quote Originally Posted by "rocky
    Have they ever threatened to wipe a country off the map, have they ever threaten to nuke a country in the last fifty years and it was a different situation with Japan and WWII? They are stable democracies and for the reason I explained in my post we need some countries to have nuclear weapons. I do think there should be quite a few though. I think the US, Britain, France, Russia and China are enough and all trustworthy. They all have them anyway and due to the strength of Russia and China there is feck all we can do about it.
    No the US has never threatened to wipe a country off a map but they have been far more underhand than that. Through their support for corrupt governments(El Salvador),dictatorships(Saddam back in the day) and terrorist organisations(mujahedin..and we all know where the weapons and training went to best use after the USSR left Afghanistan) that has ensured that millions of people across the world have had their lives irreparably destroyed by US foreign policy. That is certainly something to be proud of eh!
    Economic Left/Right: -8
    Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -2.56

Quote Originally Posted by badinage
    That's a stupid argument.
    yeah, but its great when these guys (Rock/Nixmix) show up for a hiding
    That about says it all about your mentality. Well done,keep up the good work!

If I was the Iranian President, I'd be looking at the viciousness America has wrought on Iraq, and I'd be working double quick to attain Nuclear weapons, to defend my people. Both Israel and America have threatened Iran, the Iranians have a right to defend themselves.
    Just 1 gram of cocaine destroys 4m2 of tropical rainforest. Give it up ya selfish b'stards.

Quote Originally Posted by Bogwarrior
    If I was the Iranian President, I'd be looking at the viciousness America has wrought on Iraq, and I'd be working double quick to attain Nuclear weapons, to defend my people. Both Israel and America have threatened Iran, the Iranians have a right to defend themselves.
    Well said.
    Isnt it sad to realise that there are so many people out there who have their heads buried so deep in the sand that they dont understand why there is so much hatred towards the US and Israel?
    There is no smoke without fire. The antipathy is not there by accident it is there because they have chosen to look outside the box and what they see is a brutal superpower with no respect for the common good of man.

Therefore in this instance they have a right.
    is this right only derived from external factors?
    how can you afford the unelected leader for life ali khomeini this right that you obviously would never afford to our elected Taoiseach?

Did I say that I sypmathise with him and those views?
    you explained as being popular

And you're quite right Bush didnt say that and nor did I state that he himself said that. You really are reading too much into my comments. I am stating how I interpret certain events, is that ok? Or would you prefer if we all think the same as you?
    you set up your equivalence and there was a very obvious flaw in it - do you really think Bush thinks all, or most, Arabs are terrorists?: : :

I asked that because it highlights the us vs them mentality that is very common and is cetainly very dangerous. I say it is dangerous because I believe we should be looking at what we all have in common as human beings rather than what sets us apart.

And you may consider us as part of the 'West' but that does not automatically mean that everyone in the 'West' has the same belief structures.
    Of course not, I spend enough time arguing here with people who disagree with me to do that plenty of people believe in many different things. It was just simple example and simple use of words like us and them, you're reading well too much into it.

No the US has never threatened to wipe a country off a map but they have been far more underhand than that. Through their support for corrupt governments(El Salvador),dictatorships(Saddam back in the day) and terrorist organisations(mujahedin..and we all know where the weapons and training went to best use after the USSR left Afghanistan) that has ensured that millions of people across the world have had their lives irreparably destroyed by US foreign policy. That is certainly something to be proud of eh!
    Ok I could debate a lot of that especially Afghanistan, but I'll leave that for another day, but either way does any of that tell you that there is a chance that the US will use WMD without a bloody dam good reason?
    "Give us the future, we've had enough of YOUR past, Give us back our country, to live in, to grow in and to love..."

If I was the Iranian President, I'd be looking at the viciousness America has wrought on Iraq, and I'd be working double quick to attain Nuclear weapons, to defend my people.
    what makes them his people?

If I was the Iranian President, I'd be looking at the viciousness America has wrought on Iraq, and I'd be working double quick to attain Nuclear weapons, to defend my people.
    what makes them his people?
    Fellow Iranians. (don't know why I even replied to that)
    Just 1 gram of cocaine destroys 4m2 of tropical rainforest. Give it up ya selfish b'stards.

Page 3 of 10 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast