Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Enda Kenny in UL

DOD

Enda Kenny in UL

Enda kenny addressed a meeting in UL last night. You could tell the FG party people. The suits were out, they gave their leader a standing ovation, (as opposed to non members and the odd few renegade YFGrs who stayed sitting.) and gave him an introduction that would definitely have you checking the colour of the chairman's tongue afterwards.

As per usual, Enda spoke poorly. One thing I have always noticed with Enda, is that he has a good speaking voice, but a really dull tone. What one got when hearing him speak was this 'nice guy' trying to come across as a hard hitting politico. One would be forgiven for thinking Eddie lenihan had had a shave and taken elocution lessons, all we got was a series of stories on the way things were. Little was given however, in terms of Fine Gael position. For those of us who thought Enda kenny could do the unthinkable and complete a thirty minute speech without launching into a broadside on SF, had our dreams shattered, when he let us know the full 'facts' of the Robert McCartney killing. (needless to say he had thoroughly checked that there was no bias in the account he was given in the short strand), there then followed a q & A session, where he avoided admitting he opposed civil unions for gays.
    "John Bull has got his hand down your pants and his fist around your bollox and you can't see it."

Re: Enda Kenny in UL

Quote Originally Posted by DOD
    Enda kenny addressed a meeting in UL last night. You could tell the FG party people. The suits were out, they gave their leader a standing ovation, (as opposed to non members and the odd few renegade YFGrs who stayed sitting.) and gave him an introduction that would definitely have you checking the colour of the chairman's tongue afterwards.

As per usual, Enda spoke poorly. One thing I have always noticed with Enda, is that he has a good speaking voice, but a really dull tone. What one got when hearing him speak was this 'nice guy' trying to come across as a hard hitting politico. One would be forgiven for thinking Eddie lenihan had had a shave and taken elocution lessons, all we got was a series of stories on the way things were. Little was given however, in terms of Fine Gael position. For those of us who thought Enda kenny could do the unthinkable and complete a thirty minute speech without launching into a broadside on SF, had our dreams shattered, when he let us know the full 'facts' of the Robert McCartney killing. (needless to say he had thoroughly checked that there was no bias in the account he was given in the short strand), there then followed a q & A session, where he avoided admitting he opposed civil unions for gays.
    He said he had recently visited the short strand and spoke to the McCartney sisters. Which part of his "broadside" do you wish to dispute?

I saw him In NUI, Galway a few years back (two maybe) and he was very unimpressive aswell.
    Struck me as a nice guy who would make a lovely Junior Minster for Toursim or something. Not a leader of a country I'm afraid.
    "Consistency is the last refuge of the unimaginative."
    Oscar Wilde

there then followed a q & A session, where he avoided admitting he opposed civil unions for gays.

You obviously weren't paying attention!
    He stated twice, in response to two seperate questions, that he supports civil unions for gays!

Its party policy for gods sake!
    See:
    http://www.finegael.ie/newsuploads/CivilPartnership.pdf

It was also FG policy for the 2002 general election.

Please pay attention if you intend to quote people from public meetings
    "The IRA Army Council have a history of telling the truth. If they say they didn't do it, then I believe them" - Bertie Ahern, speaking after the murder of Det. Garda Jerry McCabe

Listening to Empty Enda makes me sleepy.

"Thank you........that was...me farting......by Chopin!"

Why should my tongue be checked Donal, I don't recall telling any lies in my intro?

DOD

Quote Originally Posted by BarryW
    there then followed a q & A session, where he avoided admitting he opposed civil unions for gays.

You obviously weren't paying attention!
    He stated twice, in response to two seperate questions, that he supports civil unions for gays!

Its party policy for gods sake!
    See:
    http://www.finegael.ie/newsuploads/CivilPartnership.pdf

It was also FG policy for the 2002 general election.

Please pay attention if you intend to quote people from public meetings
    Sorry, Barry, but the statement "I am opposed to Gay Marriage, but I certainly understand there are issues concerning property rights", doesn't sound like a huge endorsement to me.

MickeyC
    I meant your tongue should be checked to see how Brown it is. In fairness he's your party leader, I'd be surprised if you weren't licking his arse.

Merriwether,
    As for the Short Strand, he spoke to a few people and gave their story as fact. Considering he always rubbishes as a lie or empty promises, any statement by Gerry Adams and the SF leadership, (who were the ones that initiated the peace process in the first place) why does he not check his sources before coming out with these 'facts?'

It's funny how Fine Gael never give two hoots about the 6 counties, until there is SF bashing to be done. The last time ye were in power, ye threw every single obstacle you could in the way of the process.

Another thing that fascinates me, as the second most right-wing party in the state (moderately less so than the PDs), how do ye really expect people to believe that FG will make any REAL change to people's lives. All ye have going for ye in terms of an alternative is that on paper ye will be in with Labour and the Greens as opposed to the PDs. Ye yourselves have nothing 'radical' to offer. There is one other issue where I will cout ye some slack. In Dan Neville, ye seem to have someone who really cares about mental health issues, if in government, he were to get a portfolio to allow him make changes there, then that would be something very positive that all right-minded people could support you on. (I mean what does party politics matter to the grieving mother, wiping her sons brains off the wall.) As for your general principles however, .
    "John Bull has got his hand down your pants and his fist around your bollox and you can't see it."

Quote Originally Posted by eurocrat
    I saw him In NUI, Galway a few years back (two maybe) and he was very unimpressive aswell.
    Struck me as a nice guy who would make a lovely Junior Minster for Toursim or something. Not a leader of a country I'm afraid.
    Have to agree with you there. He spoke to our year a few months back. After he left and we were wlaking out I heard someone ask "who was that loser?". A teacher was also giving out to some guy for actually falling asleep.
    That said, the free FG Pens we got went down a treat

DOD

Quote Originally Posted by Pidge
    That said, the free FG Pens we got went down a treat
    Right, thats it! I have to get on to Gerry. A free I still hate Thatcher tee-shirt for every secondary student.

Thats the one SF bookshop tee shirt I liked...

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast