Page 1 of 15 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: FG Ard Fheis - Leaders Address

FG Ard Fheis - Leaders Address

Today is a big day in the long career of Enda Kenny. Due to a number of reasons, none more so than the fact that the Irish electorate are very unlikely to re-elect any government, he finds himself in the position of a man capable of becoming taoiseach. But its not that simple for him, he has to convince people a) he can lead a better government and b) he can be a better taoiseach; easier said than done.

Not wishing to overplay the importance of last weeks poll but one thing is certain there are a lot of voters out there who are undecided between the two larger parties as the swing in the past few polls identified. This suggests to me that the FG vote (apart from the core) are most likely dissatisfied with the job the government are doing but are not overly convinced that FG have proved they could do a better job in office. If I were advising Kenny or involved in writing this evenings speech I would be looking to included 3 specific measures that Kenny and FG would put forward as measures they would make necessary for agreeing a programme for government, and I would put them in the areas of Health, Education and Justice. Issues such as taxation and social spending and the north etc are redundant from the opposition point of view but there are serious areas where they could score some points.

In relation to health I would like to hear him address the issue of consultants and their stranglehold and not simply list off the problems and the old drunk tank idea. With Education the issue of compulsory Irish in the LC will dominate the headlines but will there be an announcement of a specific programme of investment in any areas that deviates from current government policy? Likewise in Justice is there anything that Kenny will be proposing in relation to the issues facing gardai - murders, crime detection rates, road deaths that will deviate in a serious way from current government policy.

The point I am making is that for Kenny tonight he has an opportunity to not only raise the profile of the party as any Ard Fheis does but he has an opportunity to address the ordinary voters who will not be on this website getting links to FG policy posted at them when FG are criticised. The perception of FG has been, in my mind, that they are not offering an alternative just simply throwing mud (reference poster campaign) and its time Kenny addressed that if he is to be taken seriously. I would suggest today is the Kenny‘s biggest day since becoming leader, he needs to capture the electorates imagination and he needs to do it fast, this will not be done by standing up later tonight and listing off the numbers on trollies, class-sizes, numbers killed on the roads, number of labour inspectors and so on.

I believe the next election result is all to play for and a lot of people will have a better idea if FG are in the game by the end of today.

Re: FG Ard Fheis - Leaders Address

Quote Originally Posted by Biffo
    I would suggest today is the Kenny‘s biggest day since becoming leader, he needs to capture the electorates imagination and he needs to do it fast, this will not be done by standing up later tonight and listing off the numbers on trollies...
    In his speech, Bill Towmey has claimed that the A&E crisis must be solved by changes in work practices and providing more step down facilities i.e. FG have no intention expanding Acute Bed Capacity.

This makes FG policy re. the A&E crisis identical to FF/PD policy.

It would appear to me that FG's only problem with FF is that FF don't appear capable of implementing the policies that FF and FG agree on. If that's the case, I can't understand why all the FG TDs don't just join FF. They'd have a huge majority in the Dail and they'd be able to show the FF TDs how to implement policy more efficiently.

The fact that thye insist on being in a separate party suggests to me that they have an alterior motive for wanting to be in power.
    The only way to change the world is to win elections.

London (aka Lisbon Treaty/PD demise émigré)

Tonight will be important for me determining my view of FG. I have a lot of time for the party in many ways but the 'Ireland deserves better' posters and general propensity to moan and not be constuctive is really annoying me
    "I thought that I had a duty to help those that weren't as lucky as me." -- John Hume

Politics.ie Founder David Cochrane's Avatar
    @

I'll put the text of the speech online once I get my hands on it (shortly).

But I thought it was excellent.
    Follow Politics.ie on twitter:

What was with all the references to technology at the start? He seemed almost confused by them, like a grumpy old man complaining about kids!

Quote Originally Posted by campbeca
    Tonight will be important for me determining my view of FG. I have a lot of time for the party in many ways but the 'Ireland deserves better' posters and general propensity to moan and not be constuctive is really annoying me
    I was genuinely impressed. I thought it was going to be putrid after 10 mins when all he had done was say 'ireland is great' 'health is a national disgrace' 'the government is tired'..... and so on.

It picked up with big time with a few concrete proposals (well laths of wood painted to look like steel but he did produce something).

I was surprised that he didnt do anything really on transport/education. The health/justice stuff works but FF having 80 seats is a far bigger issue than the PD's 8.

I'll have to sleep on the idea of politicians setting minimum sentences. It may rapidly become a 'race to the top' as to which party can seem harshest on crime.

Sadly only 1 YFGer got a close up that I can remember. Come on lads fight for your publicity rights!

The massive TV was a bit OTT

There were empty seats

The sign language woman was a nice touch
    "I thought that I had a duty to help those that weren't as lucky as me." -- John Hume

Good speech, thought it was a little un-electrifying in terms of delivery, but there’s no doubt Kenny has improved his public speaking skills. I was surprised there were empty seats in the hall.

In terms of content, it was interesting to see the two main attack points were Health and Justice / PD Ministries. The “read my lips – no tax increases” line could come back to haunt him down the line... will be interesting to see what Rabbitte has to say there.

I was a bit unnerved by his habit of looking directly into the camera. Didnt work for Brian Lenihan, wasnt working for Kenny.

Well delivered speech though.
    "Nixon is PRO-WAR and PRO-FAMILY" - Nixion's head (Futurama)

Brian Hayes is normally very good but using his 2 mins of fame to talk about great Mayo men was madness!

PS

very unconvincing performer - major credibility problems and the idea of him leading a FG/Lab/Green + some others coalition is frightening!!

Page 1 of 15 12311 ... LastLast