Thread: Kenny advises FG voters to pass on preferences to Labour: This Week

Kenny advises FG voters to pass on preferences to Labour: This Week

On This Week, Radio 1, this lunchtime Enda Kenny advised that FG voters pass on their preferences to Labour candidates in the Local, European and by-elections in June. He said he was giving this advise despite the fact that their is no reciprocal arrangement with Labour on a voting pact.

It would have been a bigger surprise if he had told them to give preferences to FF or the Greens.
    If engineers were wrong as often as economists, would anyone fly aeroplanes?

Politics.ie Regular Iarmhi Gael's Avatar

More mixed messages coming out of Party HQ. Why then last night say FG were the only party which could Guarantee etc etc....

He positioned himself against Labour there - now bringing them in together again. Poor stuff HQ.
    Fianna Fail Arrogance -

myk

Quote Originally Posted by kerrynorth View Post
    On This Week, Radio 1, this lunchtime Enda Kenny advised that FG voters pass on their preferences to Labour candidates in the Local, European and by-elections in June. He said he was giving this advise despite the fact that their is no reciprocal arrangement with Labour on a voting pact.
    FG usually do this I think, apart from when Labour were in government with FF. They certainly did it in the last locals and Europeans and in the 2002 general election. No surprise to be honest. If I was voting this time out it would be the way I would vote.

Quote Originally Posted by Iarmhi Gael View Post
    More mixed messages coming out of Party HQ. Why then last night say FG were the only party which could Guarantee etc etc....

He positioned himself against Labour there - now bringing them in together again. Poor stuff HQ.
    Not really - if you want FF out, the surest way is to vote FG. Labour leave their options open - if FF were to vote for Gilmore for Taoiseach, I'm sure he would accept their support. I don't believe that FF could ever vote for a FG Taoiseach. The most likely result of an election is FG + Labour or FF + Labour, I don't see any of the small parties having enough seats to feature.

Quote Originally Posted by myk View Post
    No surprise to be honest. If I was voting this time out it would be the way I would vote.
    You may be able to get a postal vote.

myk

Quote Originally Posted by wombat View Post
    You may be able to get a postal vote.
    I can't from here!

No surprise really Kenny is dependent on Labour to get into Government.
    True politics is the art of the impossible.

myk

Quote Originally Posted by Iarmhi Gael View Post

the two positions are perfectally consistant. you vote your first preferences for FG because they won't go into gov with FF, you continue preferences for Labour, because FG in government are likely to need Labour support.

Quote Originally Posted by myk View Post
    I can't from here!
    Unless you are a Diplomat or a civil servant, member of the defence forces or Gardai who is required as part of your job to be abroad at election time then there is no postal vote.