Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Kenny 'feeling strain' after parliamentary party clash

Kenny 'feeling strain' after parliamentary party clash

Miriam Lord reports that a 'very fracticious' meeting of the FG parliamentary party last Tuesday led to seperate sharp exchanges between Enda Kenny and two of his TD's, Lucinda Creighton and Ulick Burke.

Questioning if Enda is 'feeling the strain', Lord reports that Kenny took a pot shot at Lucinda about the positive coverage she received in the Sindo in comparison to himself in the run-up to GE 2007. Claiming Kenny's outburst 'patronising', Creighton walked out of the meeting visibly upset.
    Next up, Ulick Burke criticised the intergration of Ciaran Cannon into FG leading Enda to bark "I went out on a f*****g limb for you!" back at Burke.
    Ah, 'fracticious party meetings', party leaders 'effing and blinding, walkouts and dissafected TD's leaking like sieves in preparation of a putch...
    thankfully for Kenny and his 'strain' he only has his parliamentary party to manage rather than the country
    Miriam Lord's Week - The Irish Times - Sat, Mar 28, 2009
    "Be advised, my passport's green / No glass of ours was ever raised / To toast the Queen." Seamus Heaney 1982

"I'm a bit of a green myself" Charles Haughey 1989

Jesus...its gas how loads of these "anti FG" threads appear any time FG are up in the Polls!!!

Politics.ie Regular White Horse's Avatar

I dunno. It read to me like Kenny has balls.

Politics.ie Regular west'sawake's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Barbarian View Post
    Miriam Lord reports that a 'very fracticious' meeting of the FG parliamentary party last Tuesday led to seperate sharp exchanges between Enda Kenny and two of his TD's, Lucinda Creighton and Ulick Burke.

Questioning if Enda is 'feeling the strain', Lord reports that Kenny took a pot shot at Lucinda about the positive coverage she received in the Sindo in comparison to himself in the run-up to GE 2007. Claiming Kenny's outburst 'patronising', Creighton walked out of the meeting visibly upset.
    Next up, Ulick Burke criticised the intergration of Ciaran Cannon into FG leading Enda to bark "I went out on a f*****g limb for you!" back at Burke.
    Ah, 'fracticious party meetings', party leaders 'effing and blinding, walkouts and dissafected TD's leaking like sieves in preparation of a putch...
    thankfully for Kenny and his 'strain' he only has his parliamentary party to manage rather than the country

Good God attacking Lucinda! Whatever will John Waters think of that?

This might actually be good for Kenny, a bit of passion at last. I was beginning to fear he was like that Character Bitzer in Hard Times, 'if you cut him open he would bleed white'

Remember the infamous Hot Press Interview Charlie haughey did in the 80s, that there were a few f-ckers throats he would like to slit, and P.J Mara in a panic afterwards, real Don Corleone stuff, and it didn't do him any harm at all.
    Last edited by west'sawake; 29th March 2009 at 02:07 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Barbarian View Post

This is minor in comparison with the vicious infighting in the government over cutbacks.

Quote Originally Posted by west'sawake View Post
    This might actually be good for Kenny, a bit of passion at last. I was beginning to fear he was like that Character Bitzer in Hard Times, 'if you cut him open he would bleed white'.
    Very true, a bit of white rage from Kenny might do him no harm at all.
    Although if a party leader is 'putting the stick about' he needs to respected by his TD's and Senators - otherwise he's giving hostages to fortune by allowing a TD originally from his own county and a neighbouring TD to feel he is part of their problem and worthless as an ally.
    Leaks from a sensitive parliamentary party meeting and a young woman TD calling the leader patronising hardly instills the belief that Kenny rules with a rod of iron.
    "Be advised, my passport's green / No glass of ours was ever raised / To toast the Queen." Seamus Heaney 1982

"I'm a bit of a green myself" Charles Haughey 1989

Kenny has been in the Dail so long that he offers nothing new and will not make it to high office. The daggers are drawn for him but the wolves are biding their time.

If you read on in Miriams piece it seems that Enda is

1) a knob for responding to objective criticism by Lucinda of the media strategy employed by FG, with a personal comment (eg. playing the man not the ball - maybe he's one of the many posters on here who do similarly?)

And

2)his 'defence' of Lucinda was hardly required of him:

Miriam wrote:
    "As for that cryptic comment, we understand that Enda maintains he had to defend his deputy to a Sindo journalist after he allegedly made disparaging comments about why a young, blonde and female deputy might possibly get more coverage in his Sunday organ than a middle-aged male politician."

The scenario here must have been that Kenny was giving out about his own poor coverage in the Sindo compared with Lucinda, and the Sindo journalist in reply made a sexist comment about the sexist editorial policy of his paper, eg. "why do you think a young blonde female got better coverage than you Inda?" and Kenny is now saying that in that situation he 'defended' Lucinda - how? the conversation was obviously about Kenny's weakness so how did it turn into him needing to defend Creighton? Defend her from what - being an unwitting benefitee of the Sindo's shi.te old man lechorous editorial policy??

He's a total dope.
    I have opinions of my own - strong opinions - but I don't always agree with them. - George Bush

Politics.ie Member FutureTaoiseach's Avatar

Are FG returning to their old ways? Are they about to once more snatch defeat from the jaws of victory, through a reversion to fratricidal strife?

Politics.ie Royalty toxic avenger's Avatar

They're in dire need of a change of leader. The man is as convincing as a door. Bruton should be in charge.

Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast