Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678

Thread: FG TDs as corrupt as FF

Quote Originally Posted by followmylips View Post
    Blind loyalty is poor judgement. As far as I know Donegal County Council have spent alot of money on road safety and this fool is putting himself forward to represent the people. Comparing it to beaking a window when he was six is a a cop out. It's ok to do it BEFORE you enter politics, a sort of an amnesty. I see in the newspaper report that his solicitor mentioned everything except to say he was a councillor. He told the court that he needed the licence to work as lorry driver, he doesn't work as lorry driver , I live in Ballybofey and know that he cannot as he has given it up. Hypocracy.
    firstly he works as a lorry driver part-time. he couldnt do both. secondly loyalty me arse. i just cant see how if someone enters politics at 40 years of age every single thing they did before that should be considered. 3 years ago and the reason it was brought up about lorry driving is because that was his profession at the time. ill tell you one thing if the other councillors in the area were held to the same standards that your expecting off reid ballybofey wouldnt be such a ******************** hole! Nd being from the area I know!

Im afraid your argument doesnt stand up.The case was made that he needed the licence now to earn a living and the judge said that, he didnt say its because he needed it 3 years ago.I wouldn't fancy you defending me, Id end up in jail for a parking offence. All things must be considered when choosing a candidate, your logic would mean that a paedophile or a convicted murderer can stand for FG as the crimes were committed before they joined the party. Get a life you loser.

jaysus easy on!! well he doesnt work part-time as a lorry driver for the craic, he does it to put money in his pocket, councillors dont earn that much that you could raise a family on it!
    there is a bit of a difference between murderin someone and dangerous drivin, yeah if he had have killed someone, might be a different story. look its against the law no matter what your job is, to do what he did but what im tryin to say is he shouldnt be held to a higher standard now for something he did 3 years ago and all your comments above neglected to state that it happened long before he was a councillor. where do you draw the line... politician with no seat belt on, speeding....its all wreckless but the amount of politicans that have penalty points is unreal

Politics.ie Regular Oppenheimer's Avatar

The salient point in the article... "which is available unvouched to all government deputies." it is the system that is corrupt and people will use it (some say abuse it). Our public representatives, local and national, are protected by an archaic system that no business in the country well run or otherwise would accept as it is completely inefficient in proactively managing costs.

And if anyone gets on here and says TDs don't have the time to fill out expense forms, they are too busy.....well I'll...........effin, effin, grrrrr......!
    We are "they"

Quote Originally Posted by TradCat View Post
    The fact that people from FG are defending them is deeply worrying. I was going to vote for that party but it looks like the only difference between them and Fianna Fail is opportunity.

Are they going to be paying back the money they stole from us?
    Maybe there is an acceptable level of corruption, tut tut , can we not find a nicer word for it?

while not ethical behaviour, and rather distasteful; comparing it to the likes of our corrupt FF jet setting overlords is typical FF grasping.

they put an end to it gracefully.

not like our John 'I've done nothing wrong, I leave office with my held head high' O Donoghue

Nobody is as corrupt as FFer's. That is a universally accepted law.

Quote Originally Posted by daveL View Post
    while not ethical behaviour, and rather distasteful; comparing it to the likes of our corrupt FF jet setting overlords is typical FF grasping.

they put an end to it gracefully.

not like our John 'I've done nothing wrong, I leave office with my held head high' O Donoghue
    So Dave there IS an acceptable level of corruption
    Last edited by noelg; 1st February 2011 at 04:16 PM.

They refused to pay it back, and they refused to take pay cuts. They would fit nicely in to FF.

Quote Originally Posted by ellie08 View Post
    Nobody is as corrupt as FFer's. That is a universally accepted law.
    Ellie I have just scrolled up to see that alas I have wandered on to a FG worshippers part of politics.ie. FF are corrupt because the system allowed them to be corrupt. That means you and I. We get what we deserve. We have now had enough. It is time to change our political system and ensure that there are sufficient controls, and penalties to prevent this happening ever again. It is possible.
    Now to bury your head in the sand and say we are not as bad as them, while partially correct, is also because of lack of opportunity ie. one term in government at a time. In councils all around the country corruption is rife across all parties, and council officials. Now let's get rid of FF and the problem will go away? Dream on.

Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678