Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: If only we had the 94-97 government now!

If only we had the 94-97 government now!

I voted for a return of the 94-97 government in the 97 election. It takes a lot to get me out to vote, cynical about the motives of politicians that I am. However I thought that was a good government possibly the best in the history of the state. Its record speaks for itself.

On average a 1000 jobs created a week (contrast with the 2000 lost a week of the current government).

The introduction of the 12% corporation tax which encouraged billions of investment in Ireland creating jobs and industry not just for high tech staff but for thousands of people in the services industry such as catering, security and trades. It was the government which created the Celtic Tiger, a high tech economy based on sustainable GDP growth as opposed to the unsustainable bubbles created by FF governments. Incidently, FF opposed the low corporation tax, thanks lads, really supporting the creation of jobs!

It was responsible for getting the Luas project up and running.

It brought in free 3rd level education.

For the first time in decades under Rauri Quinn we had budget surpluses, when FF always ran a budget deficit.

That government set Ireland on the right tracks to prosperity when all FF were capable of was cutbacks and backhanders and helping out their rich supporters.

And yet while it was probably the best government in the history of the state and the current FG leader Enda Kenny was a senior member of that cabinet, rising to the position through merit, we still have people outrageosly say that FG/Labour are no good on the economy.

I will repeat, 1000 jobs a week created under that government, 2000 a week lost under the current government.

Budget surpluses under that government. 12 Billion deficits under this government.

Who then is truely better on the economy, FG/Labour or FF?

The only reason that government was not returned in 97 was that the electorate remembered Labour's opposition to FF before 92 and punished them in 97, that's the only reason I can think of, but it was the greatest tragedy that the 94-97 government wasn't returned and given its record on the economy we wouldn't be where we are today if they were.
    Last edited by junketman; 19th January 2009 at 11:29 PM.

if only. If only!!!

My favourite government evar.
    Never let the best be the enemy of the good.

Let's see what Judge Moriarty has so say before judging it. But i suppose there are many middle class graduates of free third level education who will cheerlead for the government during who's term the IRA ceasefire ended. But they will probably take their example from the charismatic leader of the time - don't mention the f@c@ing peace process. Or his best friend forever. Or the greatest day of his life when the bonnie prince visited.Ah, nostalgia isn't what it used to be.

Quote Originally Posted by Question R24U View Post
    Let's see what Judge Moriarty has so say before judging it. But i suppose there are many middle class graduates of free third level education who will cheerlead for the government during who's term the IRA ceasefire ended. But they will probably take their example from the charismatic leader of the time - don't mention the f@c@ing peace process. Or his best friend forever. Or the greatest day of his life when the bonnie prince visited.Ah, nostalgia isn't what it used to be.
    John Bruton played a significant role in the peace process, as did Dick Spring, and the reason for the ending of the ceasefire was more to do with an internal stuggle in the IRA than anything else.

I for one, as I am sure everyone else is, am tired of hearing how Bertie single handedly secured peace in Ireland, the process was at a very mature stage when Bertie came along.

Secondly you neatly changed the subject from the economy, which FF have and always will be a disaster on. Northern Ireland won't save FF from the disaster that looms for them at every ballot box from hereonin.

The greatest mistake this country made was putting FF in power in 97, today we reap the misfortune of that decision. We repeated the mistake in 02 and 07. Will we repeat it at the next election. Most people get better with practise and I am willing to believe some people voted FF because they asssumed wrongly that FF had the practise in government and so were better able to deal with the crisis. Unfortunately FF have this ability to get worse with practise, a unique ability exclusive to FF it seems. They have brought this nation to the brink of economic collapse and still people say they are better on the economy, better on northern ireland, all the old lies respun at every election. Its something of an irony that everyone is going to the North to do their shopping, people prefering to shop there than in this FF lead bananna republic. Ah but sure if we vote FF maybe they will lead us out of the bananna republic, or maybe they are better at managing a bannana republic than FG or better at clearing up the mess they made than FG.

But you will always have the old brainwashed diehards, who refuse to abandon the ship even when it appears the captain and the officers already have done so.

John Bruton was kicked out, goodbye

Politics.ie Regular flavirostris's Avatar

I agree - the 94-97 Rainbow govt was one of the best in the history of the state. John Bruton proved himself to be an excellent Taoiseach and Ruairi Quinn was an extremely competent minister for finance. The 1997 election was I think the key election in the last 15 years because it opened the door for Fianna Fail's return to hijack the Celtic Tiger and claim it as their own. When I think of the sickening soft focus attention given to Ahern back in '97 it almost makes me heave. He got an incredibly easy ride from the media - one of the tabloids had him on the front cover kissing some bird in Galway. And of course there was the "payback time" editorial in the indo. After he got in, there was no getting rid of him, while the economy continued to boom and in Michael Noonan's words he was like "the cock that crowed", who carried on as if he was responsible for the Sun rising. But he did it on the back of the hard work of others, namely the Rainbow govt.

Politics.ie Regular fionnmccool's Avatar

What did Bertie really do for the North other than have his photo taken ?
    As far as I can see, its the combatants who sat down together and hammered out a workable agreement. They are the ones who deserve the credit. If I would give anyone from FF the credit for helping peace in the North , it would be Albert Reynolds, a man who achieved something in the real world of business and who I think was a good Taoiseach.
    Can anyone remember what was the difference between the substance of the FF and FG election campaigns for 97 ? Did one of them propose to tax less or spend more if elected ?

Quote Originally Posted by turdsl View Post
    John Bruton was kicked out, goodbye
    Actually it was more dick spring was punished for doing a deal with the devil in 92 and Labour didn't have the numbers.

No matter how bad FF get they still have their supporters, a core vote and some of the floating vote who cast a ballot for them. The reason why we are in the mess we are in today is solely down to the FF core vote who will vote FF no matter how incompetent they are. This will always be the downfall of this country. but yeh see ya.

Quote Originally Posted by junketman View Post
    Actually it was more dick spring was punished for doing a deal with the devil in 92 and Labour didn't have the numbers.

No matter how bad FF get they still have their supporters, a core vote and some of the floating vote who cast a ballot for them. The reason why we are in the mess we are in today is solely down to the FF core vote who will vote FF no matter how incompetent they are. This will always be the downfall of this country. but yeh see ya.
    OMG (as people too young to remember those arrogant days might say) you are being sincere! I thought you were taking the mick with your talk of surpluses (there was only one), Luas up and running and funniest of all refering to the minister for tourism as senior. I will leave you alone to write your revisionist history of the 97 election (it was all about 92 - ffs) and not cause you labour and fg hacks to think of brian cowen's face during your circle jerk..

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast