Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Urgently Need a Fine Gael led Government

Politics.ie Member Supermanpolitician's Avatar

Urgently Need a Fine Gael led Government

I know this is going to tick off everybody who isn't FG, but unless people have their heads in the sand, this is a must.

The current government have done nothing but mmake one balls up after another. Given the contrasting performances of James O'Reilly v Mary Harney, Richard Bruton v Brian Lenihan and Enda v Biffo, is there anybody left in the country who honestly thinks that FG would not do an infinitely better job in government.

I know FFers will rather die than admit it (ironically, this could be achieved with the current government's health cuts) but the country is crying out for people with just a little bit of cop on and common sense.

my biggest worry would be that FG get into power in the next 12 - 18 months, start to make the unpleasant decisions and starts to turn things around, then along comes a GE in a few years and FF lie through their teeth about what FG has done, how good things were under FF and how much more they will provide, that people will vote them in again (as lets be honest people are generally stupid in this regard) and hey presto after a little while we're back in the same complete mess again courtesy of FF gombeen politics and financial mismanagement....

Quote Originally Posted by drbob1972 View Post
    my biggest worry would be that FG get into power in the next 12 - 18 months, start to make the unpleasant decisions and starts to turn things around, then along comes a GE in a few years and FF lie through their teeth about what FG has done, how good things were under FF and how much more they will provide, that people will vote them in again (as lets be honest people are generally stupid in this regard) and hey presto after a little while we're back in the same complete mess again courtesy of FF gombeen politics and financial mismanagement....
    Interesting, but that would be concerned more about FG than the country. Once in it would be up to FG to manage their image. But the country needs more prudent management urgently.

Quote Originally Posted by drbob1972 View Post

Kinda sums up the FG problem - they cannot understand why they aren't in government - the conclusion they draw is that it's the fault of the "generally stupid" electorate and the nasty lying FFers who are just mean not fair ! Who needs to get who's head out of the sand (or anywhere else)?

That said I have repeatedly questioned WTF BC, BL et al are up to at the moment 'cos it sure ain't leadership !

Quote Originally Posted by adrem View Post
    Kinda sums up the FG problem - they cannot understand why they aren't in government - the conclusion they draw is that it's the fault of the "generally stupid" electorate and the nasty lying FFers who are just mean not fair ! Who needs to get who's head out of the sand (or anywhere else)?

That said I have repeatedly questioned WTF BC, BL et al are up to at the moment 'cos it sure ain't leadership !
    Interesting point again. So while you would blame FG for not being in government (and that is a debate for another day) you would agree that it would be a better run country if they were.

Stop fecking whining! You wanna be in government, win a damn election. I know it's been 26 years since you've done it but you can't expect us to suspend the constitution just to give you lads a shot.
    Freedom, Tolerance & Equality of Opportunity

Economic Left/Right: -1.25
    Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -1.33

Quote Originally Posted by Munion View Post
    Stop fecking whining! You wanna be in government, win a damn election. I know it's been 26 years since you've done it but you can't expect us to suspend the constitution just to give you lads a shot.
    First FF backlash. Expected. Like a wounded beast.

FG will most probably win the next election so don't worry about that.

As the title of the thread says, I am asking if we urgently need a FG led govt to shore up the mistakes of FF.

But lashing out by you guys is to be expected.

I would agree that if there was a general election now FG would win but they would also take the bulk of the blame for the massive cuts that will be needed over the next 3 years.
    It really is up to Cowen et all to show why exactly people thought it was better to vote for better the devil you know.
    If they continue to self terminate themselves and ignore real reform in the areas they control then a GE is inevitable.
    Politically it is better for FG to wait on the wings like the Tories across the water but as a matter of getter us out of the mess they should be stepping up next year to force the election.

Quote Originally Posted by Supermanpolitician View Post
    First FF backlash. .
    ex PD of course

FG would just do what FF would do.

only difference would be who's businees mates were looked after.

THATS your problem. no one believes there a damn bit of differance between the two. with prehaps competence.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast