Page 3 of 15 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

Thread: Doctor Leo Varadker

Quote Originally Posted by Turncoat(Defeated Romanticist)
    I really hope Varadkar becomes leader of FG. Go Leo!

Over-all majority here we come
    Actually, you'd likely be out of power with Varadkar in FG. He would help win back the urban middle class vote that FG lost in '87. Combine that with the increasing rural populist vote and we're into mid 60s territory. Then it's just a matter of doing the business with Labour and/or the greens and/or SF.

Just make sure ye guys have a Dublin leader to neutralise the effect.
    Ireland Her Own and All Therein, From the Sod to the Sky - James Fintan Lalor

Varadkar is just starting out. He has done well so far and managed to irk the usually unflappable Bertie Ahern.

However, people shouldn't get ahead of themselves. What about Richard Bruton? In my humble opinion, he is one of FG's best assets. If anyone is being lined up as a leader-in-waiting it should be him.

Quote Originally Posted by jerryp
    What's the ethnic minority he's from , rich Dubs who do not live on southside ?
    Would still like to know what makes him a member of an ethnic minority. Checked the FG website and he seems to be a native . Wait, has he an All-Ireland medal ? That is stretching it, though.

I have waited to the reaction and as I guessed

"Racist Ireland raises its ugly head again"

Quote Originally Posted by wise_old_owl
    I have waited to the reaction and as I guessed

"Racist Ireland raises its ugly head again"
    Jaysus, none of ye will sleep tonight after that rebuke

What's the ethnic minority he's from , rich Dubs who do not live on southside ?
    Would still like to know what makes him a member of an ethnic minority. Checked the FG website and he seems to be a native . Wait, has he an All-Ireland medal ? That is stretching it, though.
    I think his father is Indian. I've met the guy and he seems to have his feet on the ground, more like Ivan Yates than John Deasy, a few radio interviews won't go to his head.
    If engineers were wrong as often as economists, would anyone fly aeroplanes?

Politics.ie Regular Defeated Romanticist's Avatar

[quote=Fr. Hank Tree]
    Quote Originally Posted by "Turncoat(Defeated Romanticist)":1gzu91af

Actually, you'd likely be out of power with Varadkar in FG. He would help win back the urban middle class vote that FG lost in '87. Combine that with the increasing rural populist vote and we're into mid 60s territory. Then it's just a matter of doing the business with Labour and/or the greens and/or SF.

Just make sure ye guys have a Dublin leader to neutralise the effect.[/quote:1gzu91af]
    I prefer Quisling actually .
    We said the same thing about MacDowell. Varadkar is the most obnoxious man there's ever been.
    Liquidate labour, liquidate stocks, liquidate the farmers, liquidate real estate.

Ive met a Leo a couple of times, canvassed for him once, and tracked his work in FG/YFG so to speak. I think he's very competent, an exceptionally hard worker, articulate, and principled. However this talk of leadership is way too soon and pretty preposterous really.

He is only in the Dail a few months, and hasnt reached 30. As another poster on this site commented, Leadership would seem to neccesitate a good deal of experience regardless of competence, intellect, charisma etc.

Alan Dukes could conceivably be said to be of the same calibre a politician, but arguably it was his lack of experience that lead to his premature ousting as Leader, with the party being less off because of it.
    Ireland interests are best secured within a more dynamic EU. Vote YES to Lisbon.

Re: Doctor Leo Varadker

Quote Originally Posted by wise_old_owl
    There is talk in FG circles that Dr Varadker is the leader in waiting.
    Varadkar's the anti-Kenny: he's been in the Dail a wet week and has managed to penetrate the Taoiseach's teflon. Kenny's been a wet blanket in the Dail for 35 years and hasn't made a mark at all.

[quote=Quisling it is so][quote="Fr. Hank Tree":f15lnoh2]
    Quote Originally Posted by "Turncoat(Defeated Romanticist)":f15lnoh2

Just make sure ye guys have a Dublin leader to neutralise the effect.[/quote:f15lnoh2]
    I prefer Quisling actually .
    We said the same thing about MacDowell. Varadkar is the most obnoxious man there's ever been.[/quote:f15lnoh2]

Ah come on, the PDs didn't have the same level of organisation or critical mass as a party the size of FG would have to match McDowell's ego and delusions of self-grandeur.

McDowell wasn't an alternative Taoiseach. Also what damaged McDowell was all his dithering and ethical ambiguity. McDowell as leader of FG would, arguably, have been a force to be reckoned with.
    Ireland Her Own and All Therein, From the Sod to the Sky - James Fintan Lalor

Page 3 of 15 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast