Page 3 of 25 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast
Like Tree94Likes

Thread: Leo Varadkar, off his head or just an idiot?

Pity the nation divided into into fragments, each fragment deeming itself a nation - Khalil Gibran

STFU. Leo and Creighton are the future and are the most sensible politicions there. You just like to criticise for critic's sake... do us all a favour and stfu!

Quote Originally Posted by Mr Aphorisms View Post
    A few days ago -I'm paraphrasing him now - he said something like this regarding the increase in the V.A.T: "People should be spending all they can now before the next budget. I know I will. I've got suit"S" at home that are worn out and a computer that's about 7 or 8 years old, so I'll be looking to buy soon."

Now, Leo, people are not worrying about fixing their decrepit computers or getting a new 500 euro suit. People are worried this Christmas about their kids having not decent toys under their tree, keeping their homes or just surviving on what they have.
    In that case, how come we have many many shops that sell suits, and computers, and all sorts of other, somewhat expensive, consumer items? And how come so many of those shops are still in business? I'll tell you why. I remember reading a piece by an international economist once, and the jist of what he said was that throughout modern history, even in the worst of economic crises, the vast majority of people stayed in their jobs and got on with their lives. And that's the case in Ireland, too. Otherwise all those suit shops and computer stores would be gone. Its actually quite tiresome to hear people go on as if the whole country is starving, and that its somehow wrong to go out and spend money that other people can't spend, by virtue of them not having it. Yes, people's wages may have fallen. Yes, they're paying more taxes. But anyone on a tracker mortgage, for instance, is now paying a couple of hundred a month at least LESS in repayments, and that translates into disposable income. And if you go out shopping any day of the week - around town, or Liffey Valley, or the Pavilions, or Whitewater in Newbridge, you'll see plenty of people spending plenty of money. You'll see 11 reg cars, and 10 reg, and 09 reg. Because, as that economist said, the vast majority of people still have jobs and are getting on with their lives.

Fair play to you, you're a doctor, and you're a Minister, but please don't try and equate your idiotic worries about suits and computers with people on social welfare and families struggling with mortgages.
    He didn't, though. And not everyone is on social welfare, nor is everyone struggling with their mortgage. And I don't see the logic behind wanting those who aren't struggling to pretend that they are.

Not content with that stupid statement, Leo had to augment his status as class clown. So there I am on the bus home today and I turn over to page 12 in the Daily Mail(a paper more concerned with putting Glenda Gilson, 31, with some singer 18, asking for her number on the front page, then the E.U fiscal union plans) and Leo is at the bottom under an article about Michael Jackson. The man, in all his insanity, makes an audacious claim that he can run 10km in 38 minutes. Apparently, it was a mistake by one of his aides, in fact, it's 7km at most. Even at that, judging by his frame, he doesn't look the sort that could accomplish that. But he said he looked a bit nasty on tele when he entered the Dail, so he lost a couple of kilo's and is now a runner as well as a doctor and walking out with cups for G.A.A finals.
    So one of his aides made a mistake, and meanwhile Varadkar is trying to keep fit. Sorry, am I missing something there? Is there something else?

The man is so out of depth with reality, it's untrue. Then, he's complaining that he has to work 14 hours a day, 6 days a week and has to drag himself out of bed after about 4 and a half hours sleep. Why did you take the job then?
    Would you work 14 hours a day six days a week without ever complaining? I doubt it.

Then, to finish off a most remarkable article, it finished with more folly: "Sometimes there's just too much to do and I have to just close my eyes and say to myself, you can't do everything, and if people expect you to, it's not fair. Just do everything you can."
    That seems fairly logical to me. What part of it do you disagree with?
    "Elite - a small superior group; esp one that has a power out of proportion to its size." (Oxford English Dictionary)

The majority cannot therefore be the elite.

Quote Originally Posted by babyblue15 View Post
    STFU. Leo and Creighton are the future and are the most sensible politicions there. You just like to criticise for critic's sake... do us all a favour and stfu!
    that is one bleak looking future
    redhead and TropicalCandy like this.

Quote Originally Posted by peter barrins View Post
    Not sure about Leo - given his age and inexperience I'm much more inclined to give him leeway than many of the experienced and seasoned hacks who can play the game and watch their words, but are ultimately useless. As for Lucinda - "cute hoor" comes to mind everytime I listen to her. If she was male I'd call her a codger - not sure what the female equivalent is!

I used to be really anti-Leo, seeing him as the classic spoilt, frat-boy right-winger--an odious combination....

But I have warmed to him over time.

He is growing up before our very eyes---a young guy getting to grips with stuff.

He is willing to learn--a rare trait in people generally, never mind politicians.

He blurts out stuff--some of it true--like my 16 year old son....

When he becomes "mature" and learns to speak as a silver-tongued devil, watching his weasel words and biding his time, waiting for the main chance----well, we will know that he has become a "real politician", ready for the top job...

Quote Originally Posted by Mr Aphorisms View Post
    I was actually going to post the link to that scene where she makes an arse of herself on Vinny. the way she thinks she knows everything and those faces. Sends shivers down my back.
    Would appreciate that link if you still have it. Thanks.

Politics.ie Regular TheYouthVote's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by babyblue15 View Post
    Joke?
    Please donate to a good cause. I've donated more than 100 euro but whatever you can afford helps

I appreciate I am going to be berated for this, but he is the hottest piece in the Oireachtas (not that that's saying much either).
    It's when they're giggling and posing roaring laughing at old ladies' 'witticisms' or have tears welling in their eyes at the funerals of people who's names they can't even think of, that's when you know the game is up.

Quote Originally Posted by Chadster View Post
    that is one bleak looking future
    Not only that, it appears to be a future devoid of grammar and spell check.
    Thanks to the poster who taught me to use the ignore list!

Like a cheap cologne, the smell of smug off Leo is occasionally overpowering. But the smell of ninny off the OP would stiff a squirrel at ten paces...
    drkpower likes this.

Page 3 of 25 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast