Page 1 of 13 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Fine Gael's new front bench.

Fine Gael's new front bench.

Ok FG people it looks like Enda won't be Taoisech tomorrow sadly we're gona have to wait a little while longer!!

Anywho who do you think should be given what positions and who do you think should be promoted and demoted?
    First of all I strongly believe that Michael Noonan should be given a meaty post like health, education or justice.
    He should definitely be promoted as he is a man of integrity and intelligence and a good political performer.
    FG should not be afraid to promote him, most people have forgotten that it was him at the helm of our last electoral disaster and also in relation to health, I know the McCole scandal is a liability for him but that was over 10 years ago and he has acknowledged he made the wrong decision at the time.
    I think Sean Barrett should be promoted but not be given anything too meaty, just have him on the front bench, he'll add a bit a depth and experience like Noonan.
    What about Shatter, im personally not a fan of his but he will probably be brought up, but to what post I don't know.
    As for the young ones we need to bring a few of them to the Front Bench, I think Leo Vardrakar should be brought up but I don't think he is ready for the Health portfolio yet.
    Lucinda should be brought up as well
    Also I don't think Hayes should be given Health on a full time basis.

As for those who should be dropped or demoted;
    Coveny - dropped I think he's crap he can't string two words together.
    Enright - she should be demoted, she's too much of a lightweight for my liking.
    O'Keefe - hmm this is a difficult one im undecided whether he should be dropped or demoted as a result of his crime figures howler.
    Allen - dropped or given something insignificant.

So what do you think who would make it onto your front bench?

Re: Fine Gael's new front bench.

Quote Originally Posted by the leader
    Ok FG people it looks like Enda won't be Taoisech tomorrow sadly we're gona have to wait a little while longer!!

endof? Taoiseach? Surely a Joke?

Anywho who do you think should be given what positions and who do you think should be promoted and demoted?
    First of all I strongly believe that Michael Noonan should be given a meaty post like health, education or justice.

He's a has been, it seems strange with all teh "new" "young" Talent that FG are supposed to have that you would look to an old failure to be on the dreamers bench

He should definitely be promoted as he is a man of integrity and intelligence and a good political performer.
    FG should not be afraid to promote him, most people have forgotten that it was him at the helm of our last electoral disaster and also in relation to health, I know the McCole scandal is a liability for him but that was over 10 years ago and he has acknowledged he made the wrong decision at the time.
    I think Sean Barrett should be promoted but not be given anything too meaty, just have him on the front bench, he'll add a bit a depth and experience like Noonan.

Depth ? as in bottom of the barrell?
    Experience? was he minister for anything substantial ever? oh yeah, neither was Inda!

What about Shatter, im personally not a fan of his but he will probably be brought up, but to what post I don't know.

Gate post perhaps? as in tied to?
    As for the young ones we need to bring a few of them to the Front Bench, I think Leo Vardrakar should be brought up but I don't think he is ready for the Health portfolio yet.

Health? Guffaw!! Guffaw!!! isnt the little schoolboy from tallaght writing the essays here? Brian former senator somebody?

As opposed to being well brought up?

Course he should, he'll be cannon fodder for Mary Harney

As opposed to whom?

Seriously would anybody notice ? or care?
    O'Keefe - hmm this is a difficult one im undecided whether he should be dropped or demoted as a result of his crime figures howler.

Ah yes bumbling Jim, Cmann Na Gaedhal isn't he?

Dropped? from what height exactly?

Who cares? 5 more years of ineffectual opposition!!

Right, I'm off to the OPW car pool, come on lads last one there gets the hybred!!!!!!!!!!!!

Oh its good to be the King!!

Re: Fine Gael's new front bench.

Quote Originally Posted by the leader

Hmmm...your post highlights well some of the challenges facing FG. I think there is a serious lack of political talent in the FG ranks.

As a FF voter, I am loath to offer too much advice, but in the interests of fair discussion, I would suggest the following:

1. Nobody should be appointed to the Front Bench unless they would be available to serve in Government in 2012 - therefore Jim O'Keefe, Michael Noonan, any others who are unlikely to stand again should not be considered.

2. Shatter, for me, exemplifies one of the reasons FG are not stronger. He comes across as pompous, morally superior, self-important. There are plenty others in FG. Some in Labour too of whom Pat Rabbitte is the most glaring. O'Caolain in SF also fits this bill.

3. It's worth bringing Creighton onto the front bench straight away. Heard her on Radio, thought she batted well.

4. Don't know much about the other new recruits, but a few of them should be blooded.

5. Deasy should not be considered. His lack of loyalty means he shouldn't be rewarded with a place on the front bench; if he causes mischief again, he should be expelled from the parliamentary party.

Even I don't like either Creighton or Vardrakar, FG would be stupid not to promote these two up-and-comers.

Noonan should never be forgiven for what he did to the party. He's done well as chairman of the public accounts committee, but there is absolutely no way he could redeem himself after nearly killing Fine Gael.
    The standard of excellence is an infinite suggestiveness, naturalism is the one thing to be condemned.

Creighton Vardrakar Hayes Noonan and Clown will get the top Front Bench Posts and well deserved

Quote Originally Posted by wise_old_owl
    Creighton Vardrakar Hayes Noonan and Clown will get the top Front Bench Posts and well deserved
    And will the country be a safer / better place? No!!

Another 5 years of anonymous opposition.........who really cares about who FG have as spokespeople? when govt serves a 5 year term, the people forget who the shadows are.

[quote=MacO'velli]
    Quote Originally Posted by "wise_old_owl":353cxt82
    And will the country be a safer / better place? No!!

Another 5 years of anonymous opposition.........who really cares about who FG have as spokespeople? when govt serves a 5 year term, the people forget who the shadows are.[/quote:353cxt82]

I think you've made this point more than once.
    We all payed attention the first time, there's no need to remind us constantly of your political incisiveness.

Whatever you say about Shatter he is an intellectual tower and will be of great service to the country in the next Dáil. I don’t think anybody likes him – afterall he makes his money getting juicy divorce settlements for scorned members of the 1st wives club. That said he has written two landmark books on family law and divorce and is the only member of the opposition in the last 20 years to get private members bills enacted as legislation. That takes supreme skill when you are pretty much on your Sweeney todd doing the work. In Shatter’s case I believe he has had 3 or 4 bills enacted which I would be surprised if anybody else could come close to matching.

I am a small c conservative but as with McDowell and Joe Higgins you don’t have to like somebody or agree with their politics to recognise they have a valuable and worthwhile contribution to make.

If FG get rid of Frank Flannery they will do the business

I think you've made this point more than once.
    We all payed attention the first time, there's no need to remind us constantly of your political incisiveness.[/quote]

Ah yes, some one from FG playing the higher moral/higher Intellectual/ up your own A**e ground again. and you guys are plausible contenders for Govt?

With 2 less seats than 2002 the slide is downward............political wilderness is a sourgrass place.

Page 1 of 13 12311 ... LastLast