Well said Respvblica.Originally Posted by Respvblica
Ireland Her Own and All Therein, From the Sod to the Sky - James Fintan Lalor
Much as I am delighted to see Bertie sliding away...
"Give Enda a chance FFS. In a republic we should be elevating the most humble the most modest and the most honest to power."
This is ridiculous. Kenny, nice guy though he is, has never been a particularly effective national politician.
He's also bigged himself up on many occassions, so the "most humble, most modest" shtick doesnt, erm, shtick.
Besides, if we were to elevate the most humble and modest, it wouldnt be a politician.
thankfully there are less bookmakers than voters,
he may be the bookmakers favourite , but hes not the voters !!!
He doesnt need to be. He just needs 83 seatsOriginally Posted by justified
“If you elect a matinee idol mayor, you’re going to have a musical comedy administration.” -Robert Moses
What experience of government did Tony Blair have before being elected Prime Minister of Britain in 1997? Go on and answer, I'd be fascinated to hear your answer.Originally Posted by ditchhurler
Ye sound increasingly like the Tories did in 1997. FF is skewered and they will spend the next two and a half weeks blaming everyone else and attempting to persuade people that they are still a viable government.
FF isn't.
Get over it.
Ireland isn't a one party state.
Deal with it.
Have you ever seen a poor Bookie?Originally Posted by justified
Very stupid remark.
There was a remark recently that if you want to know the next British PM look at the bookies. 100% record over the last 9 British election and from memory have been on the ball for all previous elections in the Ireland since 1982
Fianna Fail Arrogance -
According to Paddy Power, Bertie is 10-11 and Kenny is 11-10.
Don't forget you get €15 if you have a flutter on Paddy Power through Politics.ie (click on the ads on the site!)
Bertie Ahern 10 - 11
Enda Kenny 11 - 10
Follow Politics.ie on twitter:
And if you fancy Enda Kenny it's better value to bet on Paddy Power than on Betfair.
Kenny is 2.06 favourite on Betfair but 2.10 second favourite on Paddy Power.
What were Berties achievements as leader of the opposition?
If I remember correctly it was due to a media campiagn in 97 to give Labour a kicking for not going into with FG in 92 that resulted in the Raonbow losing in 97 and if I recall it was a very close contest. I don't recall any part of that campiagn singing the praises of Ahern as being a great man who will transform the country - just as well given what a spineless Taoiseach he has been - nor do I recall any comment that the government was bad or had a list of things which went wrong.