Thread: George Lee resigns from Fine Gael and as a TD

George George
    George of the jungle
    Watch out for that tree…

8 months, he lasted only 8 months, what a loser,

oh well, back to his €150K job at RTE

For an honest guy, why did he not tell his constituents that he did not actually leave RTE?

Why did he not tell his constituents that he was only going to give it a try for a few months to see how he liked it?

Honest George, not enough limelight in front of the old TV cameras I guess.

Politics.ie Regular gombeennation's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by NewGoldDream View Post
    Ha ha! 'Gombeen' is the new argument? Repeat it time and again and it validates your point?
    truth hurts!

He couldn't hack it.
    Yes , i agree he couldnt hack chairing committe meetings , being the hostess at those circuses - i am suggesting that his unwillingness to participate in this charade is a GOODTHING (tm) - your opinion may differ of course.

Sure, maybe it's all about the system being wrong
    I agree - the system IS wrong.
    Dont expect to hear that from the insiders tho - they will just say GL couldnt hack it

and he is too good for it
    ehhh , EVERYONE is too good for it - thats my point , that set up was fullRetard(tm).

and he is so noble and we are not worthy of him.
    depends what you mean by "noble" - unwilling to be a mime artist in a pantomime - year sure he was too noble for that.
    some people are cut out for that type of tomfoolery - I usually refer to such scum as Gombeens (tm).

But the simple fact is he put the books away and tried the practical for a while, and he failed miserably.
    He tried and realised it is impossible to break the gombeenarchy - its too heavily interwoven in the fabric of our sceptic isle
    from "opposition" to the thieves - they are all in on it.

Those who can, do.
    our lot have done what exactly? minus 500 mill a week - nice work fellas.

Those who can't get nice cushy jobs telling those who can how to do it better.
    doesnt get any cushier than sitting on your thumb , or lying to your people telling them everything is going to be ok.
    huge salaries , unvouched expenses - eye watering pensions.
    as i have said , the gombeen thing to do would be to stay on and collect the above.
    GL =/= Gombeen

He has proved, spectacularly, that sometimes Poindexters should stay in the library and leave politics to the big boys with a bit of backbone.
    even you dont believe that - big boys? what does that mean ? big as in big bellys ? stuffing their bellys from the trough - big alright , big on robbing.
    is that something to be proud of?

He could draw one of those faces on his hand and tell himself how great he is I guess!
    He could alright yeah.
    Either that or tell it how it is - and its like this "be a gombeen or GTFO".
    How many other TD's have resigned their seat on a point of principle?
    as for letting down the voters - i dont agree - they will have a by election.
    they can vote for any number of gombeen drones if they want.
    no shortage in this kip

Quote Originally Posted by meriwether View Post
    Can you please tell me what kenny should have done?

Spare athe polemics about gombeens, I'm not interested in that.
    What Kenny should have done, within a month or two, is put Lee up as a public face for economic policies as part of a Fine Gael economics team. Lee has more favourable media presence than Bruton, people were used to listening to Lee o economics. From Bruton, they mostly hear attacks on Gov't policy, economic or otherwise, and that is too much 'party politics'.

Lee's speciality is economics, he should have been used in that fashion, not left in a corner. Since the by-election, Lee has been pretty invisible, and unheard of, and that wasn't a good thing for the Party's ability to use what got Lee elected, a known face in the media that people were used to listening to. That is easily lost and hard to gain/regain.

Enda failed to capitalise on that. And that adds to the idea that he wouldn't make it as Taoiseach, no willingness or sense to grab an opportunity like that.
    The enemy of my enemy is the enemy of my enemy. There are lies, damn lies and Fine Gael confusions. "I don't understand." Alan "it's only 79 punts" Shatter

Politics.ie Regular west'sawake's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by dalywise View Post
    The thing that was pounded into the thick heads of McCreevy and Cowen years before the Euro started was the need for fiscal discipline. The temptations of low interest rates were always known. Tha's why the Germans would have preferred countries like Ireland, Italy, Greece etc stay out of the Euro because of their previous records of mad spending sprees.

But Ireland clambered to get in to the Club. The warnings were there from the EU but Ireland and others chose to ignore them. We failed to put the correct balancing mechanisms in place to compensate for a monetary policy that some countries, like Ireland, were just not politically mature enough to handle with care.

Fianna fail destroyed the economy too between 1977 and 1981. There was no Euro then. But they followed the same policies as in the 2000s, and got the same result.

Don't blame the Euro or the EU. Blame corrupt Fianna Fail and their lust for popularity power.

I blame both FF and the Euro and text book economics would support me. Spain has had pretty good fiscal discipline and is still a basket case post Euro. Capital from all over the E.U fuelled that particular bubble, is there a FF equivalent in Spain too, considering it has had both the left and right in there this past decade?

Strong stabilisers for inflationary booms and asset price bubbles are monetary policy and exchage rate policy, inc exchange controls, we have had no control of these for quite some time now. I would love to be able to blame all our woes on FF, and yes they managed the boom to suit their own electoral ends, but ignoring the role of the Euro is a bit ostrich like to say the least and the proverbial chickens are coming home to roost now in Greece, Portugal, Spain, and here, none can devalue so wages instead are being slashed and asset prices adusted downwards to their real values, the market in the end tells the truth, only for so long can it be contrived and illusions of wealth created.
    Last edited by west'sawake; 9th February 2010 at 06:24 PM.

Kenny on RTE News in a minute.

"I should loosen up a bit." Cringe.

Very credible performance.

Quote Originally Posted by Baron von Biffo View Post
    "I should loosen up a bit." Cringe.
    He came across as a right plonker. His media people really have a problem.

Regards...jmcc

Quote Originally Posted by Limerick Lad View Post
    Very credible performance.
    Very loyal Deputy Noonan

Quote Originally Posted by Baron von Biffo View Post
    Very loyal Deputy Noonan
    Not even a member of FG let alone one of it's elected representatives.
    Kenny came across as reasonable, honest and forthright unlike the petulant Mr. Lee yesterday on the same broadcast.