Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Peter Sutherland

Quote Originally Posted by Catalpa
    Sutherland is an arch Capitalist with a global political agenda.

Annan has charged him with pushing further Mass Immigration into the 1st World States incl the ROI.

Not a character I would have much admiration for.

I don't think he even lives in Ireland anymore.
    very true Catalpa, Ireland's 'leading' Bilderberger

IRL - Sutherland, Peter D. Chariman, BP plc and Chairman, Goldman Sachs International
    not that he's alone in attending those media-blacked out conferences

Ahern, Bertie - Prime Minister of Ireland
    “Three things cannot be long hidden: the sun, the moon, and the truth."
    Hindu Prince Gautama Siddharta, the founder of Buddhism.

Real conservatives recognise that neocons aren't.

Re: Peter Sutherland

Quote Originally Posted by mountainyman
    I don't believe Garret is a bad enough father to have a multi millionaire son who wouldn't contribute to his ma's medical bills.
    You're posts seem quite personal. Garret has two sons. One (John, I think) is an academic in UCD Economics Dept. It is he who writes the ESRI reports so often quoted in the media. The other is an auctioneer and no doubt is a millionaire now, but I'm not sure if he was in the early '90's

Quote Originally Posted by mountainyman
    I just want some evidence that he didn't structure liberalistaion so the poor bore a disporportianate share of the burden leading to millions of deaths.
    Have you any evidence that he did structure trade reform that lead to millions of deaths? Or are you just bull-************************-ing? As I said above, the Uraguay round was far from perfect but to blame this on one person is farcical. It was the result of a few years of negotiations between US, EU, Cairns etc. Our own leaders had a role to play in this. Our then Taoiseach Albert Reynolds lobbied hard (at the behest of the IFA) that the agreement should not affect our own agicultural sector. In the event, the agreement had only token movement in agricultural tarriffs, but even these had fairly big effects albeit mainly for South American countries and the African countries who have preferential trading with the EU.

Quote Originally Posted by CrockerJarman
    Well I don't know who was ever bailed out or when.

But the failed GPA float was in 1992/93, if memory serves me correct, so you are talking some time after that and a decade after Sutherland was nominated to the Commission.

McSharry was Euro Commissioner at this point I'd say, but I'm not sure.
    Do you think St. Garret the Good became a bought man after this Crock? Or, to put it in a way you'll understand, had Garret been a member of FF at the time would he have been a bought man?
    "Everyone hates Fianna Fáil except the electorate."

Unattributed correspondent, 1960s.

Quote Originally Posted by thegeneral
    Well I don't know who was ever bailed out or when.

But the failed GPA float was in 1992/93, if memory serves me correct, so you are talking some time after that and a decade after Sutherland was nominated to the Commission.

McSharry was Euro Commissioner at this point I'd say, but I'm not sure.
    Do you think St. Garret the Good became a bought man after this Crock? Or, to put it in a way you'll understand, had Garret been a member of FF at the time would he have been a bought man?
    No he wasn't a bought man.

His government collectively appointed Suds to the Commission in 1984, I think, may have been in actual fact in late 1983. The GPA float was as I said earlier a decade afterwards. Was Garret even in the Oirerachtas still at that point, he was certainly gone by the 1992 Election. What position did he hold at that point or shortly thereafter that he could have placed himself in the line of fire for a conflict of interest point. Irish Times Correspondent???, Chanchellor of the NUI??.

Get real.

Contrast it with Ahern being caught with the paw out in 1994 whilst serving as the Cabinet Minister with responsiblity for the Tax Code.

A bought man from that point thereafter. Minister for Finance, and Taoiseach for a period of nine and half years from after the date of the whip-round.

His government collectively appointed Suds to the Commission in 1984, I think, may have been in actual fact in late 1983. The GPA float was as I said earlier a decade afterwards. Was Garret even in the Oirerachtas still at that point, he was certainly gone by the 1992 Election. What position did he hold at that point or shortly thereafter that he could have placed himself in the line of fire for a conflict of interest point. Irish Times Correspondent???, Chanchellor of the NUI??.

Get real.
    ]

This case has nothing to do whatseover with Bertie we are referring to ethics, you know those things that Blueshirts possess in barrels unlike their craven and evil pariahs in FF. Garret used his influence to get a deal written off that he couldn't pay, unlike ordinary Joe Soap, indeed as CJH did, you remember him, him with the "flawed pedigree." Garret should be very thankful that his good friends in the Irish and British media, for whom he acted as a white knight darling in the 1980s, decided sometime ago to leave poor Garret and his pristine almost virginal self professed image of ethical sanctity intact.
    "Everyone hates Fianna Fáil except the electorate."

Unattributed correspondent, 1960s.

Politics.ie Regular rockofcashel's Avatar

oooohhh... bitch fight ...

come on lads, make friends, and coalesce :wink:

Its things like this which accentuate your similarities
    1,197 people agree with me.. how many agree with you ?

Quote Originally Posted by rockofcashel
    oooohhh... ******* fight ...

come on lads, make friends, and coalesce :wink:

Its things like this which accentuate your similarities

Like fu*k.

Quote Originally Posted by thegeneral

Get real.
    ]

This case has nothing to do whatseover with Bertie we are referring to ethics, you know those things that Blueshirts possess in barrels unlike their craven and evil pariahs in FF. Garret used his influence to get a deal written off that he couldn't pay, unlike ordinary Joe Soap, indeed as CJH did, you remember him, him with the "flawed pedigree." Garret should be very thankful that his good friends in the Irish and British media, for whom he acted as a white knight darling in the 1980s, decided sometime ago to leave poor Garret and his pristine almost virginal self professed image of ethical sanctity intact.
    You brought The Bought Man (formerly known as RITA) in to it, not me.

The implication in your post and in this general thread, is that Peter Sutherland was a beneficiary of some abuse of Garret's position as a result of a banking decision made by AIB plc in the mid 1990's.

RoC (and correct me if I'm misquoting you, horse) brought up the 1983/84 Commission appointment.

I made two points. Firstly Sutherland was appointed at least ten years before the GPA float and secondly by the time of the float, Garret had left public life and Sutherland had left the Commission. I don't see where the subsquent conflict of interest could have been.

Unless some one is suggesting that Garret "swung" the Vatican Bank job for Sutherland.

For the likelyhood of the above, I refer you to my Jodie Marsh at the Royal Irish Academy comment I made in the Padraig Nally thread.

thegeneral's sneering disregard for Garret FitzGerald is perhaps only equalled by my own vituperative contempt for a man who takes cover behind his estranged wife and two children in an attempt to ward off political flak and save his hide.

Hey get real general, just 'cause Garret had 200k in loans written off from a bank he spent 30 million bailing out so what.
    haughey took bribes, Garret needed money. Totally different.

But did Suds really make sure that the poor suffered first I need some arguments to put my friend back in her box!

Two points

1. In relation to the loans that Garret had partly written off, Garret did not know he could guarantee the loan against his shares. Most people who bought these shares did this and got away debt free.

2. He has been mis-quoted with the "flawed pedigree" statement. Garret was speaking in relation to CJH's political career and not CJH's personal financial affairs
    "Rural People didn't need hospitals in the 19th Century and shouldn't need
    them now"

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123