Page 9 of 25 FirstFirst ... 789101119 ... LastLast

Thread: FF lashes out at RTE over news report on Cowen painting prank

Quote Originally Posted by Chrisco View Post
    They are apparently seeking the culprit on suspicion of 'indecency', 'criminal damage' (for hammering a nail into the wall of the portrait gallery!!), and something else, but I can't remember the last charge Ray D'Arcy mentioned.
    I just remembered the last one - how could I forget?!

INCITEMENT TO HATRED FFS!!!

Credit -Allan Kavanagh, Caricatures-Ireland

That link above goes to a T-shirt with it on it:

I'm buying one.

slx

Quote Originally Posted by draiocht23 View Post
    Apparently the artist is being investigated for the following: Incitement, indecency and criminal damage - hammering a nail into the wall of the gallery to hang it.

According to D'Arcy, Gardaí said the "powers that be want this investigated" and said they may return to Today FM with a warrant to get email correspondence between the show and the artist.

This is incredible stuff.
    Well, if this is how he reacts, perhaps the picture has shown our Taoiseach as he really is. Once the clothes come off, he's a big aggressive bully!

Not only has his administration wrecked our reputation in financial affairs. He now seems determined to make us look like some kind of tin pot dictatorship with an easily offended looper at the top.

The picture is not indecent, it's an overweight, middle aged man in his jocks. There's nothing particularly shocking about it, even if it would put you off your breakfast. It's not exactly hardcore violent porn or something and no worse than what you might see on Family Guy or the Simpsons.

Brian, get over yourself!

Quote Originally Posted by Chrisco View Post
    That link above goes to a T-shirt with it on it:

I'm buying one.
    Yeah, you can get them here - Irishelection.com Irish Politics T-Shirts

I was angry about this - now I'm absolutely fuming. The economy is going to hell in a handcart, thanks to FF and their cronies, and their biggest concern is a satirical painting.

Quote Originally Posted by draiocht23 View Post
    Apparently the artist is being investigated for the following: Incitement, indecency and criminal damage - hammering a nail into the wall of the gallery to hang it.

According to D'Arcy, Gardaí said the "powers that be want this investigated" and said they may return to Today FM with a warrant to get email correspondence between the show and the artist.

This is incredible stuff.
    This is confirmation for me of Fianna Fáil's quest to begin a dictatorship

we need to get this filthy scum ridden organisation out of power NOW

Politics.ie Regular flavirostris's Avatar

The thing here is that FF are not attacking the perpetrator of the stunt but RTE for reporting it. They should have just laughed it off, now it looks like they are willing to suppress free speech to save Cowen's embarassment.
    Cowen should have come out and made a joke of the whole thing and he might have actually got a boost for having a sense of humour.
    Now he has made himself look like a paranoid despot of a third world country who bullies an already cowed media.

Listening to the TodayFM clip, this has got really out of hand altogether.

As a (fairly senior) civil servant, I think it's disgraceful that FF (what have the Greens and Mary Harney to say btw?) are abusing the gardai like this. Like others have asked, why aren't they going after the bankers with the same zeal ?

brilliant fun, just brillaint.. I know several CPSU staff printing them off for the protests already

Apparently the artist emailed Ray D'Arcy with a third painting: one of Cowen having a slash.

Publish and be damned! Come on Ray - don't be Cowe'd!

Page 9 of 25 FirstFirst ... 789101119 ... LastLast