Page 105 of 170 FirstFirst ... 55595103104105106107115155 ... LastLast
Results 1,041 to 1,050 of 1693
Like Tree44Likes

Thread: Where is Bertie ?

Politics.ie Regular Superindigoman's Avatar

Saw him yesterday at his constitunency house, in his 08 black, top of the range Merc with Chauffeur in hat and tail's, fact, he's not far don't worry, unfortuantley

We Dubs often mock our country cousins for re-electing discredited candidates such as Michael Lowry and Beverly Cooper Flynn.

Well now we have the most discredited politician since Haughey and its up to us to give him his marching orders.

Anyone prepared to vote for Bertie at this stage should be ashamed of themselves.

While I would acknowledge the good work he done in cementing the peace process, he then went on to wreck our economy.

And don't get me started about his " I won it on the horses....'

Remember not so long ago when Biffo & Co. were piously preaching that Taoiseach Bertie was a simple man of the people with zero interest in money and that his only "Yellow Pack" life-style requirements were a few honest pints in Fagans and the occasional humble trip to watch Man U? Anyone who suggested that Humble Bertie might have had an unhealthy interest in accumulating greasy shekels was a liar or an "allegator"..........or worse!! Remember how tearful the bunch of them - now mainly this government - were on Leinster House steps when Bertie decided to hightail it 'afore the posse finally drygulched him?

Since then "Humble Bertie" has demonstrated a truly dizzying descent into the abyss, plumbing depths never previously explored by any former public representative (here or elsewhere) in his unashamed craving to squirrel away as many shekels as he possibly can before his increasingly tarnished "brand" becomes as toxic as his economic legacy.

On the reasonable assumption that Bertie has been forced into publicly selling his ass to the highest bidders he can source because he can no longer do it as secretively as when he was Taoiseach, where does that leave Biffo and the current FF government ministers who insisted at the time that Bertie had no interest in lashings of loot and that, by definition, he was as honest as the day was long? It means that Biffo & Co. were either criminally complicit in Bertie's nefarious shenanigans or else that the lot of them were criminally blind, bothered and bewildered.

There is another possibility, of course. Bertie, as Taoiseach, was indeed a truly humble, honest, honourable individual and only underwent a polar personality transpant after losing his Taoiseach's salary. The tribunal's findings will hopefully clarify that situation shortly. It will be interesting to see how Biffo & Co. react if the tribunal's findings go against Bertie, and how they will attempt to justify their "Three Monkeys" stance at the time. By then the lot of them will hopefully have been consigned to the opposition back benches for the rest of their miserable, useless existences - if, indeed, they even make it back into Leinster House.

Poor aul Bayrtie can't even enjoy a few pints now..

“The lad who confronted Bertie was very irate because he felt Bertie had let him down,” a source told the paper yesterday.

“He’s spoken to Bertie about his wife’s treatment and thought she should have been moved up to the list because she was so ill.

“Bertie was on his second pint – he’d only ever stay for three – when this lad, who’d only be in his 40s, went over and lashed Bertie out of it.

Someone who was with Bertie moved in to restrain the man – and that’s when a barman intervened.

“The barman was great. He told them all to calm down. Then he told the lad to take himself home and he’d see him the next day – and that was pretty much that,” he added.
    Tales from the Tabs | 09/10 Tales from the tabs
    We have turned the corner.I commend this Budget to the House. Brian Lenihan, 9 December 2009

Quote Originally Posted by DCon View Post

He will end up drinking his pints in the cupboard as their are lots of similar lads out their awaiting a word in his ear

hi all....
    I drove by st lukes at 4.30 today.....he was there...

and just for the record.....its a 06 350 s class mercedes....

Politics.ie Regular slippy wicket's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by drjimryan2 View Post
    hi all....
    I drove by st lukes at 4.30 today.....he was there...

and just for the record.....its a 06 350 s class mercedes....
    Shame its too far to go with the dungspreader, he could really do with a plastering.

Politics.ie Member CarnivalOfAction's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by DCon View Post

Some do like him; saw this old letter on Indo site:

"I find it odd, that so-called brave journalists like Frank Connolly, can savage the reputation of our democratically elected Taoiseach, yet seem strangely reluctant to tackle Gerry Adams ...
    NIALL GINTY,
    KILLESTER D5 "

Politics.ie Regular NewGoldDream's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Anorakphobia View Post
    If so I have little doubt this was a deliberate snub by Clinton to ensure no damaging photo calls with the little discredited rat.
    Does anyone seriously believe Ahern wouldn't have been beavering hard in recent weeks to ensure he was included on Clinton's itinery even for a quick photo call?
    The only flaw in all of this is that of course it is entirely based on your speculation. I could think of a million reasons, one of them had to go to the dentist, their car got a flat tire, they had no arrangement to meet at all, they don't really like each other, there was no reason to meet, the dog ate their homework.

Quote Originally Posted by Biffomania View Post
    Since then "Humble Bertie" has demonstrated a truly dizzying descent into the abyss, plumbing depths never previously explored by any former public representative (here or elsewhere) in his unashamed craving to squirrel away as many shekels as he possibly can before his increasingly tarnished "brand" becomes as toxic as his economic legacy.
    There is another possibility, of course. Bertie, as Taoiseach, was indeed a truly humble, honest, honourable individual and only underwent a polar personality transpant after losing his Taoiseach's salary.
    I love your misplaced confidence in your own judgement.

There is another rather obvious possibility, of course, which is that he is neither of the stark choices you present. Maybe he is just getting paid to write a column, and we don't have to over analyse it and declare that he is the worst golddigger ever or he's a saint who has been nobbled.

Politics.ie Regular flavirostris's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by NewGoldDream View Post
    The only flaw in all of this is that of course it is entirely based on your speculation. I could think of a million reasons, one of them had to go to the dentist, their car got a flat tire, they had no arrangement to meet at all, they don't really like each other, there was no reason to meet, the dog ate their homework.
    Or maybe he just didn't want his photo taken with a discredited, corrrupt politician.

Old Bill definitely went down a bit in my estimation when he did that election advert for the little weasel