Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: What ever happened to...

Politics.ie Regular shutuplaura's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Odyessus View Post

Cream pie throwers select their targets and circumstances very carefully, as do all bullies.

(So as not to put themselves in any danger)
    The taoiseach would have had personal security though? I presume that there was a few cops around who could have defended him from the lady in question.
    Last edited by shutuplaura; 29th December 2008 at 09:10 AM. Reason: clean up spelling

on Aldebaran, safe on the green desert sand

Whatever happened to .... sunshine?
    I watched with glee, while your kings and queens, fought for ten decades for the gods they made.

Politics.ie Regular droghedasouth's Avatar

Whatever happened to the person who similarly attacked Michael Noonan, then leader of FG (to their most ignominious ever defeat), also during GE 2002?
    There are times when you are simply required to be impolite. There are times when condescension is called for!
    - Aaron Sorkin writing as President Bartlet to Obama, NYT 21/09/2008

You can't build a smart economy based on dumb decisions.
    - Richard Bruton 18/12/2008

Politics.ie Regular droghedasouth's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by shutuplaura View Post
    The taoiseach would have had personal security though? I presume that there was a few cops around who could have defended him from the lady in question.
    Did you ever see the bruisers who were selected to surround Ahern.
    I am sure they matched the Garda's opinion of the type of people that Ahern surrounded himself with in Drumcondra.
    A brave woman to attack Ahern with a custard pie with them around.
    There are times when you are simply required to be impolite. There are times when condescension is called for!
    - Aaron Sorkin writing as President Bartlet to Obama, NYT 21/09/2008

You can't build a smart economy based on dumb decisions.
    - Richard Bruton 18/12/2008

The closest thing to punishment that Ahern will receive for his deception and fraud. To hell with the tribunals, bring on the pies! Let every man woman and child receive one pie!

Quote Originally Posted by droghedasouth View Post
    Did you ever see the bruisers who were selected to surround Ahern.
    I am sure they matched the Garda's opinion of the type of people that Ahern surrounded himself with in Drumcondra.
    A brave woman to attack Ahern with a custard pie with them around.

Yeah, they could have beaten her up.

Such bravery!

I have to laugh at the indignant pomposity of those calling what happened to ahern an "attack". There was never a threat of injury to the man, nor indeed any threat to his safety. The biggest risk might have been if he had a dairy allergy, and only then if he licked the stuff off.

The only thing that gets hurt in incidents like this is a persons dignity, which was why she threw a cream cake and not a brick, or a bottle.

I hate the idea that any elected reps are somehow "our betters" that we have to look up to. IMHO the woman was making a point about defending herself from the arrogance of Ahern and those in high office who make decisions affecting peoples lives but don't have to worry about the consequences for themselves.
    “A healthy social life is found only, when in the mirror of each soul the whole community finds its reflection, and when in the whole community the virtue of each one is living”

Bold Danny

Danny Morrisson is now a playwright

and has been praised by amongst others Michael Portillo.
    Do you want to defy pigeon holes and at the

same time avoid designer synicism Laugh with

rage!

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123