Scandal around the leadership??
Anyhow...I joined Ógra for many varied, major and minor reasons.
- FF Reps were the only ones ever to get back to me when issues were addressed to all 5 TDs in my constituency
- The work ethic I have PERSONALLY seen within the organisation internally and at public representative level
- The fact that neither of my parents have been forcably unemployed at any stage in their lives
- To affect internal change on policy issues
- Fianna Fáil, while having contributed to economic woes (I'm not dim, I know it has) in the past, has always, always been there to raise the nation and the state from their respective knees.
- The people
- Seeing the difference FF reps have made to people's lives (at an actual not some populist sh1te level referencing wastage and makeup)
- The craic
- The openness and frankness with members
Look, I don't like everything about the organisation, but coming from a family where my grandparents as cardholding blueshirts are listed tax evaders who give a personal no.1 to a FF candidate, and my parents are floating voters, there is no point in trotting out an anti-FF line that says only those born in stay in and nobody else joins.
If my grandparents as cardholding cash contributing members of FG vote 1 FF, than that about says enough for me that FG are pointless in my constituency, a potential Taoiseach couldn't bring in a running mate in 2002.
There are worthwhile politicians in ALL parties, I just happen to trust FFs more to run the country.
You should note that the people being bitter on your second point of builders disregard the FACT most Councils giving the planning permission have been FG controlled for a number of years, and that the banks, not the government lent to people and that the people most bitter are the ones who THEMSELVES dug themselves into hundreds of thousands of €uro debt to buy BMWs they couldn't ACTUALLY afford. We hear of prudent lending, but never of prudent borrowing.
Those who have not lived on excess credit for the last decade now have no issues, can afford their debt financing and are living to a comfortable standard that has risen gradually over the last decade rather than a massive spike experienced by Fionnuala and Fiachra in 1999/2000 when the refinanced the house, the kids and the cat to upgrade their early 90s Fiesta and Mondeo for a brand new 5 Series and Focus and knock up a 2 story extension running the length of the house so that they could have an en-suite for each of the kids and a walk in shoe wardrobe and fit an 80 grand kitchen.
This is what has caused the crash and this is what the government is being blamed for?? When did Bertie Ahern and Charlie McCreevy go to Fionnuala and Fiachra and shove this borrowing down their throat. They DIDN'T, they rolled out the SSIA to DISCOURAGE it.
The majority, though not all of the people whinging at the moment about massive debts and losing their homes would not be in that position had they not overextended themselves. That is no fault of the government or Fianna Fáil.
I believe we have had and continue to enjoy quality political leadership at government level.
Woop Woop
FF is not a nut-job FREE zone but it has a sparser population than other parties in my experience.
Woop Woop
Who said I'm from Offaly??
You're not a member of the organisation, so obviously you wouldn't experience the frankness and honesty we as member receive on issues of concern. What has Bertie Ahern doing an interview with Brian Dobson got to do wit the feedback and response I get from HQ??
Woop Woop
It was my grandparents, and mainly because their pension has increased massively and is among the best offered on the planet.
Government is about delivering the best services it can given the constraints it operates in to the MAJORITY of the population.
We are doing that, but it's the people with the 4 Mercs and Yacht in the driveway that always have a problem with us when we knock on doors. Those with nothing are just glad to see a politician of any sort knock on their door. Most of them don't vote, but at least we know their issues.
Woop Woop
young people join Ogra Fianna Fail because they have ambitions to one day become a politician. that they will be on big money and have standing while telling people that they are in the politics racket "because they want to selflessly serve the people"
talking about Fianna Fail policies and actions is totally irrelevant. Ogra Fianna Fail members don't really care. They don't really have principles or deeply held beliefs. They just want the power and perks from being elected " to serve the people" and they see joining Fianna Fail as their best chance to get elected and "work tirelessly to represent the interests of their constitutients". And they are right. Fianna Fail has the most councillers , the most TDs and offers the best chance for a medicore but amoral and self interested chancer to make it.
Last edited by monroe9999; 19th December 2008 at 01:23 AM.