Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: will Cowen make it to a general election as leader?

will Cowen make it to a general election as leader?

Even a few weeks ago, I would have answered "of course", but now I'm not so sure.

There have already been many niggling doubts about his judgement, or lack thereof.

The latest outspoken support for the Disgraced ex-FAS boss is the icing on the cake, however. There was absolutely NO politicsl advantage in lauding the guy, as Cowen did, first by stating he had his "full confidence", and then descibing him as "honourable" (ie worthy of honour!).

So why did he do it? FF people I know (mostly inlaws in various parts of thc country, and their friends, if you must ask!) are absolutely gobsmacked at his response.
    They cannot figure out why he didnt just keep his mouth shut, and are starting to doubt his performance generally as leader - (edit: although some credit it as a one-off lapse. Even when pointed out that he defended him twice!)

I'm wondering if this is reflection a wider feeling within the party?
    “A healthy social life is found only, when in the mirror of each soul the whole community finds its reflection, and when in the whole community the virtue of each one is living”

I believe that he will, but only in that they will not have time to get a heave going against him. I think that we will have an election later next year, the govt. is falling in popularity even, though the crisis is only in its first 6 months. Next year is shaping up to be a very bad year,(If any of ye saw the F.T. last sat. it would make a grown man cry). It was so depressing. unemployment to go up by a 1/4. The levies to kick in, more cutbacks etc, additional tax increases. I think we will see the Greens, abandon ship, they will learn from the mistakes of P.D.'s. If they stay in govt. they will be finished in this state. If they leave, they can at least look like they have a backbone.

There are two things he should stop doing straight away, one is interviews on the hoof and the second is to stop being so bloody honest. The first is obvious, he thinks he knows the story and replies whenever and whereever he is asked. He does not look well and gives hostages to fortune. As for second, the most glaring example is his answer to the question about whether he read the lisbon treaty: his answer was honest, sensible and reflected the reality that nobody needed to read it cover to cover, but it created a huge problem in the press. When it comes to making decisions he should be himself, but before if opens his mouth he should ask: what would Bertie try to say? The answer to the thread question is yes, but if/when FF go out of power, Cowen will be gone. The most dangerous thing for the Party but best thing for the country is that he knows this.

Time for Change

Hmm - intersting artwork OC. Doesn't really add to the debate, though.

Anyone else from FF a bit miffed with the Taoiseach?
    “A healthy social life is found only, when in the mirror of each soul the whole community finds its reflection, and when in the whole community the virtue of each one is living”

To put the question another way: is Cowen an election asset, or an election Liability?

Quote Originally Posted by yehbut_nobut View Post
    To put the question another way: is Cowen an election asset, or an election Liability?
    As is frequently muted about our Minister for Health WHO would want the job NOW!
    Behind every great man is a woman rolling her eyes.
    Jim Carrey.

The rampant waste of taxpayers money in state agencies like fas is only the tip of the iceberg. A couple more large hits like this and I reckon we will have a General election within the next 18 months if not sooner.
    Republican, Socialist, Feminist, Internationalist, Environmentalist, Anti racist,.

Will the Turkey see Easter?

Quote Originally Posted by RoyMunson View Post

none of the parties will want an election before the locals.
    Give it a year
    Republican, Socialist, Feminist, Internationalist, Environmentalist, Anti racist,.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast