Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Ahern's legacy

Ahern's legacy

How will history view his premiership?
    Ireland Her Own and All Therein, From the Sod to the Sky - James Fintan Lalor

The worst Taoiseach in the history of the State who oversaw squandering of resources on an unprecedented scale; who presided over 11 years of boom times (a boom created by the hard work of others from 1987-1997) but left the country broke with rampant inflation, broken public services, Corporate Welfare scams in every area of life, and an entire generation enslaved to the bank; who saw the social fabric of Ireland destroyed in order to enrich his builder buddies; a proven liar; corrupt.

It'll take 20 years to repair the damage of Aherns dysfunctional regime.

Unfortunately, because the recession - and the staggeringly incompetent mismanagement of the Irish economy for the last decade - hasn't actually hit home to most people yet, FF will be furiously spinning that "Poor Bertie, hounded out of office by FG because of his marriage troubles, and sure didn't the economy falter the minute he was gone, all this unemployment and negative equity is FG's fault". And foolish people will look back on Ahern's regime as a time of plenty and not the "smoke and daggers" unbalanced fake economy that it was, and continue to vote for FF.
    Je suis un loo-lah

Good things? The peace process.

Bad things? Yet more corruption, dishonesty etc, a crap health service & jobs for the lads.
    One of the moderators on here really wrecks my head with his/her power mad ego

Here Here sidewinder perfect answer .Thank god we have some people living in the real world
    A champion of the people emerges with the age-old and appealing promise of "something for nothing" - to be financed through every-increasing taxes. Supply and demand are thrown out of gear - the overhead goes up; the effective use of human energy goes down; the standard of living is lowered because money cannot buy wealth that is not produced.

WEAVER, HENRY GRADY,

Quote Originally Posted by Sidewinder
    The worst Taoiseach in the history of the State who oversaw squandering of resources on an unprecedented scale; who presided over 11 years of boom times (a boom created by the hard work of others from 1987-1997) but left the country broke with rampant inflation, broken public services, Corporate Welfare scams in every area of life, and an entire generation enslaved to the bank; who saw the social fabric of Ireland destroyed in order to enrich his builder buddies; a proven liar; corrupt.

It'll take 20 years to repair the damage of Aherns dysfunctional regime.

Unfortunately, because the recession - and the staggeringly incompetent mismanagement of the Irish economy for the last decade - hasn't actually hit home to most people yet, FF will be furiously spinning that "Poor Bertie, hounded out of office by FG because of his marriage troubles, and sure didn't the economy falter the minute he was gone, all this unemployment and negative equity is FG's fault". And foolish people will look back on Ahern's regime as a time of plenty and not the "smoke and daggers" unbalanced fake economy that it was, and continue to vote for FF.

Well said my friend, we should all buy you pints.

Achievment No. 1: driving the wretched Rainbow government from office

Quote Originally Posted by CorkHurler
    Achievment No. 1: driving the wretched Rainbow government from office
    ...and replacing them with a shower of incompetent gob************************es!

Quote Originally Posted by digoutday

Well said my friend, we should all buy you pints.
    Thats a good idea, he owes me some money.
    "Consistency is the last refuge of the unimaginative."
    Oscar Wilde

Ehh, de national aquatic centre.

I have to agree with you, sidewinder. Hopefully, for the sake of the country, FF can pick a leader who won't be driven from office because of corruption. One is unfortunate, two is coincidental but three would be simply too much.
    Fianna Fail - The Loss of Sovereignty Party.

Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast