Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Witch-hunt must end for Ireland's Sake

Witch-hunt must end for Ireland's Sake

Im beginning to get sick and tired of posters sticking the knife into Bertie Ahern. So lets put this into perspective. Since our party came to power:
    - Irelands economy has been the env of the western world
    - Unemployment is basically zero
    - Peace has come to the island
    - Bertie has been re-elected half the times than FG have ever been elected.

Without bertie, this country would be in tatters - the way FF inherited it. The tribunal has never said it finds any of our leaders statements to be false and he is well within his rights to defend himself from the now ridiculous questioning. So put up or shut up, especially Enda "Edna" Kenny, a man who has no experience of governance, no morals and no right to act like a five year old child towards a man who, if he had not transformed the economy, wouldnt have been able to "buy new shoes for the Aras". So give over.
    "Yeah, well, there's a mirror in the toilet if you want to go in there and talk to them." - Brian Cowen responding to Martin McG - "We'll have to consult the army council on this"

the only thing that needs to end is aherns tenure as Taoiseach as by not being tax compiant and accepting bribes isnot becoming of someone who holds such a high office. He is corrupt and by people continueing to support him are supporting low standards in high office. You and your colleagues are a disgrace and you continueing to support him are leading to social problems across the country.
    By 2020, 12.75Lts of petrol will cost you just under €30, today it will cost you €16.42 exactly.

Jesus wept

Re: Witch-hunt must end for Ireland's Sake

Quote Originally Posted by derry_ff
    Im beginning to get sick and tired of posters sticking the knife into Bertie Ahern. So lets put this into perspective. Since our party came to power:

Without bertie, this country would be in tatters - the way FF inherited it. The tribunal has never said it finds any of our leaders statements to be false and he is well within his rights to defend himself from the now ridiculous questioning. So put up or shut up, especially Enda "Edna" Kenny, a man who has no experience of governance, no morals and no right to act like a five year old child towards a man who, if he had not transformed the economy, wouldnt have been able to "buy new shoes for the Aras". So give over.
    No.
    Stand for election or get yourself selected as a candidate. Failing that, manage a successful campaign. Then you can come the big man anywhere. Not before.

I completely agree with you, this has to end. I disagree with you on Bertie's success, but I'll leave that to one side. However this country is entering a difficult time mainly regarding the economy and it has an awful lot of problems, Health, Transport, Education that need to be solved or more realistically improved and this will not happen while our Taoiseach is completely distracted. However it will not end while Bertie is Taoiseach and nor should it. As important as all those issues are, corruption is very important as well. We have a Taoiseach that has taken large sums of money from business men for personal use, lied to the Dail, Tribunal and people, is not tax compliant and has laundered money. This is completely unacceptable. If we let Bertie off the hook now it will only encourage other politicians to do the same. Right now all we as people and the media can do to discourage politicians is to hound Bertie as much as we can.

For those reasons it is vital to the well being off this state that Bertie resigns as Taoiseach today. Each day he is in office he is doing immense damage to this state. It can and should end in only one way and that is Bertie resigning. If he did that, then he could focus his whole time on the tribunal and we could wait to see whether or not he is corrupt as the tribunal runs its course, with no harm being done to the State.
    "Give us the future, we've had enough of YOUR past, Give us back our country, to live in, to grow in and to love..."

This Pro-Bertie/Anti Bertie thread ping pong has to stop for Irelands sake. Its more depressing than the weather, which is now second on my list of 'worst things about ireland'. Third, Fourth and Fifth are skangers, the public health system (you can do it mary) and the road infrastructure respectively (It'll be done despite you, noel). After that i've no complaints.
    Michael Courtney,
    Lusk

My post above is directed at original post.

The economy boomed despite the government, we as a small open economy succesfully rode the global boom of past decade and FF/Bertie had little role in creating/sustaining the boom/bubble.
    Also peace would have come to Northern Ireland regardless of whether Bertie was there or not, it was a carefully stagemanaged process engineered to suit Paisley and the shinners.

I think his achievments are limited and overrated and FF have gotten less % in general elections under him than under previous leaders I beleive.

Without bertie, this country would be in tatters - the way FF inherited it.
    Any chance you'll elaborate on that above?

This is all great craic. Keep it up.
    Ireland interests are best secured within a more dynamic EU. Vote YES to Lisbon.

Without bertie, this country would be in tatters - the way FF inherited it. .
    record growth that remains unmatched? Is that what you're referrring to? Coz that's what they inherited. You're a walkin advertisment for partition. Now go away and bring that derelict lying bluffer of a leader with you.
    We need to radically change every system that has enabled the wholesale destruction of the Irish landscape, rural and urban. There is no time for incremental step by step measures. The systems have failed utterly and the only hope for a real recovery requires the rule book to be torn up completely.

Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast