Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree18Likes

Thread: Did Billy Kelleher change his plans for today?

Politics.ie Regular blackrabbit's Avatar

Did Billy Kelleher change his plans for today?

While speaking on RTE's morning Ireland from Cork, Fianna Fáil TD Billy Kelleher said he was going to attend today's sitting in the Dail

Maybe it's just me but when he was asked, I detected a slight pause before he boasted he'd be there

I imagine him thinking "Feck, now I'll have to cancel ??????????"

Am I too cynical or what do you think Billy had to cancel

Listen to the interview HERE, it's quite short

I heard him perpetuating the Fianna Fail lie about it costing one hundred grand to open the Dail for the day alright. Another Cork Fianna Fail g0bsh1te. What is it with Fianna Fail TDs from Cork?
    flavirostris and derekhiggins like this.

Quote Originally Posted by Dunlin3 View Post
    I heard him perpetuating the Fianna Fail lie about it costing one hundred grand to open the Dail for the day alright. Another Cork Fianna Fail g0bsh1te. What is it with Fianna Fail TDs from Cork?
    They don't elect themselves, you know? .......................
    Astral Peaks and statsman like this.

I spose it takes time from buying the whole pub a pint...
    He does that.
    Thosaigh sé in oifig an phoist agus a chríochnaigh i mbanc.
    Group for Members to Talk Utter Sh1te:

The last thing you need is some FFer who has the look of a man who did very well out of being a junior minister up to 12 months ago giving any sort of opinion.

He got well stung on the VHI question as it is the exact same policy his government have been following for the last 10 years ie: increase the cost of private beds in public hospitals. He did not seem to offer an alternative strategy apart from now opposing it!
    hammer likes this.

Politics.ie Regular blackrabbit's Avatar

According to the Oireachtas web site schedule for this week HERE the Dail is sitting today from 10:30 to 13:30.

According to the AA route planner it will take deputy Kellaher 2 hours and 52 minutes to get to Kildare street, so starting at 9:00 and assuming he doesn't make any stops he should be in the chamber by approximitly 13:00, allowing him 30 minutes to contribute before the Dáil adjourns.

WELL DONE BILLY
    hammer likes this.

I got the same impression from Kelleher.

He is correct, however. Dragging 165 TDs from every corner of the country to hear private members motions from the Opposition benches is ridiculous.

If there are to be sittings on Fridays, Government legislation should be on the agenda.
    Mushroom likes this.
    A demagogue is someone who will preach doctrines he knows to be untrue to men he knows to be idiots.

Quote Originally Posted by goosebump View Post
    I got the same impression from Kelleher.

He is correct, however. Dragging 165 TDs from every corner of the country to hear private members motions from the Opposition benches is ridiculous.

If there are to be sittings on Fridays, Government legislation should be on the agenda.

God forbid they'd have to work on a friday.

Billy didn't sound too keen on it.
    I believe that children are the future

Unless we stop them now.

Politics.ie Regular FrankSpeaks's Avatar

If I was in charge the Dail would sit on the following days and times:

Mon: 2 to 6 4 Hours
    Tues: 10 to 6 7 Hours (Lunch 1 Hour)
    Wed: 10 to 6 7 Hours (Lunch 1 Hour)
    Thurs: 10 to 6 7 Hours (Lunch 1 Hour)
    Fri: 10 to 1 3 Hours

28 Hours per week, ample time to debate motions and examine legislation and it gives country TD's time to travel.

Closed 2 Weeks at Christmas and 2 Weeks in summer.
    Astral Peaks and Brera like this.
    There's a lot to be said for the fellow who doesn't say it himself. -- Maurice Switzer
    Positivity Rating: 160
    (Surplus of Likes Received over Likes Given)

Quote Originally Posted by carlovian View Post
    God forbid they'd have to work on a friday.

Billy didn't sound too keen on it.
    Most of a TDs work is done outside the Dail.

Having to sit around waiting to vote on opposition motions means they do less work.
    cricket likes this.
    A demagogue is someone who will preach doctrines he knows to be untrue to men he knows to be idiots.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast