Page 1 of 14 12311 ... LastLast
Like Tree39Likes

Thread: Fianna Fáil Proposes Corporate Donations Ban

Fianna Fáil Proposes Corporate Donations Ban

Today Micheál Martin TD has proposed an amendment that would allow only those who are entitled to vote, to give donations to political parties. This is a progressive piece of legislation with even SF supporting the Bill. It's now time for the government which has already committed so many U-turns to prove whether or not it's promise of new politics was also one of no substance.

A FF bill in this regard is like asking the people who burgled you to come back and fix the alarm. Bugger off.
    "......... we must sometimes listen to those who, consumed with zeal, have scant judgment or balance. To such ones the modern world is nothing but betrayal and ruin.........We feel bound to disagree with these prophets of doom who are forever forecasting calamity -- as though the world's end were imminent."

Politics.ie Royalty toxic avenger's Avatar

Of course they have - now that their own corporate donations have dried up with all their property-developing mates being made bankrupt. How else would they level the playing field with Fine Gael?

FF doesn't do irony but if they did they would probably be the best.

Now if we could only propose another amendment taking away the vote from the developers, builders, galway tent people etc, this legislation might actually work.
    "Am I the only one around here taking crazy pills?" - Mugatu (paraphrase) - Zoolander

Reminds me of the Bertie speech about corruption and taking backhanders.

Quote Originally Posted by darach View Post
    Today Micheál Martin TD has proposed an amendment that would allow only those who are entitled to vote, to give donations to political parties. This is a progressive piece of legislation with even SF supporting the Bill. It's now time for the government which has already committed so many U-turns to prove whether or not it's promise of new politics was also one of no substance.
    Hmmm.

"Corporate" donations would at least have to come under audited accounts and in the case of listed companies are likely to have to be declared.

"Personal" donations on the other hand from "entities entitled to vote" (usually involving "prominent businessmen") could slide nicely under any radar.

Either way it won't float as the unions wouldn't tolerate not being able to buy a bit of largesse.

Third Assessment Report: “long-term prediction of future climate states is not possible.

Quote Originally Posted by corelli View Post
    A FF bill in this regard is like asking the people who burgled you to come back and fix the alarm. Bugger off.
    The FF party is committed to the piece of legislation. You can talk of the ''Galway Tent'' etc. but the tent is over, it's been gone for over four years while the Fine Gael fundraiser held at the exclusive K Club with several leading businessmen in attendance still continues.

Sure fianna fail can still get bags of cash from oil smugglers..

Politics.ie Regular thetruthsback's Avatar

Fianna Fail dammed if they do and dammed if they don't. Well-done Mick and feck the begrudgers
    Fine Gael's new party slogan :Er, what year was that? Circumstances have, you know, changed a bit.

Politics.ie Regular sic transit's Avatar

Took me nearly 5 minutes of ROFL and trying to get up off the floor after reading that one. Whatever will they think of next!
    Goa Tse and gombeen state like this.
    “Our dreams must be stronger than our memories. We must be pulled by our dreams, rather than pushed by our memories.” Jesse Jackson

Page 1 of 14 12311 ... LastLast