Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree24Likes

Thread: Fianna Fail. It is what it is?

Fianna Fail. It is what it is?

I see him now, the grocer hitching his britches - FFers wear britches you understand - asking the woman at the checkout if she got that message, wink. He is a councillor, he is on the school committee, the sons are in the GAA, the soccer, the rugby, all covered. His friends, all old cronies are veterans of many campaigns. Men who knew when to drop a hint that there were reds under the bed to the nuns. Ah yes, the nuns could always be depended on to pass on the message.

The Christian Brothers too. Sure wasn't that headmaster the man that made men of them young fellas and won the Rice cup? Ah we know his methods were a bit harsh, but didn't it make men of them? Great party family.

The Chamber? Sure didn't we own it for ages until that new shower began to emerge lately? The only organisation in the ward that had more members than the cumainn.

The tidy towns committee. There we were for ages too until them upstart labour soccer play ------ oops knackers came into view.

The Health Board. God be with the day. But sure, didn't we get all the lads and lassies transferred into the HSE with fine pensionable jobs?

Did ye see the grant we got for the local club? GAA of course - as the man said, there are more votes in the local GAA club than in all the soccer and rugby clubs in the county combined. Jaysus lads, some pavillion and, did ye see the stand? Lotto millionaires all of us. The future is ours.

There are of course many other committees for good ranged around the constituency and, we have a man or woman,God bless the women, in anam na patre et spiritu sanctus amen, in all of them.

In fact, not a mouse can have a ************************ in this area, but Fianna Fail knows about it. That is how invasive we are in this constituency. Can't speak for others of course, but it is this attention to detail that makes us the great party that we are.

Up Dev!

Forget about them, they are irrelevant.

Concentrate on FG, the new FF.
    Toland and Biffomania like this.
    [B]FG are the new FF[/B] - Expect many more tales of incompetence and years of blunders, all blamed on somebody else.

Quote Originally Posted by Tuogid View Post
    Forget about them, they are irrelevant.

Concentrate on FG, the new FF.
    They will be irrelevant when the stake is driven through the heart. Then and only then.

More mouse than man lately, not likely to change any for a long time to come, maybe not ever.

Quote Originally Posted by DownTheyGo View Post
    More mouse than man lately, not likely to change any for a long time to come, maybe not ever.
    Jeez, thats deep. Very deep as the Bull said. Watch out for the cliffs.

Politics.ie Regular Raketemensch's Avatar

I joined P.IE in April 2009 when FF were still riding high. The site was was mostly FF/FG wonks discussing the finer points of pairing and reviewing one line put-downs in the house like sports commentators.

The recession and ensuing reality has torn a hole in that. During the good times, politics is just a hobby for ugly and unintelligent nerds but during a crash, everyone gets into it, see occupy Wall Street etc.

FF are a total casualty of the global crash. Ironic that Cowen blamed Ireland's particular awful situation on Lehman's when his party's policies amplified the effects so much, now the backlash of that has destroyed the old certainties of Irish politics, i.e. the fact that few people are actually interested in it. Apathy is traditionally the friend of FF, that's all gone now. Fear could could their buddy too but they have to compete with SF and all the other loonies for that one.

Bye, bye FF, can't say I'll miss you.
    Libero and kerdasi amaq like this.

Quote Originally Posted by Man or Mouse View Post
    Jeez, thats deep. Very deep as the Bull said. Watch out for the cliffs.
    I no longer know not one family that has the respect you seem to think they do; previously many I knew were staunch FF patriots.

Cliff you say? FF were superb architects, granted. Unfortunately the super-highway they crafted led Ireland over the cliff and there's no coming back from that, nor for Ireland.
    Last edited by DownTheyGo; 10th November 2011 at 01:12 AM.

Barry Cowen on VB tonight showing that the reforms are MM PR.

Not his presence, who he is or what he represents but his actual message and language.

FF, "we admit mistakes were made, they just weren't our mistakes".

The general public continues to disagree.
    "If you love god, burn a church" - Jello Biafra

FF will remain relevant as long as the civil war parties are around or another party comes into being that can replace the ground that FF took up. at the moment no party does that. but thankfully MM is doing the ABFF many favors and is making Adams, Gilmore,RBB and Kenny look good.
    All men dream: but not equally. -T. E. Lawrence

Politics.ie Regular Raketemensch's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by BlackLion View Post
    FF will remain relevant as long as the civil war parties are around or another party comes into being that can replace the ground that FF took up. at the moment no party does that. but thankfully MM is doing the ABFF many favors and is making Adams, Gilmore,RBB and Kenny look good.
    Who cares? Give it up. Your FF club means nothing. Think about your country, your friends, siblings, colleagues, kids if you have them.

The civil war is over. It's time for intellgent policy based on realities, not tribal warfare. It's not even warfare, it's fake competition between FF and FG councillers and TDs over funeral attendance. It's pathetic and the parties who continue this approach will be following the deceased into the grave.

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast