Page 3 of 13 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Brian Cowen freakout on News at One

Politics.ie Regular shannonBlueShirt's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by madura
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse
    George Lee, RTE's economic expert, has just disputed the whole thrust of Cowen's argument. He re-iterated the unique importance of the Kenny contract, and backed up the argument made by Richard Bruton.
    As you describe it, it sounds as though George Lee was being less than a neutral commentator. [/i]
    He is being a neutral commentator if Cowns comments dont hold water...
    to change Ireland from a dependent to a self-reliant society — from a give-it-to-me, to a do-it-yourself nation. A get-up-and-go, instead of a sit-back-and-wait-for-it ireland

I think he is making some good points and came great. From an FF point of view its about time someone come out and took a grip of this election and forced home the points we want to make.

What he is saying is correct there are question marks of the FGLAB economic plans Kenny himself admitted it. While it is true that this Government hasn't a clean record in this area elections are about the future and FGLAB have only respond with soundbites so far.

Politics.ie Regular White Horse's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by White Horse
    George Lee, RTE's economic expert, has just disputed the whole thrust of Cowen's argument. He re-iterated the unique importance of the Kenny contract, and backed up the argument made by Richard Bruton.
    As you describe it, it sounds as though George Lee was being less than a neutral commentator.
    He is not supposed to be neutral. He was asked to comment upon the substance of what was said.

To the amateur, it sounded like Cowen won the debate because he shouted more.

To anyone familiar with debating, Bruton won as his arguments were the ones supported by the impartial observer (Lee).

Quote Originally Posted by rover
    i just heard george lee

basically said that cowen had a huge brass neck for making claims about the fine gael/labour economic plans which were far more applicable to his own ones!!!!!

what a laugh
    Don't forget that he is trying to heat up his BBQ !!, Undercooking will give him the runs

Sorry lads as a neutral in the debate I felt Cowan wiped the floor with Bruton, Bruton was unable to refute Cowan or challenge him in an effective way. Cowan gave me a greater sense of being on top of his brief Bruton was cowering by the end. For me that was a FF win by a mile and if he can repeat this it will seriously undermine FGs case for change.

HP

[quote=White Horse]
    Quote Originally Posted by "White Horse":3lq7883w
    As you describe it, it sounds as though George Lee was being less than a neutral commentator.
    He is not supposed to be neutral. He was asked to comment upon the substance of what was said.

To the amateur, it sounded like Cowen won the debate because he shouted more.

To anyone familiar with debating, Bruton won as his arguments were the ones supported by the impartial observer (Lee).[/quote:3lq7883w]

Those type of amateurs probably don't listen to rte news at one.

Sounds to me like a rallying call to soft FFers who were thinking of switching to SF or of staying home.

Politics.ie Regular shannonBlueShirt's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Vinegarhill
    Sorry lads as a neutral in the debate I felt Cowan wiped the floor with Bruton, Bruton was unable to refute Cowan or challenge him in an effective way. Cowan gave me a greater sense of being on top of his brief Bruton was cowering by the end. For me that was a FF win by a mile and if he can repeat this it will seriously undermine FGs case for change.
    I know opinions are subjective but if you two posts, this one and one where you state that o Gorman will do well in Wexford..... Are you FT?
    to change Ireland from a dependent to a self-reliant society — from a give-it-to-me, to a do-it-yourself nation. A get-up-and-go, instead of a sit-back-and-wait-for-it ireland

Can someone change the name of this thread (Freakout) is not exactly a fair reflection

Politics.ie Regular droghedasouth's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by L'Chaim
    The FF members love Cowen when he goes off on one. Why that appeals to them I don't know, but when he lambastes the opposition it's like a rallying call to the party supporters around the country
    Everyone with any leadership ambition in FF is already running for election as party leader. How do you run for party leader with Bertie still in place? Defend him and the party in the most over the top, bully boy fashion. The more indefensible the position, the more they love you for it.

He is not trying to appeal to non-FF voters otherwise he would not be behaving like this. He knows that the election is lost; at most he is trying to consolidate the FF core vote about their core value of loyalty to the party. His only real interest is in his next election which will be for leader of FF.
    There are times when you are simply required to be impolite. There are times when condescension is called for!
    - Aaron Sorkin writing as President Bartlet to Obama, NYT 21/09/2008

You can't build a smart economy based on dumb decisions.
    - Richard Bruton 18/12/2008

Quote Originally Posted by The Earl of Desmond
    Cowen is not playing to anFFers - he is aiming his rant completely at FFers as the content of what he says doesn't matter as logn as the FF faithful perceive him to be giving the blusshirts one in the eye - he needs to get the FFers all fired up so they go out and vote to 'save FF and the country from the blueshirts' - you can jsut about hear the FFers screaming along with him - 'go on ye boyo - yee haaaaa'
    Problem being that FFers are falling in numbers.

He may well drum out more of the FF vote but he is definitely damaging his leadership prospects here. FF knows electability. Dermot Ahern and Mary Hanafin must be loving it.
    I am a floating voter. Without us, it's a dictatorship!

Page 3 of 13 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast