Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Toiréasa Ferris to Contest Euro Elections

Toiréasa Ferris to Contest Euro Elections

According to today's Kerry's Eye Sinn Féin Cllr. Toiréasa Ferris has been nominated to contest the European election in Ireland South.

The convention takes place in Tralee this Saturday.

Ferris in bid for Euro seat | Kerry's Eye

She will be a good candidate and is likely to make a serious impact on the election.
    Last edited by David Cochrane; 16th October 2008 at 10:45 AM. Reason: Put forename into title, so people don't confuse it with Martin

Politics.ie Regular Clanrickard's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Kerrygold View Post
    She will be a good candidate and is likely to make a serious impact on the election.
    Is she now authorised to condemn the murder of Garda McCabe?
    "The Egyptians could run to Egypt, the Syrians into Syria. The only place we could run was into the sea, and before we did that we might as well fight.” -Golda Meir

If Fine Gael run Sean Kelly, and/or if FF run Paidi O'Sé (not nearly as likely) then this lady runs the risk of being completely blown out of the water

She will do well.

Unlikely Mc Cafferty...

Paidi hasn't a hope in hell of being nominated, FF despite all their travails wouldn't be that stuck.. and if Kelly is selected, then FG are going to have to face a FF like argument like in the last elections with Burke is it and Kelly, fighting like O Neachtain and Mc Daid...

Remember, it was the sitting guy who won out their, and to be honest, FG haven't the votes in the South to get two candidates high up the first preference ladder... Ferris could easily beat Kelly on the first count, negating any constituency factor.. remember what happened in Ireland North West last time out

If Ferris was to worry about any possible "county challenge".. it would come from Mark Daly of FF, but I doubt Crowley will let him near the ticket

I hope, and predict, that she will do very well in fact

Politics.ie Regular FrankSpeaks's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Duth Ealla View Post
    She will do well.
    I doubt it very much, she did herself no favours when she appeared on the Late Late and SF have nowhere near enough votes to get anybody elected in the Euros.

Quote Originally Posted by Clanrickard View Post
    Is she now authorised to condemn the murder of Garda McCabe?

Jaysus your so funny, my sides are splitting right now. In case your too uneducated too notice, that was sarcasm

- your one stop shop for all your protest apparel!

Quote Originally Posted by FrankSpeaks View Post
    I doubt it very much, she did herself no favours when she appeared on the Late Late and SF have nowhere near enough votes to get anybody elected in the Euros.
    The problem with that logic Frank, is that the general demographic that wach the Late Late show, would have their minds made up already about who they vote for.. or at least who they would contemplate voting for...

Ms Ferris would be targetting a much different demographic... it is also worth remembering that the particular piece on the Late Late Show will be remembered more for what she wore than what she said, and any subsequent re-runs of it, are as likely to cast him in a good light as bad...

SF probably, in fact more than likely do not have anything close like enough votes to win a Euro seat in the South... but, and there are a lot of buts here... if enough people are so bloody peed off with the "Establishment" parties by next June.. and the way things are going, many many more will by then... she may be an attractive option as a "protest" vote

She'll do well.... she's a hell of a lot smarter than many people (especially the YFGers on here), give her credit for... and she's also a very engaging an personable woman

Politics.ie Regular FrankSpeaks's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by wysiwyg View Post
    The problem with that logic Frank, is that the general demographic that wach the Late Late show, would have their minds made up already about who they vote for.. or at least who they would contemplate voting for...

Ms Ferris would be targetting a much different demographic... it is also worth remembering that the particular piece on the Late Late Show will be remembered more for what she wore than what she said, and any subsequent re-runs of it, are as likely to cast him in a good light as bad...

SF probably, in fact more than likely do not have anything close like enough votes to win a Euro seat in the South... but, and there are a lot of buts here... if enough people are so bloody peed off with the "Establishment" parties by next June.. and the way things are going, many many more will by then... she may be an attractive option as a "protest" vote

She'll do well.... she's a hell of a lot smarter than many people (especially the YFGers on here), give her credit for... and she's also a very engaging an personable woman
    Most of what you say is true, but I still cannot see SF getting anywhere near enough votes protest or not in the Euros.

She is a very able and hard working politician. Just because a small amount of small minded tabloid believers kicked up a stink because of what she wore on the late late it doesnt mean she wont get a seat or wont put up a great fight for it. She will do very well.
    As for clanrickard the idiot making thick comments about being authorised to condemn. She did not say that she wasnt authorised to condemn the IRA action in which McCabe died, in fact what she did say was that she doesnt feel she has the moral authority to condemn IRA actions. there is a big difference in the two.

- your one stop shop for all your protest apparel!

Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast