Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Why it may be time to consider handing in my Irish passport

Re: Why it may be time to consider handing in my Irish passport

Quote Originally Posted by kerrynorth
    Quote Originally Posted by baldur0300
    The title of the article is fairly silly but do you have a problem with the content? Do you think there has been no negative comment on the Irish No vote?
    Portugal is pissed off with us because the Treaty was named after their capital? Boo hoo. The guy is only talking about the other eurofanatics he socialises with, not the populaces of the countries, and how many governments are are actually delighted with our vote but of course cannot express that opinion in public?

The little p***k is elevating his own embarrassment in front of his fellow eurofanatics into some national crisis. If this is the best the Yes side can come with in displaying the 'loss of influence' by Ireland then God help them. And the Times stuck this in the World NEWS section, not in Opinion - WTF!!!!
    Governments? None that I know of. Why would they agree a treaty and ratify it if they did not want to see it implemented?

He makes it quite clear about who's reactions he is talking about: Brussels based EU diplomats. What other power base is there within the EU to lose influence with?
    “Common sense is the collection of prejudices acquired by age eighteen” - Albert Einstein

Quote Originally Posted by baldur0300
    The title of the article is fairly silly but do you have a problem with the content? Do you think there has been no negative comment on the Irish No vote?
    I have a message for mr smyth, maybe he could explain how he acquired an irish passport in the first place---give it back, ye tosser ye.!!

Is Mise
    Grandad

Quote Originally Posted by Universal_001
    Are you suggesting that we approve every proposal regardless of the content, just to avoid annoying grey suited diplomats totally detached from the peoples feelings on the union?
    Nope - I'm just suggesting that when you know you're going to annoy people, you at least have the decency to not get all fluttery when they are annoyed. It's pathetic, this kind of shrill upset after all the trash talk during the campaign. This is what you wanted.
    Never let the best be the enemy of the good.

More deceit, lies and propaganda from the Irish Times

Well Jamie, you and your badminton partner Tom can shove your Lisbon Treaty up your ar.se

Well I'm sorry we upset a few overpaid diplomats and eurocrats but tens of millions of europeans support the Irish on this, not least the people of Holland and France whose governments clearly don't give a toss what they think. The Irish have done europe and the world a favour by defeating militarisation, liberalisation and privatisation.

Politics.ie Member CookieMonster's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by cHeal
    "OMG, you ruinz'd it for EVERYBODIEZ!!!!"
    SO getting that on a t-shirt!
    A poster of some consequence...

Quote Originally Posted by ibis
    Quote Originally Posted by Universal_001
    Are you suggesting that we approve every proposal regardless of the content, just to avoid annoying grey suited diplomats totally detached from the peoples feelings on the union?
    Nope - I'm just suggesting that when you know you're going to annoy people, you at least have the decency to not get all fluttery when they are annoyed. It's pathetic, this kind of shrill upset after all the trash talk during the campaign. This is what you wanted.
    Every time an article like this comes out it lowers the public perception of the Union, they're just making things worse talking like this, and before the count was even over with "the treaty is alive"

I'm quite happy they're pissed off, maybe they'll start listening to their people instead of the lobbyists who bankroll them.
    I suggested dozens of times what I think they need to do to improve the unions image and secure future referendum results

Throwing their toys out of the pram and insulting the right of the people to say no is not the best strategy..
    Signed, Universal (LGBT...QRSTUVWXYZ)

Al.

we did point out that the EU is an intergovernmental deal, and we've just pissed off all the governments
    That's even better! The same governments that didn't like the "No" votes on the EU Constitution, who then re-package the constitution into a "treaty" and ramming it down the throats of the people that rejected it? Poetic justice against "all (those) governments". Ireland should vote "no" again, to make it stick this time. If the people don't want it, then "all the governments" need to respect the will of their people, but instead their will is divergent from the people and they are trying to impose that will.

Why can't we vote on Nice again? Because the second time around, we voted the way "all the governments" wanted us to? Spasibo, Tovarish.
    The usual suspects will be along, I imagine, to work themselves up into a froth about how we're being "bullied" again. Seriously, lads, did you think this was going to be popular?
    Is Ireland in the EU to win popularity contests? Or must they play "follow the leader"?
    Stand up, and take the consequences
    Eh? What are the consequences supposed to be? Not having our vote respected? Having our rights trampled like those other countries trampled the rights of their people?

Sounds like you're countenancing totalitarianism. Have a closer listen to yourself.
    That's what Irish influence is, KN - goodwill (or was). Nothing more - it's not down to our mighty economic clout or huge armies, just to people liking us. Eejit
    That's one of the worst insults I've ever seen levied against Ireland. You've reduced Ireland's sovereignty to utter dependence upon "all those governments" and made a de-facto claim that Ireland is a vassal state of the EU. Victory and Salvation!

Anything that pisses off the Irish Times junketeers AND the orifices they brown their noses on can only be all good.
    If they have the brass ones to put this to a vote again, I will vote no early and often just to discover if Mr Smyth goes to Brussels on his UK Eurosceptic passport.
    Please sign the petition to establish a national day of celebration in honour of the vision of the United Irishmen!

Quote Originally Posted by Al.
    we did point out that the EU is an intergovernmental deal, and we've just pissed off all the governments
    That's even better! The same governments that didn't like the "No" votes on the EU Constitution, who then re-package the constitution into a "treaty" and ramming it down the throats of the people that rejected it? Poetic justice against "all (those) governments". Ireland should vote "no" again, to make it stick this time. If the people don't want it, then "all the governments" need to respect the will of their people, but instead their will is divergent from the people and they are trying to impose that will.

Why can't we vote on Nice again? Because the second time around, we voted the way "all the governments" wanted us to? Spasibo, Tovarish.
    The usual suspects will be along, I imagine, to work themselves up into a froth about how we're being "bullied" again. Seriously, lads, did you think this was going to be popular?
    Is Ireland in the EU to win popularity contests? Or must they play "follow the leader"?
    Stand up, and take the consequences
    Eh? What are the consequences supposed to be? Not having our vote respected? Having our rights trampled like those other countries trampled the rights of their people?

Sounds like you're countenancing totalitarianism. Have a closer listen to yourself.
    That's what Irish influence is, KN - goodwill (or was). Nothing more - it's not down to our mighty economic clout or huge armies, just to people liking us. Eejit
    That's one of the worst insults I've ever seen levied against Ireland. You've reduced Ireland's sovereignty to utter dependence upon "all those governments" and made a de-facto claim that Ireland is a vassal state of the EU. Victory and Salvation!
    Eh. And then there's the real world.
    Never let the best be the enemy of the good.

Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast