Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Jim Higgins MEP - Irelands own idiot in Brussels

Such is the great and sober mind that is Jim Higgins.
    Every one sees what you appear to be, few really know what you are, and those few dare not oppose themselves to the opinion of the many, who have the majesty of the state to defend them.

- [SIZE=2]Niccolò Machiavelli[/SIZE]

Politics.ie Regular Verhofstadt's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Sync View Post
    Did you say this to him or just run off to the internet to voice your unhappiness?
    I raised it with Marian Harkin and members of the Irish Perm Rep in Brussels, didn't get my hands on the man himself unfortunately.

Are you suggesting that it's impolite to raise it in this forum?

Quote Originally Posted by Verhofstadt View Post
    I attended in Brussels this evening the "Ireland in Europe" St Patricks Day reception.

Drink (supplied free by Guinness, Baileys and Bushmills.. many thanks to all!) was had and Martin Mansergh spoke some dronesome ********************e and some trad band (rossa?) played a few tunes, all was fine and well among us Euro elites.

The evening ended with the Gillian Van Turnout (nee Hassett of NYCI) calling our finest MEPS to the stage to lead the assembled masses in a rendition of our National Anthem.

Sadly Marian Harkin and Jim Higgins were the only two MEPs in attendance.

Jim Higgins in a fit of pique or humour perhaps connected to the generousity of the sponsors (I'm trying to be careful here) decided than from the stage, in front of the mic to bastardise the anthem by replacing the Fail with a big shout of "GAEL" and then proceeded to murder the rest of the admitted poor tune that is our anthem.

This was not a Fine Gael event, it wasn't even an Irish only event.. it was our big day in Brussels and this gombeen comes out with I'm sure he'll term as 'only a bit of craic"

The man is an embarrassment to Fine Gael, Ireland and the European Parliament.

Small stuff in deed compared to the wider issues facing us but an example of how these gob********************es represent us in Brussels.
    Despite your own personal pique at the bastardisation of our national anthem it's unlikely from what you say that any of the many nationalities in attendance would be so familiar with the lyrics of our national anthem that they would be likely to notice the substitution of "gael" for "fail" in Jim's rendition at the function.

Politics.ie Regular White Horse's Avatar

The Gaelic version is not the original. It is a bastardised self-serving version introduced by Fianna Fail.

You obviously missed the irony.

Quote Originally Posted by Verhofstadt View Post
    I raised it with Marian Harkin and members of the Irish Perm Rep in Brussels, didn't get my hands on the man himself unfortunately.

Are you suggesting that it's impolite to raise it in this forum?
    Sync has never tried to talk to a drunk MEP (or TD, CC), what complete asses they are, making a show of themselves anytime there is a free bar.

jes-us can they hold it together anywhere

Quote Originally Posted by Limerick Lad View Post
    Despite your own personal pique at the bastardisation of our national anthem it's unlikely from what you say that any of the many nationalities in attendance would be so familiar with the lyrics of our national anthem that they would be likely to notice the substitution of "gael" for "fail" in Jim's rendition at the function.
    Ah well, that's alright then.. indeed it was only a bit of craic.

Jim Higgins has a point. The original version of " Soldiers are we" was Sinne Laochra Gael ata faoi gheall"" etc, but of course FF and Dev changed it to Sinne Finna Fail"". Do they not even have FF on the badges on the caps of the defence forces. You must be a dyed in the wool FF person, maybe with a job in Brussels courtesy of FF .
    You'd think Kenny committed Treason and brought in IMF. Cowen had all in stitches in Galway at 3.30a.m.but he was "not impaired" -DD Power. FF=Publican páirtí an IMF.

Quote Originally Posted by liamfoley View Post
    Sync has never tried to talk to a drunk MEP (or TD, CC), what complete asses they are, making a show of themselves anytime there is a free bar.
    Like comments recently directed at another of our esteemed elected representatives one would want to be on very sure ground when alleging one of them may have been drunk at an event particularly when their alleged behavior wasn't witnessed by yourself.

Quote Originally Posted by Tomas Mor View Post
    Jim Higgins has a point. The original version of " Soldiers are we" was Sinne Laochra Gael ata faoi gheall"" etc, but of course FF and Dev changed it to Sinne Finna Fail"". Do they not even have FF on the badges on the caps of the defence forces. You must be a dyed in the wool FF person, maybe with a job in Brussels courtesy of FF .
    I'd take that back if I were you. I've never worked for, voted for nor been a member of Fianna Fail, a simply glance at my previous posts would have shown that.

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast