Thread: Gormley ditches green Prius for a big Ford

Gormley ditches green Prius for a big Ford

The Sunday independent are reporting that the Greens are cycling to work while their Garda driver follow with the files in the State car.

It has also been suggested this weekend that Mr Gormley has, on several occasions, borrowed a large Ford Galaxy car at weekends for use with his family, according to senior garda sources.

In response, a spokesman for Mr Gormley accepted that his minister had at times used the bigger vehicle, but insisted it was purely for official purposes.

Speaking to the Sunday Independent, he said: "It is wholly incorrect and misleading to suggest that the car was ever used for anything other than official purposes. Times when the minister would have a bigger team travelling, a larger vehicle was borrowed from the existing Garda fleet at no extra cost to the taxpayer. It would be inappropriate for me to comment on the minister's personal arrangements and I am not prepared to do so."

Wheels come off Greens' ministerial car-pooling plans - National News, Frontpage - Independent.ie
    Last edited by kellsangel; 25th January 2009 at 11:26 AM.

Toilet paper is far more ecological. You can read the tripe online but keep it to yourself. You should show a little embarassment.

I once saw a family tandem on the Aran Island of Inismore. It belonged to an English chap who had two kids. Now there's a yoke that any green minister and his family would be proud to be seen on.

*Getting back to my muesli.*

slx

I suppose at least it ensures that we have a few ministers who don't have beer guts.

Quote Originally Posted by slx View Post
    I suppose at least it ensures that we have a few ministers who don't have beer guts.

I don't give a damn about beer guts. I would be more interested in competence and transparency.

Quote Originally Posted by greengoose View Post
    I don't give a damn about beer guts. I would be more interested in competence and transparency.
    I don't think we'll ever get it. When you work in the Dail, anything that goes on, is kept from the people, unless they want you to see it. As I said before, the Dail is like a little kingdom and once elected the good intentions disappesr unless you have a very strong resistance to power and privilige

Quote Originally Posted by Twilight View Post
    I don't think we'll ever get it. When you work in the Dail, anything that goes on, is kept from the people, unless they want you to see it. As I said before, the Dail is like a little kingdom and once elected the good intentions disappesr unless you have a very strong resistance to power and privilige
    Seeing the catastrophic mess created by a bunch of incompetents why not vote the opposite bunch in? Things couldn't get any worse could they? Oops, sorry I said that.

Politics.ie Regular Squire Allworthy's Avatar

When politicians and bicycles are mentioned in the same sentence you know it is a stunt. Why not just get on the bus? It would send a clear message that public transport is viable alternative for everyone. In desperation they could occasionally book a taxi.

Quote Originally Posted by Squire Allworthy View Post
    When politicians and bicycles are mentioned in the same sentence you know it is a stunt. Why not just get on the bus? It would send a clear message that public transport is viable alternative for everyone. In desperation they could occasionally book a taxi.
    I doff my hat to you Squire! Their whole being is a poor stunt.

Are the Gardai wrong? Did his family use the Galaxy?

Quote Originally Posted by greengoose View Post
    I doff my hat to you Squire! Their whole being is a poor stunt.

It has also been suggested this weekend that Mr Gormley has, on several occasions, borrowed a large Ford Galaxy car at weekends for use with his family, according to senior garda sources.

In response, a spokesman for Mr Gormley accepted that his minister had at times used the bigger vehicle, but insisted it was purely for official purposes.

Quote Originally Posted by kellsangel View Post

That sounds wrong. Surely official purposes don't warrant a bigger car. Unless he is "carpooling" and bringing the other 5 green TDs on an official jaunt. He could use the 78 seater bus at €1.20 a ride.

Sounds more like Humpty Dumpty every day with these lads!

"When I use a word," Humpty Dumpty said in a rather a scornful tone, "it means just what I choose it to mean – neither more nor less."